HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Finding the Worm (Twerp Sequel) by Mark…
Loading...

Finding the Worm (Twerp Sequel)

by Mark Goldblatt

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
273402,159 (3.8)None

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

Showing 3 of 3
Maybe I needed to read Twerp first (which I haven't read) in order to fully appreciate this book or maybe I couldn't relate to the characters but for whatever reason, I clearly didn't have the same response that lots of other reviewers had. I didn't hate it enough to throw it out, but I certainly wouldn't give it a prime spot on my shelves. Just didn't do much for me. ( )
  JRlibrary | Mar 18, 2017 |
Not just for kids - made me cry...that's all I'm going to say. ( )
  irishred5 | Apr 30, 2016 |
Quentin is ill, seriously ill, but the all school interruption on the intercom for Quentin's closest friends to hightail it to the counseling office forbodes a far worse possibility. Miss Medina's encouragement of a positive prognosis falls on deaf ears, and Rabbi Salzburg, who bares physical resemblances to Mr. Magoo of cartoon fame, does little to assuage Julian's fears for Quentin and uncertainties about heaven.

Rich characterization from Twerp provides depth and familiarity with the colorful cast of characters, yet, with Goldblatt's wit and humor while tackling a serious subject, this sequel easily stands on its own.

For young people: You will laugh, celebrate, and even shed a few tears with your favorite characters, who continue to grow up alongside you. Danley makes yet another surprising appearance, giving you pause to reflect on what's really important in life.

For teachers: Attention to location details makes this book a perfect choice for combining a Google Lit-Trip with historic research, especially in regard to the Browne house.

For adults: While following the storyline of a youth preparing for his bar mitzvah, Finding the Worm unveils the realities of life and the sometimes painful metamorphosis of a boy becoming a man.

For all: If you ever have an opportunity to invite or to hear this amazing author in person, do so! You will be glad you did! (More than 500 students and teachers would attest to this).

Thank you to Random House Children's for sharing this ARC with me. ( )
  mmeckenstock | Mar 15, 2015 |
Showing 3 of 3
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0385391080, Hardcover)

The New York Post praised Twerp as “reminiscent of The Perks of Being a Wallflower.” Finding the Worm is a sequel that stands on its own--an unforgettable coming-of-age story about life, loss, and friendship. Perfect for fans of The Sandlot and readers who love books by Jennifer L. Holm, Andrew Clements, and Rebecca Stead.
 
It’s not a test unless you can fail. . . .
 
Trouble always seems to find thirteen-year-old Julian Twerski. First it was a bullying incident, and now he’s been accused of vandalizing a painting. The principal doesn’t want to suspend him again, so instead, he asks Julian to write a 200-word essay on good citizenship. Julian writes 200 no’s instead, and so begins an epic struggle between Julian and his principal.
 
Being falsely accused is bad enough, but outside of school, Julian’s dealing with even bigger issues. His friend Quentin has been really sick. How can life be fair when the nicest guy in your group has cancer? Julian’s faith and friendships are put to the test . . . and the stakes have never been higher.

Praise for Twerp:
 
A Bank Street Best Book of the Year
 
A Junior Library Guild Selection
 
A Summer Top Ten Kids’ Indie Next List Pick
 
“Reminiscent of The Perks of Being a Wallflower. . . . You don’t have to be a twerp to read this book.” —New York Post
 
“A vivid, absorbing story about one boy’s misadventure, heartache, and hope for himself.” —Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medal–winning author of When You Reach Me
 
“[Fans of] Jeff Kinney’s Diary of a Wimpy Kid who have matured beyond the scope and gravity of that series will find a kindred spirit in Julian.” —School Library Journal
 
“Reminiscent of movies like The Sandlot. . . . Well-written and funny.” —The Advocate
 
“Alternately poignant and comical. . . . A thought-provoking exploration of bullying, personal integrity and self-acceptance.” —Kirkus Reviews
 
“Funny, poignant, and an effective commentary on bullying and its consequences.” —The Horn Book Magazine

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:21:29 -0400)

In 1970 Queens, New York, Julian Twerski, now in seventh grade, struggles to write an essay as punishment for an act he did not commit, worries about Beverly, the girl he likes, prepares for his bar mitzvah, and tries to cope with the serious illness of one of his closest friends, Quentin.… (more)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
1 wanted

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.8)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5
3
3.5
4 3
4.5
5 1

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 119,609,739 books! | Top bar: Always visible