HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Poem Depot: Aisles of Smiles by Douglas…
Loading...

Poem Depot: Aisles of Smiles

by Douglas Florian

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
295378,207 (4)1

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 1 mention

Showing 5 of 5
This book of poems is full of delightful poems ranging from jests and jives, limericks, to free verse, this book has a little something for everyone. This book is a collection of silly nonsense and includes topics kids care about such as talents, avoiding homework, friendship and so much more. The illustrator uses black ink to delivery pictures that capture exactly what the poem is trying to convey to the reader. Lovely poem book that should be shared over and over again. ( )
  Shannon_373 | Apr 21, 2016 |
Funny Poems for Kids, Various Topics, Enjoyable Read ( )
  LisaAndrews | Jul 18, 2015 |
Fun, silly, whimsical collection of lighthearted, accessible verse. ( )
  Sullywriter | May 22, 2015 |
This book is a collection of poems that are silly yet appropriate for young children.
Ages 3-6
Source Barnes and Noble
  Batsneedfriendstoo | Mar 13, 2015 |
I really liked this poetry book for a couple different reasons. I liked this book because the author breaks it up into chapters that maintain the silly context of the poems, such as chapter 11 is entitled miles of smiles and chapter 3 is entitled funny bones and belly laughs. I also liked this poetry book because even though the poems have silly context, they still have great meanings behind them, such as the poem entitled “Zero” that reads, “Zero is nothing. Empty and bare. But when zeros kissed: infinity ‘s there.” The overall message of this book is to offer poems with silly laughs, but also to get the reader to think deeper. ( )
  CassandraQuigley | Mar 10, 2014 |
Showing 5 of 5
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0803740425, Hardcover)

In the vein of Shel Silverstein and Jack Prelutsky, this illustrated book of humorous poems will guarantee giggles

Artist, poet, and award-winning author Douglas Florian successfully captures the comedy of kids’ everyday lives with this jam-packed volume of 170 nonsense poems. Meander through the different aisles—such as “Jests & Jives” or “Tons of Puns”—to find everything from laugh-out-loud limericks to frenetic free verse. With Florian’s eccentric wit and off-the-wall drawings, this one-stop funny poetry shop is perfect for fans of Where the Sidewalk Ends.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:06:50 -0400)

An illustrated collection of silly nonsense poems about topics kids care about: talents, avoiding homework, friends and more.

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
1 wanted

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3
3.5
4 5
4.5
5

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 119,711,505 books! | Top bar: Always visible