HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens
Loading...

A Christmas Carol (original 1843; edition 2003)

by Charles Dickens

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations / Mentions
13,069299174 (4.07)3 / 1049
The only Dickens I've ever read. This story has become part of our cultural lexicon much more than most other classics, but reading the original version gave me a better insight into the moral and messages, beyond the top layer that everyone knows about. I think this book better encapsulates what should be "the Christmas spirit" than any holiday special will ever be able to do. Familiar, comforting, and moving... and excellently narrated by Jim Dale, who was flawless as always. ( )
  fyrefly98 | Dec 8, 2006 |
English (286)  Dutch (3)  Spanish (3)  Italian (2)  Swedish (1)  Danish (1)  German (1)  French (1)  All languages (298)
Showing 1-25 of 286 (next | show all)
What a wonderful novel!

It tells the story of Ebenezer Scrooge, an elderly man who has a very bad personality. He is rude, cold, cruel, uncaring, cynical, overly-frugal, and downright unloving. He lives alone, and that's not a surprise. He has no wife, daughter or son. We only know one relative of his in the story -- Fred, his nephew. He has his own business, employs a clerk, Bob, and we may suppose that he is quite rich, but he is very stingy with his money. He is mean to everyone -- even to his own nephew, and especially to his clerk.

Then, on Christmas eve, his old business partner, Jacob Marley, who died seven years earlier, appears to him in his house. He warns him that three spirits will appear to him soon, and that they have important messages to impart to him. The three spirits are the Ghosts of Christmas Past, Present and Future. They each accompany Scrooge to several scenes in his life -- from the past, present and future -- and along the way, he undergoes a radical self-transformation.

It's a beautiful story: simple yet moving. It reminded me about what is really important in life -- people, to always show kindness and compassion towards them. ( )
  AlexisLovesBooks | Feb 9, 2016 |
I feel like I'm being overly sensational in saying this, but this book is a masterpiece. Never mind the rest of Charles Dickens' contributions to society—this story is the most far-reaching. ( )
  AngelClaw | Feb 3, 2016 |
Muppet version is somewhat superior. ( )
  thebookmagpie | Jan 30, 2016 |
Muppet version is somewhat superior. ( )
  hoegbottom | Jan 30, 2016 |
Muppet version is somewhat superior. ( )
  hoegbottom | Jan 30, 2016 |
A timeless classic, especially around Christmas time. The story of Ebenezer Scrooge, I believe is well known to all. It is funny to me, however, that we choose to remember Ebenezer as the former, stingy, selfish individual instead of the man he had been transformed into by his experience. This book has taught me to look at things a bit differently. Now, I look upon Ebenezer as the man who always kept Christmas well in his heart all year long instead of the old decrepid man who hated Christmas.

I gave this book 8 stars only for the fact that I feel we are losing something in translation. The language of the book is eloquent. However, I felt that there were phrases listed that meant something in the old English that have lost their translation today.

The positives about this book is that the story is timeless, creative and world reknown. Charles Dickens obviously meant this story to be told to future generations because in his writing, you are taken back in time to old world England. His descriptions of the surroundings and the characters are vivid. It truly was a pleasure to read this story.

If you have the time to sit down with this classic, I highly recommend it. Better yet, read it to your kids if applicable, they will love it!

