HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

China Syndrome: The True Story of the 21st…
Loading...

China Syndrome: The True Story of the 21st Century's First Great Epidemic (2005)

by Karl Taro Greenfeld

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
582204,058 (3.73)1

None.

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 1 mention

Showing 2 of 2
I have a soft spot for germ books and this one was a page turner. Read on a tablet and found myself cross referencing people, places and things throughout my reading. Fun to read and informative too! Particulate Respirator and Surgical Mask now on my Amazon wishlist. ( )
  mossland | Jul 16, 2013 |
Fantastic description of the recent SARS epidemic and China's refusal to allow any news of the outbreak to be reported. Reads like a novel. ( )
  nberg | Jan 31, 2009 |
Showing 2 of 2
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (1)

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0060587229, Hardcover)

As the world braces for the next flu pandemic, the 2003 SARS outbreak now seems even more relevant as the harbinger of crises to come. The next great viral storm will likely emerge from Asia and could be more contagious than any respiratory disease since the catastrophic influenza of 1918. "China Syndrome," an intensely compelling and unrivaled exploration of the first epidemic of the twenty-first century, explores how globalization, coupled with rampant development, is ushering in a terrifying new chapter in the history of human health.

When SARS broke out in January 2003, Karl Taro Greenfeld was the editor of "Time Asia" in Hong Kong, just a few miles from the epicenter of the outbreak. After vague, initial reports of terrified Chinese emptying pharmacy shelves and boiling vinegar to "purify" the air in nearby Guangdong province, Greenfeld and his staff soon found themselves immersed in the story of a lifetime. His taut, scientific thriller, in the tradition of "The Hot Zone" and "The Great Influenza," takes readers on a gripping ride that blows through the Chinese government's effort to cover up the disease. Greenfeld deftly tracks this mysterious killer outbreak, from the bedside of one of the first Chinese victims to overwhelmed hospital wards crashing from the onslaught of cases, from cutting-edge labs where researchers struggle to identify the virus to the war rooms at the World Health Organization headquarters in Geneva.

Infectious diseases have reemerged as one of the globe's most pressing problems. In this thorough, revelatory account of SARS, Greenfeld gives us a crucial blueprint for how an epidemic evolves. "China Syndrome" will make you realize how lucky youare to be alive -- and wonder how long that good luck will hold.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:14:00 -0400)

(see all 3 descriptions)

When SARS broke out in January 2003, author Greenfeld was the editor of Time Asia in Hong Kong, just a few miles from the epicenter of the outbreak. After vague, initial reports of terrified Chinese emptying pharmacy shelves and boiling vinegar to "purify" the air in nearby Guangdong province, Greenfeld and his staff soon found themselves immersed in the story of a lifetime. His scientific thriller takes readers on a ride that blows through the Chinese government's effort to cover up the disease. Greenfeld tracks this mysterious killer outbreak, from the bedside of one of the first Chinese victims to overwhelmed hospital wards crashing from the onslaught of cases, from cutting-edge labs where researchers struggle to identify the virus to the war rooms at the World Health Organization headquarters in Geneva.--From publisher description.… (more)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
3 wanted1 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.73)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 3
3.5 2
4 5
4.5
5 1

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

You are using the new servers! | About | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 115,196,134 books! | Top bar: Always visible