HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

1814: America Forged by Fire by Willard…
Loading...

1814: America Forged by Fire

by Willard Sterne Randall

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
1None3,689,591NoneNone
Recently added byBeaufortLibrary

No tags.

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

No reviews
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0871403412, Hardcover)

For readers of David McCullough, this is the thrilling story of 1814, when our survival as a nation was finally won.

Few people today realize that the United States’s sovereignty was not assured until 1814, when England acknowledged it with the Treaty of Ghent. In fact, earlier that same year, the prospects for America couldn’t have looked bleaker: a ruined economy, a feeble army, and serious talk of secession by the New England states all threatened its existence. By years end, however, the young nation was at peace, poised for expansion to the west, never to go to war against Britain again. How did this remarkable transformation happen? Drawing from rarely used source material, award-winning historian Willard Sterne Randall brilliantly re-creates the dramatic chain of events that prevented the nation from falling into British hands. From Dolley Madison with a telescope on the roof of the White House to Francis Scott Key penning the national anthem on an envelope, Randall’s work firmly establishes 1814 as a seminal year that should be celebrated alongside 1776 in our history. 8 pages of illustrations

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 17:57:59 -0400)

Describes the tumultuous year of 1814 in the United States, which began with a ruined economy, a weak army, and talk of a New England secession, but ended with peace, Westward expansion, and the Treaty of Ghent.

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
3 wanted

Popular covers

Rating

Average: No ratings.

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 120,835,025 books! | Top bar: Always visible