Flyinfox ( )
  DVerdecia | Jan 29, 2016 |
I love A Christmas Carol. I've read it over and over. It is one of those stories that I will never grow tired of. ( )
  Erika.D | Jan 28, 2016 |
review A Christmas Carol is remarkably shorter than I would have guessed and had I known, I would have fit it in earlier. The story is an incredible journey of transformation of heart, all within a couple of hours read. Lovely!
( )
  StephLaymon | Jan 26, 2016 |
This book actually frightened me as a kid, I think I was about 11 when I read it. ( )
  AngelaGustafson | Jan 25, 2016 |
First time I've actually read the story. Well worth it, if only for those little details the movies might miss...And replete with messages for the current debt crisis :-) ( )
  bibleblaster | Jan 23, 2016 |
Delightful as well as thought-provoking; everything I hoped it would be. ( )
  SabinaE | Jan 23, 2016 |
A Christmas Carol is the classic Christmas story of the redemption of Ebeneezer Scrooge. Scrooge is a stingy man with no family or friends. The ghost of his deceased partner appears to him and warns him that he must change his ways or suffer for eternity. To assist the change, Scrooge is visited by three ghosts who show him images from Christmas past, present, and future. I have seen so many movie adapations of the novel that the story felt like a reread. It is a heartwarming story and a bit idealist, that a man like Scrooge could be moved to change his ways overnight and that by doing so all of his past sins may be forgiven. I enjoyed reading the novel and would like to pick up more Dickens in the future. ( )
  Cora-R | Jan 17, 2016 |
One of my absolute favourite books (and films, come to that!). I read it every Christmas. ( )
  Bagpuss | Jan 17, 2016 |
This must be the Classic Christmas Ghost Story.

Ebeneezer Scrooge is visited by 4 ghosts on Christmas Eve who help show him the error of his ways.

A short story by Dickens standards, its a great heart warming tale of redemption.

( )
  BookWormM | Jan 15, 2016 |
I already knew the basics of the story from seeing several movie versions. I found the ending a little too light and the transformation a bit silly in the book. ( )
  RachelNF | Jan 15, 2016 |
This is one of my favorite Christmas stories. Poor Mr. Scrooge so unhappy and not realizing it until the three spirits show him. I love Scrooge’s nephew. He made me smile during Scrooge’s visit with the spirit of Christmas present. I kept comparing the book to movie versions I’ve seen and actually like the book better. I liked that Scrooge learned to keep the Christmas spirit year round. ( )
  i.should.b.reading | Jan 15, 2016 |
Beautiful Story

I only gave it three stars because it was harder to read than I expected. It's hard to judge with the classics, some are easier than others to get through. I thought this would be easier because I love the story. The only thing I look forward to at Christmas time is watching as many movie versions of this story as I can. I love the story and out of all the versions I've seen, the 1999 Patrick Stewart version stays closest to the original text.

The writing wasn't lacking (clearly), it was just hard to get through the language. But it felt like an accomplishment to finish as it's been on my 'to-read' list for quite some time. ( )
  PriPri77 | Jan 15, 2016 |
A Christmas Carol is the classic Christmas story of the redemption of Ebeneezer Scrooge. Scrooge is a stingy man with no family or friends. The ghost of his deceased partner appears to him and warns him that he must change his ways or suffer for eternity. To assist the change, Scrooge is visited by three ghosts who show him images from Christmas past, present, and future. I have seen so many movie adapations of the novel that the story felt like a reread. It is a heartwarming story and a bit idealist, that a man like Scrooge could be moved to change his ways overnight and that by doing so all of his past sins may be forgiven. I enjoyed reading the novel and would like to pick up more Dickens in the future. ( )
  Cora-R | Jan 13, 2016 |
Most adaptations you've seen are probably true to the book. They largely have been in my case. It's still worth a read. At the very least, you'll read a section of the story that has (as far as I can tell) never been adapted into any film or made-for-TV special. You know how Scrooge sees Belle walk out of his life? Well, the Ghost of Christmas Past shows him more still! ( )
  Michael_Rose | Jan 10, 2016 |
A Christmas Carol is Decembers book club choice so ive left it to read over the Christmas period. However also over Christmas on the tv there has been several versions of the classic, from Alistar Simm to The Muppets. My husband I think has watched every one.

So sitting down to read the book I felt I had already read it.

I have read Charles Dickens twice before and both times have enjoyed but found hard going. This book I found easier. The story is timeless and is the Christmas story that everyone knows.

