HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Pirate's Coin: A Sixty-Eight Rooms…
Loading...

The Pirate's Coin: A Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventure (The Sixty-Eight…

by Marianne Malone

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
351321,274 (3.75)None

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

This book goes deeper into American history by picking up the storyline from the last book dealing with slavery. I was glad to see the kids dealing with a very meaningful mystery rather than just more adventures hopping through the rooms and in and out of minor scuffles.

There is a little snafu regarding what happens when you mess with the past too much but it was remedied so quickly that the stakes felt very low.

As usual I'm skeptical at how much trust the adults put in these kids, especially the random ones from history that meet two children, unchaperoned, wearing modern clothing always happen to swallow whatever basic story the kids spit out. It's also convenient that they primarily meet kids their own age when they're on their adventures.

But I'm looking forward to see how this series wraps up.

Oh, also, I hate the spider on the cover and the large illustration of one inside. Lol ( )
  MillieHennessy | Mar 15, 2017 |
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 030797717X, Hardcover)

Fans of magic, mystery, and adventure will love the third The Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventure—a perfect next step for kids who love the Magic Tree House series, and just right for readers who love Chasing Vermeer, The Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, and Wonderstruck. Sixth Graders Ruthie and Jack return to the Art Institute of Chicago's magical Thorne Rooms. During a school presentation, Ruthie and Jack discover that their classmate Kendra is descended from Phoebe Monroe, the young slave they befriended when they traveled to 19th-century South Carolina. Kendra tells them that long ago her family lost their good name and their business selling herbal remedies when mobsters accused them of stealing the recipes! Only Ruthie and Jack know the truth--because only they know about the secret ledger that Phoebe wrote the recipes in long ago! Ruthie and Jack's mission to clear Kendra's name takes them back to the Thorne Rooms, where a mysterious old coin leads them to 1753 Cape Cod and to Jack's own ancestor . . . the pirate Jack Norfleet! But playing with history can be dangerous! Suddenly, Jack's very existence is in jeopardy! Can Ruthie and Jack find the proof they need to help Kendra? And can they fix the past and save Jack's future . . . before it's too late?

Here's What People Are Saying about The Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventures!
The New York Times:
"Irresistible."

Chicago Sun-Times:
"Exhilarating."

Chicago Tribune:
"Marianne Malone has tapped into a fantasy that is . . . completely universal."


(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:13:41 -0400)

A magical coin coin leads sixth-graders Ruthie and Jack to 1753 Massachusetts and to Jack's pirate ancestor when they return to the Art Institute of Chicago's miniature Thorne Rooms on a mission to restore an African American family's reputation.

» see all 2 descriptions

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.75)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 3
3.5
4 1
4.5 1
5 1

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 126,317,633 books! | Top bar: Always visible