HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Hawke by Bell Ted
Loading...

Hawke (edition 2007)

by Bell Ted

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
4641922,360 (3.42)6
Member:dougslay
Title:Hawke
Authors:Bell Ted
Info:Pocket Books (2007), Edition: New Ed, Paperback, 608 pages
Collections:Your library
Rating:
Tags:None

Work details

Hawke by Ted Bell

None

None.

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 6 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 18 (next | show all)
Weak and watery James Bond-ish spy novel. Full of cliches and stereotypes and really bad dialogue. It started off really well and fell apart within a few chapters. ( )
  lesmel | Dec 3, 2013 |
Alex Hawke's story is captivating and exciting. You will be swept away by the young boy who loses his family and the life he lives because of that fateful day. Ted Bell is a fabulous author. I highly recommend his work! Start with Hawke and enjoy a thrilling ride. ( )
  cati11 | Aug 28, 2013 |
I enjoyed this book! There's nothing like a good adventure/suspense/thriller! After all, that's why the Bond series is still thrilling audiences. Bell's character, "Hawke" fills just such a position. He has it all. Looks, wealth, skills that border on unbelievable and pull with those in power. This first novel in the Alex Hawke series was a great get-away for those times when you just need to kick back and enjoy the ride. I'd recommend it to anyone who is a fan of Ian Fleming, Clive Cussler or even James Rollins. ( )
  Neverwithoutabook | Jul 17, 2013 |
A fun action packed book with pirates, political coups, and political intrigue. Fans of James Bond, Clive Cussler will love this book. ( )
  pagei | Oct 1, 2012 |
Fast paced and an easy read. This is my first book by Bell and I think I'd like to read more. His Alex Hawk is just on the edge of unbelievable, but Bell pulls it off. ( )
  starbuck5250 | Jan 9, 2012 |
Showing 1-5 of 18 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
The boy, barely seven years old, was dreaming what was to be the last completely happy dream of his life.
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Amazon.com Review (ISBN 0743466691, Hardcover)

A James Bond for the 21st century, Alex Hawke is suave, sexy, smart, wealthy, and deadly. And he's got the bloodlines to prove it--the direct descendant of a famous English pirate, the British secret agent is back in the Caribbean where his ancestor once amassed a legendary fortune and where, decades ago, his own parents were brutally tortured and murdered for a secret Alex, to this day, doesn't know he has in his possession. What brings Alex back to the scene of a crime he only vaguely remembers witnessing as a child is a mission to find and recover a stealth submarine that's gone missing less than a hundred miles from the American mainland, complete with 40 nuclear warheads and a rogue terrorist's finger on the countdown button. It's a hoary premise, but Bell makes it work with skillful plotting, quick characterizations, and a lively hero who deserves a sequel, not to mention the big screen treatment. --Jane Adams

(retrieved from Amazon Mon, 30 Sep 2013 13:20:18 -0400)

(see all 5 descriptions)

A modern-day swashbuckler and one of England's most decorated naval heroes, Lord Alexander Hawke heads for the Caribbean on a top-secret mission for the U.S. government, to locate an experimental stealth submarine, built by the Soviets just prior to the end of the Cold War, which has fallen into the hands of an unstable government planning a preemptive strike against the U.S.… (more)

(summary from another edition)

» see all 4 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
68 avail.
9 wanted
3 pay1 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.42)
0.5 2
1 6
1.5 2
2 9
2.5
3 22
3.5 4
4 39
4.5
5 15

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 92,276,842 books! | Top bar: Always visible