The book is sure to bring out the Christmas spirit when read. I give the story five stars quite easily, I just wished I could have read it before the many versions on tv appeared. ( )
  tina1969 | Dec 26, 2015 |
Popsugar Reading Challenge 2015 | Task 45: Set during Christmas ( )
  Bodagirl | Dec 24, 2015 |
Finally got around to this classic and, even though I was familiar with the story from having seen the myriad of film versions, I enjoyed reading the source material quite a bit. It's very well-written - if a bit wordy in spots, (it is Dickens after all! :), but it's a fun little morality tale that carries a good message of Christmas cheer to last all through the year. ( )
  ScoLgo | Dec 24, 2015 |
Charles Dickens' classic story of Ebeneezer Scrooge and the change of heart that he undergoes by seeing 4 ghosts in a night (his old partner Marley, and the three Christmas spirits - Past, Present, and Future). As well as all the various portrayals (Mickey, Muppets, etc, etc, etc,) its a plain and good story. Nothing altogether wrong with it, nothing major to it, and typical in Dickensian fashion -ie. the ten words to describe something that one word would have sufficed (oh the joy of being paid PER WORD). Still, a classic that should be read at least once by one and all. ( )
  BenKline | Dec 21, 2015 |
A Christmas Carol is a story that we all know whether we have actually read the book or watched one of the many adaptations. Previously, I have read abridged versions when I was a kid. This was my first time reading the original and I am so glad that I finally did.

The writing is, of course, beautiful and just so descriptive. You really do get a perfect insight into the harsh lives at the time. No wonder Dickens is one of the greats. I also really liked the characters. Yes, even Scrooge. Probably because I'm so used to his story. I do sort of feel that Scrooge is just your average grumpy old man who has had a tough life. In his own way, I find him quite endearing.

What I was surprised by was how long it actually took me to read A Christmas Carol. Almost a week! For 112 pages! This may be because this is my first Dickens and I needed to acclimatise to the style of writing and the language used. (Note to self: read more Classics!)

I really liked reading the original, unabridged version of A Christmas Carol. I really can't wait to read more Dickens now either.

This review and many more can be found at My Expanding Bookshelf. ( )
  MyExpandingBookshelf | Dec 11, 2015 |
A great festive read,, 9 December 2015

This review is from: A Christmas Carol (Paperback)
Have read most of Dickens' novels but only just got round to A Christmas Carol, a lovely little novella which may be sentimental but is still a real tear jerker.
We meet Ebenezer Scrooge, a joyless, utterly mean employer, sitting in his freezing office on Christmas Eve. He rejects his good-natured neplhew's invitation for Christmas dinner, turns away two gentlemen collecting for the poor: ("Are there no prisons?...the Union workhouses? Are they still in operation?") and complains of his clerk, young family man Bob Cratchit, wanting the next day off.
But Scrooge is to meet three spirits that show him Christmases past, present and future. We glimpse the Cratchit family making merry as best they can, and Scrooge sees how he will be remembered by his acquaintances in the future, and changes his outlook in consequence.
Although I'd never read this before, I'd picked up quotes and the general theme from snippets on TV, and had envisioned it being too syrupy for me ... but it's a wonderful read. ( )
  starbox | Dec 8, 2015 |
Showing 1-25 of 286 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.07)
0.5 3
1 40
1.5 4
2 105
2.5 26
3 558
3.5 98
4 1007
4.5 125
5 1136

Audible.com

84 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Candlewick Press

An edition of this book was published by Candlewick Press.

» Publisher information page

Penguin Australia

3 editions of this book were published by Penguin Australia.

Editions: 014132452X, 014119474X, 0141389478

Urban Romantics

2 editions of this book were published by Urban Romantics.

Editions: 1909438863, 1909438871

Recorded Books

An edition of this book was published by Recorded Books.

» Publisher information page

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 103,125,492 books! | Top bar: Always visible