Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

A Christmas Carol (original 1843; edition 2003)

by Charles Dickens

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations / Mentions
12,737278186 (4.07)3 / 1006
The only Dickens I've ever read. This story has become part of our cultural lexicon much more than most other classics, but reading the original version gave me a better insight into the moral and messages, beyond the top layer that everyone knows about. I think this book better encapsulates what should be "the Christmas spirit" than any holiday special will ever be able to do. Familiar, comforting, and moving... and excellently narrated by Jim Dale, who was flawless as always. ( )
  fyrefly98 | Dec 8, 2006 |
English (266)  Dutch (3)  Spanish (3)  Italian (2)  Swedish (1)  Danish (1)  German (1)  French (1)  All languages (278)
Showing 1-25 of 266 (next | show all)
i pretty much agree with katie about this book. it was a really beautiful story and so lovely to see scrooge's transformation. however, it was nearly impossible not to picture the characters being the ones from the muppet christmas carol. ( )
  beckyface | Nov 22, 2015 |
i pretty much agree with katie about this book. it was a really beautiful story and so lovely to see scrooge's transformation. however, it was nearly impossible not to picture the characters being the ones from the muppet christmas carol. ( )
  beckyface | Nov 22, 2015 |
i pretty much agree with katie about this book. it was a really beautiful story and so lovely to see scrooge's transformation. however, it was nearly impossible not to picture the characters being the ones from the muppet christmas carol. ( )
  beckyface | Nov 22, 2015 |
Four stars on its own; five because I read it with Shannon. I like the ghost story part, which was handled better than I thought it would be, but I hate poor Tiny Tim and I don't believe in Total Abstinence. Also, I enjoy as much intercourse as possible with Spirits of any sort or kind.

Dickens was a cheeseball. ( )
1 vote Michael.Xolotl | Nov 11, 2015 |
Did you know that when Dickens wrote this little novella in 1843 as part of his ‘Christmas Series’, it changed all our Christmases? Traditional practices were going out of fashion at the time, and the book revived them. Groaning boards of turkey and iced cake, presents, dancing and mistletoe were all saved for our enjoyment…or not! At the same time it was a clear comment on early Victorian society, as when the Ghost of Christmas Present reveals two children saying; “This boy is Ignorance. This girl is Want. Beware them both, and all of their degree, but most of all beware this boy, for on his brow I see that written which is Doom, unless the writing be erased.”

For me, the book was a tradition in itself. Every year, as my children grew, I’d read it, over four or five nights, ending the story with Scrooge’s transformation on Xmas Eve. Heady days! ( )
  ninahare | Oct 30, 2015 |
A very nostalgic read. Charles Dickens is a great author, his writing, descriptions, story, and message are great. It is easy to see why this is a classic. The movies hold true to the overall feel of the book. ( )
  renbedell | Oct 27, 2015 |
Being my first Dickens, I won't be shying away from him just yet, but I figured I'd start with a short one first. Most of us already know the story of A Christmas Carol. There are so many adaptations of it in the modern world that it's hard to escape it. When looking at the story itself, I might think to have given it almost 5 stars. But that's not all that goes into writing a book. If I had the option, I would have cut a majority of what was written into this book. Dickens seems to like listing off anything and everything, whenever he can. When establishing the setting of a scene, he wrote on and on about various things, but by the time he got back to moving the story forward, I'd given up on caring where it was set anymore. At least the dialogue was strong enough.

So I'm torn between the story and the writing style for this one, and I predict it'll be the case in any future Dickens I try out. I might be surprised though. Time will tell. Maybe the thick books I have on my shelf isn't the author being long winded and stretching out a story for no reason. Wink, wink. Nudge, nudge. ( )
  Robert.Zimmermann | Oct 15, 2015 |
this is maybe the perfect story. i've had it forever and just never got around to reading it. of course i already knew the story before reading the book. it's really nice to read a story where you really understand why someone is mean and then they see the error of their ways and change instead of just being defeated by the hero. the last section was so beautiful i cried. the only problem was that i've seen a muppet christmas carol so many times that it was hard to not picture bob cratchit as kermit the frog. ( )
  klburnside | Aug 11, 2015 |
ENOUGH of this play! I hate it! ( )
  engpunk77 | Aug 10, 2015 |
I love this book like no other.

I just read it for the first time, and as I read through it I pictured in my head me and my future family softly turning the pages in a well-loved, often-read edition. There were so many beautiful phrases, beautiful words that only Dickens could string together so honestly and meaningfully.

The story is simple and it's a story that everybody knows. But to think of Dickens' creativity to write this before anything like it had been done before? To imagine the kindly trembling hand of the last Ghost, or the blinding light, or the face on the door-knocker? It's wildly imaginative. Decades later it still works.

