HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Check out the Valentine’s Day Heart Hunt!
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Wedding Bees: A Novel of Honey, Love,…
Loading...

The Wedding Bees: A Novel of Honey, Love, and Manners

by Sarah-Kate Lynch

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
10720165,189 (4.1)2

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 2 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 22 (next | show all)
Loved it. There's a crew of lovable, quirky characters and a magical element.
The bees definitely seem magical to me. They convinced Sugar Wallace not to make a bad decision 16 years ago and now they're trying to pull her towards the man she is supposed to fall in love with.
It made me tear up like three times, but only happy tears.
Very, very super heart warming book. My kind of story. ( )
  Mishale1 | Dec 29, 2018 |
Urgh I'm not sure what drew me to the book, but I felt compelled to read a "change of pace" text after 'The Library at Mount Char.' That was a lot darker than I had expected it to be and I needed something lighter. I had been drawn to this book a couple of years ago and while I don't like chick-lit, I managed to get this as a bargain.
 
Sugar Wallace is a beekeeper who has just moved to the Big Apple. New York City is her next destination, and she's here to get to know her neighbors, the city and basically run away from her past. There is of course a sad story about why she left South Carolina, why she lets her bees decide where she will go next, and of course caring for and raising the bees.
 
Her neighbors are a bunch of stereotypical, one-dimensional cardboard cut-outs. There's the chef being abused by his boss. The cranky neighbors who hate each other. The girl who thinks she will never find love and may have an eating disorder. So on and so forth. At first I thought this was like 'Chocolat', where Sugar was going to somehow fix everything with her honey and bees. But it turns out the story is a romance for Sugar instead, with the neighbors as the peanut gallery.
 
Maybe it was me, but the book dragged and dragged and dragged. I could not stick with it. I thought maybe it was me and my reading, but I think it's just not a very good book. I wouldn't recommend it, unless say you're on a flight somewhere and need something to occupy your time because there's no internet/entertainment available. If I had no other distractions it might have been a good read simply to occupy the time but as it is I can't really recommend it. ( )
  acciolibros | Feb 11, 2018 |
Sweet fast read. ( )
  mlake | Apr 28, 2015 |
This book had very silly and sometimes ridiculous plot points. It also had, in my opinion, things thrown in for no particular reason. That all being said, it is a wonderful story of Sugar and all the misfits she seems to gather wherever she goes. Very enjoyable. ( )
  jkgrage | Nov 24, 2014 |
I found this charming and delightful. It was everything I expected and more. Sugar Wallace is a beekeeper who moves every year and helps the people she meets along the way. Her move to Alphabet City in New York is no different. This time, however, the people she helps rally around her to help her along with Queen Elizabeth the Sixth, the queen of her hive. I loved all the characters as well as the chapters that included the bees. Theo was the best with his steadfastness, determination and ineptitude. I loved the descriptions of Charleston. And the kilt was just the icing on the cake. A lovely piece of fluff that put a smile on my face the whole time I read it. ( )
  Hanneri | Jul 28, 2014 |
Showing 1-5 of 22 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

No descriptions found.

"In the vein of Amelie and Chocolat, Sarah-Kate Lynch's The wedding bees is a ... novel about finding new love, letting go of the past, and the magic of rooftop honey in New York City"--

» see all 2 descriptions

LibraryThing Early Reviewers Alum

Sarah-Kate Lynch's book The Wedding Bees was available from LibraryThing Early Reviewers.

Sign up to get a pre-publication copy in exchange for a review.

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.1)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2
2.5
3
3.5 4
4 22
4.5 1
5 8

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 132,458,211 books! | Top bar: Always visible