HomeGroupsTalkMoreZeitgeist
Have you checked out SantaThing, LibraryThing's gift-giving tradition?
dismiss
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Jacaranda by Cherie Priest
Loading...

Jacaranda (edition 2015)

by Cherie Priest

Series: The Clockwork Century (novella)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
1568129,983 (3.74)5
Set in the world of Priest's Clockwork Century series, this stand-alone-novella takes readers to the Jacaranda Hotel on the island of Galveston, off the coast of southeast Texas, in an alternate 1895 where locals say a curse is killing the people who stay there.
Member:gyme
Title:Jacaranda
Authors:Cherie Priest
Info:Burton, Michigan : Subterranean 2015.
Collections:Your library
Rating:***
Tags:science-fiction

Work details

Jacaranda by Cherie Priest

  1. 00
    Maplecroft: The Borden Dispatches by Cherie Priest (PghDragonMan)
    PghDragonMan: Unnamed horror and a masterful use of suspense join these two stories together.
None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 5 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 8 (next | show all)
This book is set 20-years after the end of The Clockwork Century series and it is loosely connected, returning to the original series with one character. You don't need to read the original series to understand Jacaranda, but the rest of the series will give you depth.

That said, it is an excellent book. A couple of things crossed my mind as I read it:

1. This is exactly what it feels like during a hurricane. Priest has that down cold.

2. Damn, this book would make an excellent movie; especially in the hands of someone like Guillermo del Toro.

It's gothic horror writ large with a twist of weird west noir. ( )
  authenticjoy | Mar 29, 2019 |
This is categorized as 'Clockwork Century #6' - so far, other than this, I've only read the first two, so was afraid that 'skipping ahead' might be an issue.

However, I needn't have worried. This story is only tenuously connected to what I've read so far, and fully works as a stand-alone. It's a classic-feeling haunted-hotel story, perfect for fans of The Shining or anything in what Stephen Kings calls the "Ghostly Room at the Inn" subgenre.

As this is a 'Clockwork Century' novel, the setting is an alternate 19th century. (But really, the 'alternate' part here isn't significant.)

In response to rumors that an untoward number of guests have been dying at the Jacaranda Hotel, and for some reason this in being ignored by local authorities, two paranormal investigators check in to the hotel to try to set things right.

Padre Rios is a gangster-turned-priest, and he's been summoned by an Irish nun with hidden strengths. But will their toughness be enough to combat the dark forces swirling beneath the Jacaranda and to save the remaining guests? Or will all be swept into a dark whirlpool of malevolence?

My only complaint is that I felt that some of the supporting characters could've been fleshed out a bit more... and we're left with some mysteries (to be explained in other books?)

But overall, this is an excellent and entertaining horror tale.

( )
  AltheaAnn | Feb 9, 2016 |
This is a novella. Short, but enjoyable. This book seems to be set some time after the rest of the series.


( )
  Schlyne | Nov 12, 2015 |
http://nwhyte.livejournal.com/2534041.html

ostensibly set in Priest's steampunk alternate timeline of Hugo-nominated Boneshaker, is really a ghost story about a haunted hotel. Lushly written, not so sure about structure. ( )
  nwhyte | Oct 11, 2015 |
My preordered copy arrived from Subterranean press and then sat on a shelf for a while as I got through some more time pressed books. This is a novella so it was a quick read, but it has Priest's signature creepiness. It takes place in the world of Boneshaker, but years later, and we get a somewhat offhand account of what happened to one of the characters from the novels. A group of people are drawn to a murderous hotel in Galveston, all with secrets in their pasts. A tough preacher and a nun both can sense the supernatural call of an entity, and a Texas Ranger also joins them to try and stop the spree of grisly murders. The sense of mental influence/temptation from the hotel was eerie and disturbing, but the deaths were coming so fast that I got desensitised. The storm that trapped them on the island was almost overkill, the hotel was keeping them there on it's own. ( )
  silentq | Jul 21, 2015 |
Showing 1-5 of 8 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review

» Add other authors

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
Cherie Priestprimary authorall editionscalculated
Foster, JonCover artistsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed

Belongs to Series

You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Set in the world of Priest's Clockwork Century series, this stand-alone-novella takes readers to the Jacaranda Hotel on the island of Galveston, off the coast of southeast Texas, in an alternate 1895 where locals say a curse is killing the people who stay there.

No library descriptions found.

Book description
The Ranger
On the island of Galveston, off the coast of southeast Texas, lies a hotel called the Jacaranda. In its single year of operation, two dozen people have died there. The locals say it’s cursed. The Rangers say that’s nonsense, but they know a man who might be willing to investigate. Horatio Korman crosses the water from the mainland, and hopes for the best.

The Nun
But the bodies pile up, and a hurricane is brewing up fast. One of the Jacaranda’s guests sees time running out, so she seeks an authority of a different sort: a priest from El Huizache who is good at solving problems and keeping secrets. Eileen Callahan has a problem to solve, and a secret to keep. She crosses her fingers and sends a message that could save them all.

The Padre
Juan Miguel Quintero Rios broke a promise to the Virgin, and so he was punished…but his intentions were pure, so he was also blessed. Now he walks the southwest with second sight and a tattoo across his back: Deo, non-Fortuna—By God, not chance. The former gunslinger crosses himself and makes for the Jacaranda Hotel.
Haiku summary

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.74)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5 2
3 12
3.5 3
4 7
4.5 2
5 7

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 152,491,855 books! | Top bar: Always visible