HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Prom Goer's Interstellar Excursion by…
Loading...

The Prom Goer's Interstellar Excursion

by Chris McCoy

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
323347,362 (4)None
17 (1) action (1) adventure (3) alcohol (1) alien (1) aliens (4) boy (1) children-s-ya (1) contemporary (1) dating (1) Fall 2015 (1) fantasy (1) friends (1) high school (1) humor (5) kids (1) love (1) music (1) New Mexico (1) own (1) prom (3) romance (1) science fiction (7) sff (1) space (1) teen (2) to-read (6) travel (2) YA (2) young adult (3)

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

Showing 3 of 3
"Fans of King Dork and Winger won't want to miss this!"

  Glire | Jun 22, 2016 |
Minutes after eighteen-year-old Bennett Bardo of Gordo, New Mexico, asks Sophie Gilkey, his dream girl, to prom and she says yes, she is abducted by aliens and Bennett catches a ride across the galaxy with a band of misfit musicians to find her. ( )
  ShellyPYA | Sep 26, 2015 |
Grade 8 & up
Bennett thinks he has struck the jackpot when his long-time crush, Sophie, agrees to go to prom with him. A few moments after she accepts, Sophie is abducted by horned, red-furred aliens traveling in a wagon-like UFO. Bennett naturally wants his prom date back, and so he enlists the help of an extraterrestrial band visiting a local In-N-Out to follow Sophie around outer space. As Bennett focuses on ensuring Sophie is not hunted down by fellow marooned humans in a Hungers Games-like park, he learns the truths behind the band members and their drive to become successful again.

If it sounds implausible, it unabashedly is, but McCoy creates a fun, amusing, and heart-warming story out of the impossibilities. Witty and action-packed, the plot is boldly glazes over science-fiction details in favor of well-wrought characters. You’ll root for Bennett to get the girl and even for crusty band member Skark to accomplish his dream of becoming better than the one billionth and sixteenth band in the universe. The book’s ending, however, is a nicely-placed realistic surprise. ( )
  amandacb | Nov 25, 2014 |
Showing 3 of 3
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0375855998, Hardcover)

It’s Superbad meets Spaceballs in this hilarious extraterrestrial road trip!
 
Just a few days before prom, Bennett pulls off something he never imagined possible: his dream girl, Sophie, agrees to be his date. Moments afterward, however, he watches Sophie get abducted by aliens in the middle of the New Mexico desert.
 
Faced with a dateless prom (and likely kidnapping charges), Bennett does the only thing he can think of: he catches a ride into outer space with a band of extraterrestrial musicians to bring her back.
 
Can he navigate alien concert venues, an extraterrestrial reality show, and the band’s outlandish egos to rescue his date in time for the big dance? Fans of King Dork and Winger won’t want to miss this!

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:06:54 -0400)

Minutes after eighteen-year-old Bennett Bardo of Gordo, New Mexico, asks Sophie Gilkey, his dream girl, to prom and she says yes, she's abducted by aliens and Bennett catches a ride across the galaxy with a band of misfit musicians to find her.

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
7 wanted

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 1
3.5
4 2
4.5
5 1

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 119,411,326 books! | Top bar: Always visible