HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Adé: A Love Story by Rebecca Walker
Loading...

Adé: A Love Story

by Rebecca Walker

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
263415,071 (3.8)None

None.

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

Showing 3 of 3
(Fiction, Contemporary, Literary)

This is subtitled a “love story” but this is no romance novel. An American (or was she a Brit? It doesn’t matter really) falls in love with a native Swahili man while in Kenya. When an epidemic breaks out, they attempt to flee to the first world.

Adé is a love story in the tradition of Romeo and Juliet. Haunting and heart-breaking, it deserves to be a classic of 21st century literature. I have not been as touched by a book in a long time as I was by Adé.

I’m not saying more—you’ll just have to read the book. It’s short, it’s lovely, and it will stay with you a long time.

4½ stars ( )
  ParadisePorch | Mar 6, 2017 |
*** I received this book via a Goodreads Giveaway***

Written in an unhurried manner, this book is a story about the naivete of first love and the reality of life getting in the way. Good book to curl up with on a lazy Sunday afternoon. ( )
  nubian_princesa | Jan 18, 2014 |
"You never know how this life will unfold."-Farida

Our un-named narrator is nineteen years old and feels "raw and unfinished." She is fascinated by her friend Miriam. They decide to go to Africa.

During their journey she begins to change and become someone else. She feels familiar with this continent. Miriam is changing too. She is no longer the main attraction. They travel from Cairo to Nairobi but when they arrive on the small island of Lamu she meets Ade. It is Ade that changes her name to Farida.

Ade possesses a certain kind of innocence. Farida is mesmerized by him. They fell into that easy kind of love. The kind of love that simmers. Love that's eternal.

"I was hungry for my future. It looked painfully bright."-Farida

Ade and Farida start to become one. His religion and culture had certain requirements. They want a future together.

"...wondering how I would ever, in a million years, leave this man."-Farida

It felt like destiny. Then there was a sudden shift.

Ade is short. It's sweet. You will hang onto every word. When you finish you will immediately want to read it over and over and over again. ( )
  pinkcrayon99 | Dec 27, 2013 |
Showing 3 of 3
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 054414922X, Hardcover)

In this stunning debut novel, Rebecca Walker turns her attention to the power of love and the limitations of the human heart. When Farida, a sophisticated college student, falls in love with Adé, a young Swahili man living on an idyllic island off the coast of Kenya, the two plan to marry and envision a simple life together—free of worldly possessions and concerns. But when Farida contracts malaria and finds herself caught in the middle of a civil war, reality crashes in around them. The lovers’ solitude is interrupted by a world in the throes of massive upheaval that threatens to tear them apart, along with all they cherish.
 
Haunting, exquisite, and certain to become a classic, Adé will stay with you long after you put it down. This is a timeless love story set perfectly, heartbreakingly, in our time.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:06:38 -0400)

Story of the power of love and the limitations of the human heart. When Farida, a sophisticated college student, falls in love with Ade, a young Swahili man living on an idyllic island off the coast of Kenya, the two plan to marry and envision a simple life together--free of worldly possessions and concerns. But when Farida contracts malaria and finds herself caught in the middle of a civil war, reality crashes in around them. The lovers' solitude is interrupted by a world in the throes of massive upheaval that threatens to tear them apart, along with all they cherish.… (more)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
5 wanted

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.8)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 4
3.5 1
4 2
4.5 1
5 2

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 119,760,776 books! | Top bar: Always visible