HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Thraxas [omnibus] by Martin Scott
Loading...

Thraxas [omnibus]

by Martin Scott

Other authors: See the other authors section.

Series: Thraxas (omnibus 1-2)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
148380,863 (3.59)1

None.

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 1 mention

Showing 3 of 3
I'm a fan of Martin Millar's books so when I found out he also wrote under the pseudonym of Martin Scott, I was excited and grabbed this book right away.
Thraxas is an over-weight investigator who owes a lot of coin because of betting on chariot races. All of a sudden, he picks up several jobs and finds himself in the middle of a mess. Who is behind stealing the red cloth that protects from magic? Who killed the dragon? Who murdered Attilan? As you can see, Thraxas has a lot to figure out with the help of his friend, Makri, the feminist barmaid at the Avenging Axe.
If you like Douglas Adams and Sir Terry Pratchett, then you will enjoy the adventures of Thraxas. ( )
  N.W.Moors | Jun 25, 2016 |
I enjoyed this book but didn't particularly feel compelled to read it.
Part of the problem is that it can be very hard to set up a whole new world without exposition and information overload at times. That said the characters are likable, believable and interesting and I did want to find out more about them. I've already read the second story and plan to read the rest

A fun read if not overly compelling with a world worth exploring. ( )
  Kellswitch | May 17, 2011 |
Showing 3 of 3
no reviews | add a review

» Add other authors

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
Martin Scottprimary authorall editionscalculated
Moore, MonteCover artistsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Turai is a magical city.
Quotations
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
This is the US edition of Thraxas, published by Baen, which includes the text of the UK books Thraxas and Thraxas and the Warrior Monks. It should not be combined with the non-omnibus Thraxas.
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (1)

Book description
This is an omnibus edition of THRAXAS (the first book in the series) and THRAXAS AND THE WARRIOR MONKS.
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0743471520, Mass Market Paperback)

Key Selling Points- Combining action and humor, Thraxas will appeal to readers of Terry Pratchett's Discworld series, Piers Anthony's Xanth series, Eric Flint's Philosophical Strangler novels, and Harry Turtledove's humorous fantasies, as well as anyone who thought that. The Lord of the Rings would have benefited from an occasional pie in the face.- The first Thraxas novel won the coveted World Fantasy Award and Thraxas' adventures are an international hit, having been published in France, Japan, Russia, the Netherlands, Germany, the Czech Republic and Poland. Now Americans can find out what they've been missing.- Martin Scott is the pseudonym under which Martin Millar writes his humorous fantasy adventures about Thraxas, the sybaritic overweight private eye and man of action in a fantasy world of elves, Orcs, and mean streets. Under his own name, he has written many highly praised mainstream novels.- The Guardian called his newest novel, Suzy, Led Zeppelin and Me, "brilliant, " and the London Times raved that it is one of the few "great rock novels." Millar has been compared to Kurt Vonnegut and Armistead Maupin, and The Edinburgh Times calls him "one of Britain's most gifted underground writers."

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 17:58:22 -0400)

(see all 2 descriptions)

Thraxas ekes out a living as a private investigator. He lives in the poor part of town, with a barbarian for a landlord, and a female ex-gladiator to help him when the fighting gets rough. Thraxas might be too jaded to feel any desire for the beautiful Makri, with her Elvish and Orcish blood, but he appreciates her lethal combat skills. Thraxas once learned a little magic, but he's a hopeless sorcerer. On the other hand, he's brave, loyal to his clients, and he's a legend at the dining table. Thraxas can out-eat and out-drink anyone. When his investigations involve hostile sorcerers, sword-wielding thugs and murderous assassins, Thraxas knows the value of flagon of ale and a good bowl of stew.… (more)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
10 wanted

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.59)
0.5 1
1
1.5
2 1
2.5 1
3 7
3.5 4
4 15
4.5
5 3

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 119,603,795 books! | Top bar: Always visible