HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Giraffes Can't Dance by Giles Andreae
Loading...

Giraffes Can't Dance (1999)

by Giles Andreae

Other authors: Guy Parker-Rees (Illustrator)

Other authors: See the other authors section.

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
2,9791492,850 (4.27)8

None.

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 8 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 149 (next | show all)
Gerald the giraffe looks at his friends dancing and realizes he doesn't look like them when he dances. His friends tell him that he looks weird and clumsy and Gerald starts to believe what they are saying to be true. Then he meets a friend that helps him see differently. I love how this book teaches kids that it is okay to be different and do things your own way. ( )
  iaanders19 | Feb 6, 2019 |
Giraffes Can't Dance is about finding what makes us special and accepting being different from others. Gerald the awkward giraffe was laughed at by the other animals when he showed up to the Jungle Dance. All the other animals performed eloquently and when it was Gerald's turn to dance they made fun of him. Feeling hurt, Gerald left and met a cricket who told him when you are different you need to find a different tune. Gerald closed his eyes and listened to his surroundings finding the rhythm and his dance moves. All the other animals watched in aww. ( )
  stephaniepulver | Jan 20, 2019 |
This book is a great tool to use to teach students that it is okay to be different, and everyone has their own unique talents.
  KKoos | Dec 7, 2018 |
This book tells an inspiring story about a giraffe with who wants do dance, but gets made fun of by other animals. However, a cricket tells him that he can accomplish his goals in a special way. This book promotes confidence, self-esteem, and empathy. It is a good teaching tool. ( )
  JuanCunningham | Dec 4, 2018 |
Showing 1-5 of 149 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review

» Add other authors (4 possible)

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
Giles Andreaeprimary authorall editionscalculated
Parker-Rees, GuyIllustratorsecondary authorall editionsconfirmed
Fletcher, CorinaPaper engineersecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Information from the Welsh Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Original title
Information from the Welsh Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language
Information from the Welsh Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
This book is about a Giraffe named Gerald who is unique in the jungle world. When it was time for the jungle dance, Gerald got made fun of by the other animals because he couldn't dance. The end of the book shows how with the right song, anyone can dance. I think this book teaches children a good lesson that no matter their uniqueness, they can be anything they want to be.
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Amazon.com Review (ISBN 0439287197, Hardcover)

Gerald the giraffe doesn't really have delusions of grandeur. He just wants to dance. But his knees are crooked and his legs are thin, and all the other animals mock him when he approaches the dance floor at the annual Jungle Dance. "Hey, look at clumsy Gerald," they sneer. "Oh, Gerald, you're so weird." Poor Gerald slinks away as the chimps cha-cha, rhinos rock 'n' roll, and warthogs waltz. But an encouraging word from an unlikely source shows this glum giraffe that those who are different "just need a different song," and soon he is prancing and sashaying and boogying to moon music (with a cricket accompanist). In the vein of Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer, Gerald's fickle "friends" quickly decide he's worthy of their attention again.

With this rhyming, poignant (in a cartoonish way) tale, Giles Andreae, author of Rumble in the Jungle, and numerous other picture books, shows insecure young readers that everyone can be wonderful, even those that march to the beat of a different cricket. The rhymes are somewhat awkward, but the bold, bright watercolors by Guy Parker-Rees will invite readers to kick up their heels and find their own internal harmony. (Ages 3 to 6) --Emilie Coulter

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:18:38 -0400)

(see all 5 descriptions)

Gerald the giraffe is too clumsy to dance with all the other animals at the Jungle Dance, until he finds the right music.

» see all 12 descriptions

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.27)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2 9
2.5 2
3 37
3.5 6
4 107
4.5 8
5 147

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 133,515,500 books! | Top bar: Always visible