HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Wake by Anna Hope
Loading...

Wake (2014)

by Anna Hope

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
1655772,171 (3.87)29
Recently added byp.d.r.lindsay, private library, LoriOnLTB, mancmilhist, olmclibrary, Erin.Patel, CatieN, CaitlinAC

None.

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 29 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 59 (next | show all)
An excellent read.

'Wake' is the tale of the return of the body of one unknown soldier after WWI and woven through this short and simple tale are the lives of three women who have been affected by the war. In fact author Hope deals with those two years, 1918 - 1920, which were known as the Great Silence. Men could not talk about the war, their losses and what happened on the battlefields, women grappled with the loss of their men and no bodies to bury, or men so changed they could not recognise them as their loved ones, children grew up within this dreadful, worn out silence.

Anna Hope writes well, her characters are believable and a reader can empathise with them. The writing is powerful and honest, the story is tight, sometimes depressing, but in the end the three women find a way forward, even some hope.
  p.d.r.lindsay | Sep 16, 2014 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
Nope. No. Not at all. WAKE by Anna Hope did not work for me. The problems were plentiful and the good things.. well, good thing, it was scarce. I was so angry through this book but even that anger sputtered and died as I felt myself careening toward an end that was sure to disappoint. And, honestly, maybe that's exactly what that ending was supposed to do. I hate literary devices like the one used to end WAKE and that was the final nail in the coffin for me.

Read the rest of this review at The Lost Entwife on August 26, 2014. ( )
  TheLostEntwife | Aug 4, 2014 |
This novel describes the four days leading up to Armistice Day in 1920, and the journey of the corpse of the Unknown Soldier from France to London.Three women and their losses and their grief because of World War i are portrayed in a somewhat disjointed way, but their stories are somewhat connected. The focal point is the celebration of the Unknown Soldier in London, with loose plot resolutions. Certainly a strong indictment of war. ( )
  sleahey | Jul 1, 2014 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
I had a hard time getting into this book, had to start the book 3 times!! But third time was the charm and did enjoy the book. The author did a great job with the characters. It follows 3 women after WWI and their lives. ( )
  gwynie | Jun 13, 2014 |
"Hope paints a multi-faceted view of the UK after World War I and it is fairly bleak and heavy. " read more: http://likeiamfeasting.blogspot.gr/2014/05/wake-anna-hope.html ( )
  mongoosenamedt | May 24, 2014 |
Showing 1-5 of 59 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
For my Parents, Tony and Pamela Hope
First words
THREE SOLDIERS EMERGE from their barracks in Arras, northern France.
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
FIVE DAYS IN NOVEMBER, 1920
As the people of London await the arrival of the Unknown Soldier from France, three women are dealing with loss in their own way: Hettie, who dances for sixpence a waltz at the Hammersmith Palais; Evelyn, who toils at a lowly job in the Pensions Office; and Ada, a housewife who is beset by visions of her dead son. One day a young man come to Ada's door. With him opens a wartime mystery that will bind these women together, and will both mend and tear their hearts.

A portrait of three intertwining lives caught at the faultline between empire and modernity, Wake captures the beginnings of a new ere, and the day the mood of the nation changed forever.
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0771039662, Hardcover)

A brilliant debut set just after WWI, as Britain's Unknown Warrior is being brought home from France; three very different women try to find ways to live again after devastating losses -- of a son, a brother, a lover -- and their tragic connection is gradually revealed as the book unfolds. For readers of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society and Sebastian Faulks's Birdsong.

Wake: 1) Emerge or cause to emerge from sleep 2) Ritual for the dead 3) Consequence or aftermath.
   Hettie, a dance instructress at the Hammersmith Palais, lives at home with her mother and her brother, withdrawn and lost after his return from the trenches. One night, she meets a wealthy, educated man and has reason to think he is as smitten with her as she is with him. Still, there is something distracted about him, something she cannot reach... Evelyn works at the Pensions Exchange through which thousands of wounded and shellshocked come, seeking their country's support. Embittered by her own loss, more and more estranged from her well-to-do parents, she looks for solace in her adored brother who has not been the same since he returned from the front... Ada is beset by visions of her son on every street, convinced he is still alive. Helpless, her loving husband of 25 years has withdrawn from her. Then one day a young man appears at her door with notions to peddle, like hundreds of out of work veterans. But when he utters the name of her son she is jolted to the core...
      The lives of these three women are braided together, their stories gathering tremendous power as the ties that bind them become clear, and the body of the unknown soldier moves closer and closer to its final resting place.

(retrieved from Amazon Mon, 30 Sep 2013 14:13:26 -0400)

(see all 3 descriptions)

"Hettie, a dance instructress at the Palais, lives at home with her mother and her brother, mute and lost after his return from the war. One night, at work, she meets a wealthy, educated man and has reason to think he is as smitten with her as she is with him. Still there is something distracted about him, something she cannot reach... Evelyn works at the Pensions Exchange through which thousands of men have claimed benefits from wounds or debilitating distress. Embittered by her own loss, more and more estranged from her posh parents, she looks for solace in her adored brother who has not been the same since he returned from the front... Ada is beset by visions of her son on every street, convinced he is still alive. Helpless, her loving husband of 25 years has withdrawn from her. Then one day a young man appears at her door with notions to peddle, like hundreds of out of work veterans. But when he shows signs of being seriously disturbed--she recognizes the symptoms of "shell shock"-- and utters the name of her son she is jolted to the core... The lives of these three women are braided together, their stories gathering tremendous power as the ties that bind them become clear, and the body of the unknown soldier moves closer and closer to its final resting place"--… (more)

» see all 2 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
3 pay4 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.87)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2 2
2.5
3 16
3.5 10
4 28
4.5 6
5 15

Audible.com

An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

LibraryThing Early Reviewers Alumn

Wake by Anna Hope was made available through LibraryThing Early Reviewers. Sign up to possibly get pre-publication copies of books.

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 92,705,486 books! | Top bar: Always visible