HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Wishing Thread by Lisa Van Allen
Loading...

The Wishing Thread

by Lisa Van Allen

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
1853663,896 (3.6)6

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 6 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 37 (next | show all)
For someone who loves knitting, magic and summer reading, this book was fun! ( )
  gail616 | Jun 6, 2018 |
2.5 stars rounded up. This book just missed the mark for me. Something about it never quite worked. The characters were a bit flat, and the overall story didn’t coalesce for me. I had to push myself to finish it. ( )
  wanderinglynn | Mar 22, 2018 |
A bit like "Practical Magic" in feel as well as in concept. ( )
  turtlesleap | Oct 22, 2017 |
A story that mixes family, relationships, strong women, quirky, old houses, needlework, a little romance, and some magical realism? Yes, please! This does not disappoint, so much so that after reading from the library I bought my own copy. That's high praise. Highly recommended for fans of Sarah Addison Allen, really. ( )
  CMDH5 | May 3, 2017 |
The Van Ripper sisters have just inherited The Stitchery, their family-owned yarn & knit shop. It also happens to be the place that women go when they have a wish. Rumor has it that the Van Ripper women are witches and can put answers to those wishes in the things they knit. Aubrey is the chosen, she's the one who her sisters thought would get The Stitchery but Mariah surprises the sisters by giving the shop/home to all three of the sisters. The problem is that the The Stitchery is soon to be torn down to become a shopping mall.

Because of her gift/duty Aubrey thinks she will be single alone serving those women who come asking for help. Bitty has run away from poverty and the magic she doesn't believe in - so she marries someone from a rich family to escape, and she doesn't come back for fear that her children will believe magic like they believed in Santa. And then there's Meggie who believes in magic but still runs away from home. The three sisters haven't talked in a very long time and now it's time to work together.

This was a light, easy read full of possibilities. What will the sisters chose to do - or is it all just fate or magic? ( )
  mmoj | Mar 2, 2017 |
Showing 1-5 of 37 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0345538552, Paperback)

“Reader to reader, knitter to knitter: You’re going to love this book.”—Debbie Macomber

For fans of Jennifer Chiaverini and Sarah Addison Allen, The Wishing Thread is an enchanting novel about the bonds between sisters, the indelible pull of the past, and the transformational power of love.
 
The Van Ripper women have been the talk of Tarrytown, New York, for centuries. Some say they’re angels; some say they’re crooks. In their tumbledown “Stitchery,” not far from the stomping grounds of the legendary Headless Horseman, the Van Ripper sisters—Aubrey, Bitty, and Meggie—are said to knit people’s most ardent wishes into beautiful scarves and mittens, granting them health, success, or even a blossoming romance. But for the magic to work, sacrifices must be made—and no one knows that better than the Van Rippers.
 
When the Stitchery matriarch, Mariah, dies, she leaves the yarn shop to her three nieces. Aubrey, shy and reliable, has dedicated her life to weaving spells for the community, though her sisters have long stayed away. Bitty, pragmatic and persistent, has always been skeptical of magic and wants her children to have a normal, nonmagical life. Meggie, restless and free-spirited, follows her own set of rules. Now, after Mariah’s death forces a reunion, the sisters must reassess the state of their lives even as they decide the fate of the Stitchery. But their relationships with one another—and their beliefs in magic—are put to the test. Will the threads hold?

Advance praise for The Wishing Thread
 
“With deft needlework, a dash of folklore, and some good old-fashioned family angst, Lisa Van Allen knits together the threads of second chances, the pleasure of giving, the complications of sisterhood, and love. There’s a bit of magic in The Wishing Thread, in the words and the story as well as in the yarn.”—Meg Waite Clayton, author of The Wednesday Sisters
 
“Rich in myth and mystery, The Wishing Thread explores the tangle that is being a woman—from family and friendship to romance and community. Prepare to be ensnared, enthralled, enchanted!”USA Today bestselling author Christie Ridgway
 
The Wishing Thread is a lyrical, emotional, finely knit portrayal of three sisters struggling with love, magic and sacrifice. This is the best book I’ve read all year.”—Lisa Verge Higgins, author of The Proper Care and Maintenance of Friendship
 
“An intriguing story of three sisters tied by blood and a strange inheritance, each searching for a way to belong in that place where magic and life intersect. Wonderful!”—Shelley Noble, author of Beach Colors
 
Includes an exclusive conversation between Sarah Addison Allen and Lisa Van Allen
 
Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:07:56 -0400)

"Known for its ties to the infamous "Legend of Sleepy Hollow," Tarrytown, N.Y., is a prime destination for those hoping to have a brush with the occult. But those native to the area know that the real magic happens deep within its trenches--in the ramshackle neighborhood of Tappan Square--where the Van Ripper women are believed to have the power to grant wishes by stitching them into the fibers of hats, scarves and mittens. The gift is one that's been passed down through generations of Van Rippers since the Revolutionary War era, but when the Stitchery's matriarch drops dead in a fiery fit, what's revealed in her will has the potential to threaten the family legacy forever. Now, estranged sisters Aubrey, Bitty and Meggie must reunite after years of separation to decide the fate of the Stitchery, and ultimately, the family's age-old tradition"--… (more)

LibraryThing Early Reviewers Alum

Lisa Van Allen's book The Wishing Thread was available from LibraryThing Early Reviewers.

Sign up to get a pre-publication copy in exchange for a review.

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.6)
0.5
1
1.5 1
2 3
2.5 3
3 18
3.5 3
4 25
4.5 2
5 7

Tantor Media

An edition of this book was published by Tantor Media.

» Publisher information page

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 126,332,164 books! | Top bar: Always visible