I think it's beautiful that this book lasts throughout the ages..... and I know that as long as there is a human society that continues to appreciate literature, this small book will be cherished.... its romantic values, its simple redemption... it's absolute beauty. ( )
  Proustitutes | Jun 11, 2015 |
Classic Dickens - a must read for anyone interested in his writing, or just feels like getting in the Christmas spirit.

Also recommended for people who go to see the live performance of this work - the language will probably be slightly different here.

( )
  bdtrump | May 9, 2015 |
My favorite Christmas story. I read it every year. ( )
  caseybp | Apr 15, 2015 |
Dickens Christmas Books, in Large Print, Volume 1: A Christmas Carol is the first and most popular in a series of five novels that Charles Dickens wrote for the Christmas season. This LARGE PRINT edition is designed in 14-point Century Schoolbook for easy reading and includes an original introduction as well as a bonus essay (A Christmas Tree). The familiar story of A Christmas Carol, about Ebenezer Scrooge and the three... ( )
This review has been flagged by multiple users as abuse of the terms of service and is no longer displayed (show).
  Tutter | Mar 2, 2015 |
Having watched the movies based on this book since I was a child this book was purchased in order to read it to my children. It is of course a classic for a reason. The characters are engaging, the story absorbing, and it is in every way Charles Dickens. ( )
  jlsimon7 | Mar 1, 2015 |
This is the first time I have actually read this story. Of course I know the story, just as a non-celebrator never had an interest in reading it. I checked out another book from the library and this was included in it.

The story is a classic and is very short, it didn't take long to read it, at first the thought that someone could change so quickly is hard to believe, but when you realize he didn't grow up that way and even as a young man wasn't that way, makes it a little more believable.

I don't know what else to say since EVERYBODY knows this story. So I'll stop. ( )
  BellaFoxx | Feb 14, 2015 |
I adore this story. ( )
  VincentDarlage | Jan 30, 2015 |
Patrick Stewart's one- man "A Christmas Carol" is a delight to hear. He does all the voices and sound effects. A splendid performance of a true classic. ( )
  VincentDarlage | Jan 30, 2015 |
This is an every Christmas classic. ( )
  Kelley.Logan | Jan 16, 2015 |
This was a short easy book to read, or in my case listen (narrated by Jim Dale). I've known of the story for years and years and have seen many renditions of it in film but had never actually read the book. Having known the story beforehand there was nothing here that was new or exciting but it is nice to have got through it. And it's such a classic, that if you haven't read it, I highly suggest getting a copy while the season is right. ( )
  Kassilem | Jan 2, 2015 |
When it comes to Christmas books, A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens is probably the first book that comes to mind. Published in 1843, this novella was an instant success and has been a beloved classic since then. I am not going to go into a plot summary because I believe most people know the story but if you don’t, go watch A Muppet’s Christmas Carol. Told in five staves (similar to stanzas or verses) this book has been adapted so many times that A Christmas Carol has just become a part of the Christmas period.

While compassion, forgiveness and getting into the Christmas spirit is the major theme of this novella, one thing that really stuck with me is Dickens’ ideas of isolation and loneliness. While it is true that Ebenezer Scrooge never indicates he is feeling alone, since the death of Jacob Marley seven years earlier there is a sense that he has falling in despair. Marley died on Christmas Eve and appeared to be Scrooge’s only companion, which leads to a disdain for the holiday period.

Charles Dickens wanted to emphasise the importance of being with friends and family, especially during Christmas. However I got the sense that he may have treated the idea of isolation poorly. Sure, Scrooge was a grumpy old man who was tight with his money but I got no real indication that he was unhappy to be alone. Scrooge could have been an introvert and enjoyed the quiet solitude; is that really such a bad thing?

Then all of a sudden Scrooge is cured from his rationality and becomes an extravert. This is a little strange, Scrooge’s emotional and psychological makeup might not be pleasant or agreeable to the popular worldview but they were his own thoughts. Scrooge was a financial supporter of The Poor Law Amendment Act of 1834 and didn’t want to give money to a charity that worked against his political ideology.

I am not bagging out A Christmas Carol, I do enjoy it but as I was re-reading this novella I kept wondering what this story is saying if we take out the element of Christmas. Basically this is the story of curing someone of his or her personality. I had a lot of fun looking at this book from another point of view, it just gave me a lot more to think about. A Christmas Carol is a nice quick story about the importance of being with your friends and family during this holiday period. Next year I might try Truman Capote’s collection of stories about Christmas.

This review originally appeared on my blog; http://literary-exploration.com/2014/12/30/a-christmas-carol-by-charles-dickens/ ( )
  knowledge_lost | Dec 30, 2014 |
Jim Dale nails it! This is a wonderful audiobook edition of Dickens' A Christmas Carol! ( )
  baystateRA | Dec 29, 2014 |
Obviously I meant to finish reading and review this before Christmas Eve, but I spent too many evenings drinking and on Christmas Eve itself I fell asleep watching Howl’s Moving Castle instead. So never mind that.

