HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Cottage in the Woods by Katherine…
Loading...

The Cottage in the Woods

by Katherine Coville

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
201515,329 (3)None

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

Amount Listened to: About 9%

Honestly, I picked this up solely because Katherine Kellgren is a fantastic narrator. Plus, it's fairy tales, so why not? Even if the cover really freaks me out.

The fact that it's Katherine Kellgren narrating actually ended up being the kiss of death for me, not because she's doing any less of a good job. The problem is that this is about an ursine governess going to a house to educate a kid. I've been listening to The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place series, about a governess who goes to a house to raise three children. The stories end up feeling the same, because a lot of the voices she chooses match up. Only now they're all animals. I don't have interest in trying the print, so I bid this book adieu.
  A_Reader_of_Fictions | Mar 20, 2015 |
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0385755732, Hardcover)

For fans of Shannon Hale, Adam Gidwitz, and Michael Buckley comes a luminous new twist on a tale readers only thought they knew. . .
 
Once upon a time, there was a girl with golden locks. But that’s just the beginning of this tale. The real story begins with a bear.
 
Ursula is a young she-bear who has come to work as a governess at the Vaughn estate. Although she is eager to instruct her young charge, Teddy, she is also frightened, especially when inexplicable things happen in the huge house after dark. Ursula is sure she has heard footsteps in the hallways at night, and that something is following her during her walks in the Enchanted Forest. Then there is Mr. Bentley, a young bear also employed by Mr. Vaughn, whose superior disposition is enough to drive Ursula to tears . . . and yet why does he also make her heart race? As Ursula works to unravel the mysteries of the Vaughn manor, she will have to be very, very careful. After all, true love, justice, and a girl with golden locks are at stake. And in the Enchanted Forest, not every fairy tale is destined for a happily ever after.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 17:59:59 -0400)

No library descriptions found.

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
1 wanted1 pay1 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 2
3.5
4
4.5
5

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 99,029,356 books! | Top bar: Always visible