HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Naked In LA (Naked Series Book 2) by Colin…
Loading...

Naked In LA (Naked Series Book 2)

by Colin Falconer

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
113,689,591 (5)None
Recently added byiadam

No tags.

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

Another excellent book by Colin Falconer. This is a story of love and betrayal and takes place in the ‘60s, during the Kennedy administration. The author paints a very realistic picture of the life of a Cuban refugee in this country. Most of them left Cuba with only the clothes on their backs. Family is very important. The main character is willing to do anything to support and care for her sick father. She follows her dream to become an actress and rubs shoulders with many famous people, but is ultimately caught in the fallout from a terrible tragedy and is forced to flee. I love the author’s writing style. His writing seems so realistic and I almost feel like the story is unfolding right before my eyes. I recommend this book and will be reading the next book in the Naked series, Naked in Saigon. ( )
  iadam | Jan 19, 2015 |
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

No descriptions found.

Book 2 in the Naked Series Cheating is always a bad idea. But with the President of the United States? After fleeing Cuba in 1959 Magdalena works as a waitress in a diner trying to support her sick father. One day Angel Macheda walks back into her life and offers her a way out. Does she take the money and take the fine life, for her father's sake, for her own - or hold out for an impossible dream? Miami, 1961. When Angel Macheda walks back into her life, Magdalena doesn't have to struggle anymore. He pays her father's medical bills and shows her the high life. But when her father dies, does she continue her life as his mistress - or follow her own dream? She goes to Hollywood and finds everything she ever dreamed. She even finds Reyes Garcia once more - and for one crowded hour everything is perfect. But love is dangerous. Magdalena has always told herself that she is looking for love. But there's a difference between dreaming about what you want and getting it. From Jack Kennedy's Malibu hideaway, from the Hollywood of Monroe and Sinatra, Magdalena experiences the highs and lows of chasing her dream of being a star. But even Camelot has a dark underbelly, and when the White House and the Mob clash, she is caught in the fallout. In the tradition of Casablanca and Gone With the Wind, the story of Magdalena Fuentes and Reyes Garcia is a sprawling epic of passion and destiny, stretching across three decades and two continents.… (more)

LibraryThing Author

Colin Falconer is a LibraryThing Author, an author who lists their personal library on LibraryThing.

profile page | author page

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (5)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3
3.5
4
4.5
5 1

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 127,167,807 books! | Top bar: Always visible