Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Cottage in the Woods by Katherine…

The Cottage in the Woods

by Katherine Coville

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
272402,159 (3.63)None



Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

Showing 2 of 2
This novel is a retelling of “Goldlilocks and the Three Bears;” it’s nothing like you think it will be!

Ms. Brown has been hired as a governess to Teddy Vaughn. Yes, they are bears who are enchanted, which means that they talk and live lives much like human. Teddy is a sweet cub and Ms. Brown loves teaching him, but her necklace gets stolen. Come to find out, there’s a wild human girl living in the house that they’ve named Goldlilocks. She likes to take things, but Ms. Brown still can’t find her necklace. She finds Goldilocks in need of love and wants to help her.

All sounds well, but there are problems brewing. There’s an association that wants to keep the enchanted animals under curfew and take some of their rights away. Mr. Vaughn is part of the underground enchanted animals meeting, which is against the law. Ms. Brown tries to help keep their cover by playing the organ while they “practice” for “church choir.” There’s also some teens running around who are threatening and stealing from everyone, and they want Goldilocks. They’ll do anything, including violence, to get her. The association will do anything to stop Mr. Vaughn from his activities, which includes helping these violent kids. In the midst of this turmoil, Ms. Brown falls in love with Mr. Bentley, but he is betrothed to another woman.

It’s a somewhat long but cute book. I didn’t like it at the beginning because I don’t like talking animals. I ended up being pulled into the story and wanting the Vaughn’s to win against the humans and find love for Ms. Brown. There’s a small comment being made about people who criticize people who don’t feel like people of different races can adopt children of other races. It’s cute. ( )
  acargile | Oct 20, 2015 |
Amount Listened to: About 9%

Honestly, I picked this up solely because Katherine Kellgren is a fantastic narrator. Plus, it's fairy tales, so why not? Even if the cover really freaks me out.

The fact that it's Katherine Kellgren narrating actually ended up being the kiss of death for me, not because she's doing any less of a good job. The problem is that this is about an ursine governess going to a house to educate a kid. I've been listening to The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place series, about a governess who goes to a house to raise three children. The stories end up feeling the same, because a lot of the voices she chooses match up. Only now they're all animals. I don't have interest in trying the print, so I bid this book adieu.
  A_Reader_of_Fictions | Mar 20, 2015 |
Showing 2 of 2
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
First words
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English


Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0385755732, Hardcover)

For fans of Shannon Hale, Adam Gidwitz, and Michael Buckley comes a luminous new twist on a tale readers only thought they knew. . .
Once upon a time, there was a girl with golden locks. But that’s just the beginning of this tale. The real story begins with a bear.
Ursula is a young she-bear who has come to work as a governess at the Vaughn estate. Although she is eager to instruct her young charge, Teddy, she is also frightened, especially when inexplicable things happen in the huge house after dark. Ursula is sure she has heard footsteps in the hallways at night, and that something is following her during her walks in the Enchanted Forest. Then there is Mr. Bentley, a young bear also employed by Mr. Vaughn, whose superior disposition is enough to drive Ursula to tears . . . and yet why does he also make her heart race? As Ursula works to unravel the mysteries of the Vaughn manor, she will have to be very, very careful. After all, true love, justice, and a girl with golden locks are at stake. And in the Enchanted Forest, not every fairy tale is destined for a happily ever after.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 17:59:59 -0400)

No library descriptions found.

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
1 wanted1 pay1 pay

Popular covers


Average: (3.63)
3 2
4 1
4.5 1

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.


Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 100,859,613 books! | Top bar: Always visible