HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Running Out of Night by Sharon Lovejoy
Loading...

Running Out of Night

by Sharon Lovejoy

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
353321,274 (3.3)None

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

Showing 3 of 3
The story is narrated by a 12 year old white girl who is so abused by her single father and two brothers that she doesn't even have a name. She is just "girl." When her hateful family is out hunting one day, a runaway slave about her own age show up hoping for a bite of food. "Girl" ends up running away with Zenobia, and two become fugitives together.
The entire book is the story of their running away, making a few friends, and encountering a few enemies.
The story is well told, and gives a good sensation of slavery and the time persiod, and Lark (as Zenobia names "girl") and Zenobia are sympathetic, likable characters. I would have liked a little more in the way of plot development. ( )
  fingerpost | Nov 5, 2017 |
Hard to follow at times. And her language changed in the middle? Not s big fan but intriguing story!! ( )
  pickleroad | Nov 10, 2016 |
Decent work of historical fiction, but way too violent for the target audience. ( )
  EmilyRokicki | Feb 26, 2016 |
Showing 3 of 3
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0385744099, Hardcover)

Fans of Elijah of Buxton, Trouble Don’t Last, and Stealing Freedom will be drawn to this tale of the incredible journey of an abused twelve-year-old white girl and an escaped slave girl who run away together and form a bond of friendship while seeking freedom.
 
Every day is a misery for a nameless, motherless Southern girl who is treated cruelly by her pa and brothers. Her life changes forever when a runaway slave named Zenobia turns to her for help and shelter. Longing for her own freedom, the girl decides to run away, and she and Zenobia set off on a harrowing journey. Along the way, Zenobia names the girl Lark, after the bird, for her ability to mimic its song.
 
Running by night, hiding by day, the girls are pursued by Lark’s pa and brothers and by ruthless slave catchers. Brightwell, another runaway slave, joins them, and the three follow secret signs to a stop on the Underground Railroad. When the hideout is raided and Zenobia and Brightwell are captured, Lark sets out alone to rescue her friends.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:10:37 -0400)

"Journey of an abused twelve-year-old white girl and an escaped slave girl who run away together and form a bond of friendship while seeking freedom"--

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
1 wanted

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.3)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5
3 1
3.5 1
4 2
4.5
5

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 119,629,754 books! | Top bar: Always visible