HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Never Say Goodbye: A Novel by Susan Lewis
Loading...

Never Say Goodbye: A Novel

by Susan Lewis

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
164615,960 (4.67)None
None

None

None.

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

Showing 4 of 4
Title: Never Say Goodbye
Author: Susan Lewis
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Reviewed By: Arlena Dean
Age Recommended: New Adult-Adult
Rating: 5
Review:

"Never Say Goodbye" by Susan Lewis was quite a read and the first thing I will say is that this read was of a terminal illness. I believe that needs to be said up front, now this doesn't take anything away from this excellent read. "Never Say Goodbye" was beautiful well written by this author that was 'sensitively and humorously told' with some well portrayed, colorful, depicted, believable and defined characters with each one having their own story and problems that were to be dealt with.

Even though this was not for the most part a happy heartwarming read for it was sad at times, but still it was a good read that did have some amusing moments. I found this a gripping story that once

I got into this read I found it hard to put down because in the read I found out so much more than just about 'the cancer' but more about 'friendship, love, family bonds, even romance and how people are sent to you just at the right time when you need them the most.' ( )
  arlenadean | Apr 26, 2014 |
Lewis is known for her ability to tug at readers heartstrings while traversing complex and poignant family issues fully demonstrated in Never Say Goodbye.

Quite a tearjerker this story struck home with me. The devastation of breast cancer for both victim and family is tastefully presented. The characters are compelling, both Bel and Josie greet you with incredible warmth and love you become so wrapped up in them it's almost as if their close friends of yours. The narrative is brimming with sensitivity, compassion and incredible depth. A heartbreaking novel peppered with humor bringing an envelope of plausibility. Two women vastly different bridged together by harsh circumstances, a shared tragedy.

A beautiful story of relationships, friendship, family and the incredible power of love in this emotionally raw novel. Lewis and her smooth prose will appeal to your heart and soul. Touching story, anyone suffering a loss of a loved one will have a connection to this moving story. Heartwarming and heart wrenching.





A copy provided in exchange for an honest review ( )
  Melinda_H | Apr 22, 2014 |
Lewis is known for her ability to tug at readers heartstrings while traversing complex and poignant family issues fully demonstrated in Never Say Goodbye.

Quite a tearjerker this story struck home with me. The devastation of breast cancer for both victim and family is tastefully presented. The characters are compelling, both Bel and Josie greet you with incredible warmth and love you become so wrapped up in them it's almost as if their close friends of yours. The narrative is brimming with sensitivity, compassion and incredible depth. A heartbreaking novel peppered with humor bringing an envelope of plausibility. Two women vastly different bridged together by harsh circumstances, a shared tragedy.

A beautiful story of relationships, friendship, family and the incredible power of love in this emotionally raw novel. Lewis and her smooth prose will appeal to your heart and soul. Touching story, anyone suffering a loss of a loved one will have a connection to this moving story. Heartwarming and heart wrenching.





A copy provided in exchange for an honest review ( )
  Melinda_H | Apr 22, 2014 |
I had not realised that this story was about a terminal illness. I do not usually knowingly read books on this subject as I find them disturbing. However, this one is sensitively and humorously told. It's beautifully written with some great, well defined and believable characters. They each have their own story to tell and their own problems to deal with.

I like Susan Lewis as an author and have read quite a few of her books over the years. I have always enjoyed them and Never Say Goodbye is no exception. Even though there is a serious thread at its heart and it is sad at times, it is by no means a miserable tale. There are some amusing moments and I liked that the story was left on a positive note.

A moving and heartwarming, but at the same time heart wrenching, story which I would have no hesitation in recommending as a thoroughly enjoyable read.

Many thanks to Netgalley and Random House publishers for giving me the opportunity to read and review this book. ( )
  VanessaCW | Mar 19, 2014 |
Showing 4 of 4
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 034554949X, Paperback)

For readers of Jodi Picoult, Heather Gudenkauf, and Elizabeth Flock comes a deeply moving novel of  finding friendship and love in the most unexpected of places.
 
Josie Clark, a loving wife and mother, struggles to make ends meet by cleaning homes and working at a diner while her husband drives a taxi. Josie’s joy is her two children, just entering adulthood. But with her son recently imprisoned for a crime she is certain he didn’t commit, and her daughter marrying too young, Josie now worries about the future—and wonders if she’ll ever be able to ensure their safety and happiness.
 
Across town, in a gorgeous house by the sea, successful property developer Bel Monkton lives in comparative luxury. But she has struggles of her own. Since the death of her twin sister more than a year ago, Bel has been unable to rebuild her shattered world, and the troubled past she thought was behind her haunts her ever more.
 
Faced with uncertainty and heartbreak, Josie and Bel find each other and a surprising friendship that will change their lives.

Praise for Susan Lewis
 
“A master storyteller.”—Diana Chamberlain
 
Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.

(retrieved from Amazon Sun, 02 Mar 2014 00:47:26 -0500)

"For readers of Jodi Picoult, Heather Gudenkauf, and Elizabeth Flock comes a deeply moving novel of finding friendship and love in the most unexpected of places. Josie Clark, a loving wife and mother, struggles to make ends meet by cleaning homes and working at a diner while her husband drives a taxi. Josie's joy is her two children, just entering adulthood. But with her son recently imprisoned for a crime she is certain he didn't commit, and her daughter marrying too young, Josie now worries about thefuture--and wonders if she'll ever be able to ensure their safety and happiness. Across town, in a gorgeous house by the sea, successful property developer Bel Monkton lives in comparative luxury. But she has struggles of her own. Since the death of hertwin sister more than a year ago, Bel has been unable to rebuild her shattered world, and the troubled past she thought was behind her haunts her ever more. Faced with uncertainty and heartbreak, Josie and Bel find each other and a surprising friendshipthat will change their lives. Praise for Susan Lewis "A master storyteller."--Diana Chamberlain Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more"-- "Josie, a housecleaner and part-time waitress who struggles to make ends meet, is worried sick about her husband, who can't seem to get enough taxi fares to pay the bills, her son, in prison for a crime she's sure he didn't commit, and her daughter, who is getting married (too young, Josie thinks) to her college sweetheart. All she wants is to protect her family from her devastating news; they can't handle one more thing going wrong. Money is no object to Bel, who received a tidy inheritance from her mother and renovates houses in her spare time. But Bel has just lost the person who matters most - her twin sister Tanya - to breast cancer, and she's incredibly lonely. Her only comfort is Tanya's two small children, who see Bel as a surrogate mother. But Tanya's widower has gotten married again, frighteningly fast, and is threatening to take the children half-way around the world for his new job. An unlikely friendship blossoms between Josie and Bel who band together to help each other through difficult times and get to the heart of what matters most"--… (more)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
2 pay2 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.67)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3
3.5
4 2
4.5
5 4

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 93,324,206 books! | Top bar: Always visible