HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Hawke by Bell Ted
Loading...

Hawke (edition 2007)

by Bell Ted

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
4611922,528 (3.44)6
Member:dougslay
Title:Hawke
Authors:Bell Ted
Info:Pocket Books (2007), Edition: New Ed, Paperback, 608 pages
Collections:Your library
Rating:
Tags:None

Work details

Hawke by Ted Bell

None

None.

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 6 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 19 (next | show all)
Weak and watery James Bond-ish spy novel. Full of cliches and stereotypes and really bad dialogue. It started off really well and fell apart within a few chapters. ( )
  lesmel | Dec 3, 2013 |
Alex Hawke's story is captivating and exciting. You will be swept away by the young boy who loses his family and the life he lives because of that fateful day. Ted Bell is a fabulous author. I highly recommend his work! Start with Hawke and enjoy a thrilling ride. ( )
  cati11 | Aug 28, 2013 |
I enjoyed this book! There's nothing like a good adventure/suspense/thriller! After all, that's why the Bond series is still thrilling audiences. Bell's character, "Hawke" fills just such a position. He has it all. Looks, wealth, skills that border on unbelievable and pull with those in power. This first novel in the Alex Hawke series was a great get-away for those times when you just need to kick back and enjoy the ride. I'd recommend it to anyone who is a fan of Ian Fleming, Clive Cussler or even James Rollins. ( )
  Neverwithoutabook | Jul 17, 2013 |
A fun action packed book with pirates, political coups, and political intrigue. Fans of James Bond, Clive Cussler will love this book. ( )
  pagei | Oct 1, 2012 |
Book1 in the Alexander Hawke series

“Hawke”, is a twenty first century pirate tale which takes place on the Caribbean Seas near the island of Cuba. This action adventure thriller introduces its main character, Alexander Hawke, as a rich English aristocrat Spy working for both the UK and US governments. The main emphasis throughout is based on intense action scenes and the showdown is a classic case of revenge in over drive.

Soon into the story we have a strong sense of déjà vu, scenes that mirror strongly those of Ian Fleming`s James Bond are frequent. The book is very predictable, it is a rip-roaring tale with plenty of stereotype clichés, unbelievable characters, and exotic machinery and out of this world action sequences. This fast- paced adventure was quite exciting and held my attention till the very last page.

The stage is set with seven year old Alex witnessing the gruesome murder of his parents by pirates while on a sailing trip in the Caribbean. We are then fast-forwarded thirty years and Alex is send back to the Caribbean on a covert operation to find a stealth submarine armed with all the latest gadgets and believed to be in the hands of unstable militants planning a coup d’état on the Cuban government and a threat to U.S. interest in the area….. It is a race against time...

This novel gives you quite a wild ride into the world of fiction. ( )
  Tigerpaw70 | Mar 13, 2012 |
Showing 1-5 of 19 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
The boy, barely seven years old, was dreaming what was to be the last completely happy dream of his life.
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Amazon.com Review (ISBN 0743466691, Hardcover)

A James Bond for the 21st century, Alex Hawke is suave, sexy, smart, wealthy, and deadly. And he's got the bloodlines to prove it--the direct descendant of a famous English pirate, the British secret agent is back in the Caribbean where his ancestor once amassed a legendary fortune and where, decades ago, his own parents were brutally tortured and murdered for a secret Alex, to this day, doesn't know he has in his possession. What brings Alex back to the scene of a crime he only vaguely remembers witnessing as a child is a mission to find and recover a stealth submarine that's gone missing less than a hundred miles from the American mainland, complete with 40 nuclear warheads and a rogue terrorist's finger on the countdown button. It's a hoary premise, but Bell makes it work with skillful plotting, quick characterizations, and a lively hero who deserves a sequel, not to mention the big screen treatment. --Jane Adams

(retrieved from Amazon Mon, 30 Sep 2013 13:20:18 -0400)

(see all 5 descriptions)

A modern-day swashbuckler and one of England's most decorated naval heroes, Lord Alexander Hawke heads for the Caribbean on a top-secret mission for the U.S. government, to locate an experimental stealth submarine, built by the Soviets just prior to the end of the Cold War, which has fallen into the hands of an unstable government planning a preemptive strike against the U.S.… (more)

(summary from another edition)

» see all 4 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
68 avail.
9 wanted
3 pay1 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.44)
0.5 2
1 5
1.5 2
2 9
2.5
3 23
3.5 4
4 39
4.5
5 15

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 91,638,313 books! | Top bar: Always visible