But anyway! Christmas! Charles Dickens’ A Christmas Carol is one of his most well-known and influential works, and indeed one of the most well-known and influential pieces of literature in the human canon. We all know how it goes. Even if we haven’t read it, we’ve picked up bits and pieces from the dozens of films and parodies and cartoons and retellings (if I have to think, probably the first version I remember is A Muppets Christmas Carol). Ebeneezer Scrooge is a miserly old rich man who sneers at the concept of Christmas, is visited by the ghost of his old business partner on Christmas Eve, is subsequently visited by the ghosts of Christmas Past, Present and Future, and learns to change his ways for the better. Timeless.

I’ve been avoiding reading Dickens because he’s one of those authors you feel obligated to read, but whom you fear will also be dry and dull and tedious – I mean, he was born more than two hundred years ago. Apart from it being timely, I read A Christmas Carol because it’s slim, and if I hated it then I could at least say I’d read Dickens. I was pleasantly surprised to find his prose accessible and readable and even witty.

“At this festive season of the year, Mr. Scrooge,” said the gentleman, taking up a pen, “it is more than usually desirable that we should make some slight provision for the Poor and Destitute, who suffer greatly at the present time. Many thousands are in want of common necessaries; hundreds of thousands are in want of common comforts, sir.”

“Are there no prisons?” asked Scrooge.

“Plenty of prisons,” said the gentleman, laying down the pen again.

“And the Union workhouses?” demanded Scrooge. “Are they still in operation?”

“They are. Still,” returned the gentleman, “I wish I could say they were not.”

“The Treadmill and the Poor Law are in full vigour, then?” said Scrooge.

“Both very busy, sir.”

“Oh! I was afraid, from what you said at first, that something had occurred to stop them in their useful course,” said Scrooge. “I’m very glad to hear it.”

Dickens’ literary legacy is obvious, but I was fascinated to learn that much of what we associate with a modern Christmas – feasting, merriment, family gatherings and generosity of spirit – is a relatively recent trend, as the holiday morphed from a purely religious observance in the early 19th century to something more broadly festive. It’s a stretch to say that Dickens invented modern Christmas, but the massive popularity of A Christmas Carol was certainly an enormous influence on it.

I enjoyed A Christmas Carol quite a bit. It’s a charming, pleasant story about generosity, love for your fellow man, and redemption. It deserves its enduring, iconic status, and I’m relieved to find that Dickens is a relatively approachable writer. I’ll next read his first full novel, The Pickwick Papers. ( )
  edgeworth | Dec 29, 2014 |
Due to circumstances beyond my control, I have not completed the ritual reading of this tale in the run up to the festive season, for the past three years. This year I have and Christmas seems complete!

I doubt there is a single reader in the world, nay, the universe who does not know the story of the miser forced to face his own unpleasant nature and so, I shall not bore you with a resume of the plot: suffice to say, that after more readings than I would care to admit (well into double, if not quite triple figures!), Dickens still manages to supply that warm glow of Christmas. We are lead to believe that, having turned over a new leaf, Scrooge is forgiven his past and yet, we still associate the name with penny pinching, rather than the generosity of the reborn Scrooge: perhaps we have to be a little more forgiving.....

1 vote the.ken.petersen | Dec 24, 2014 |
His writing is so full of personality; it's wondrous! This is my favorite holiday story, and after viewing dozens of movie versions I finally took time to read the book. Charles Dickens is a grand writer; his verbal illustrations are vivid. 'A Christmas Carol' is an untouchable and timeless tale I think everyone should read. ( )
  REGoodrich | Dec 10, 2014 |
Writing: 4.5
Theme: 4.5
Content: 4.5
Language: 5.0

Overall: 4.5; Great classic novel. What a wonderful theme: Ebenezer Scrooge lives a reclusive and wretched life and treats others (including family) with disdain and vitriol. At least that's the case before he is visited by three ghosts on Christmas. These visions manifest to Scrooge his repulsive life and lead him to make a drastic change in his personality and actions with others. Highly recommend, especially at the Christmas season.

***December 5, 2014*** ( )
  jntjesussaves | Dec 5, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 266 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Popular covers


Average: (4.07)
0.5 3
1 39
1.5 4
2 103
2.5 27
3 525
3.5 98
4 963
4.5 122
5 1094


79 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Candlewick Press

An edition of this book was published by Candlewick Press.

» Publisher information page

Penguin Australia

3 editions of this book were published by Penguin Australia.

Editions: 014132452X, 014119474X, 0141389478

Urban Romantics

2 editions of this book were published by Urban Romantics.

Editions: 1909438863, 1909438871

Recorded Books

An edition of this book was published by Recorded Books.

» Publisher information page

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.


Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 100,859,672 books! | Top bar: Always visible