HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Appleblossom the Possum by Holly Goldberg…
Loading...

Appleblossom the Possum (edition 2015)

by Holly Goldberg Sloan (Author), Gary Rosen (Illustrator)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
574207,436 (3.75)None
Member:Terrafemina
Title:Appleblossom the Possum
Authors:Holly Goldberg Sloan (Author)
Other authors:Gary Rosen (Illustrator)
Info:Dial Books (2015), 288 pages
Collections:Wishlist
Rating:
Tags:None

Work details

Appleblossom the Possum by Holly Goldberg Sloan

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

Showing 4 of 4
I adored this book! Appleblossom is one of the possoms born in her mother's first litter, so her name begins with A, as do all of her siblings' names. Mama has them practice their acting skills regularly, and it's really fun until they learn why: they need to use these skills against three evil monsters: people, cars and dogs. Appleblossom still manages to end up in a people house, but the girl of the house is not mean or scary but wants a friend. ( )
  ChristianR | May 6, 2017 |
Appleblossom is one child in a large possum family, and this is her story. It's sweet, cute and occasionally very funny, but as a complete novel never quite lives up to its promise. The plot seemed to peter out before the book did, and once Big Poss (the father possum) shows up, the book goes downhill from there. ( )
  fingerpost | May 30, 2016 |
It was cute and would be a good read-aloud, but I liked 'Firefly Hollow' better. ( )
  BillieBook | Mar 1, 2016 |
Narrated by Dustin Hoffman. Appleblossom gets trapped inside the monsters' house (people and a dog) but finds a friendly spirit in the smallest people (Izzy the girl). Hoffman has a hey-day with this charming family-friendly story, bringing eye-winking humor to the acting terms (acting is an important possum skill so they can play dead, you know!) and presenting the young possums as cuddly and appealing. His Old Poss is a particular hoot. Play this while driving over the river and through the woods to grandma's! ( )
  Salsabrarian | Feb 2, 2016 |
Showing 4 of 4
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0803741332, Hardcover)

Fans of E.B. White and Dick King-Smith will adore this heartwarming and funny animal adventure by the award-winning author of Counting by 7s

Mama has trained up her baby possums in the ways of their breed, and now it’s time for all of them—even little Appleblossom—to make their way in the world. Appleblossom knows the rules: she must never be seen during the day, and she must avoid cars, humans, and the dreaded hairies (sometimes known as dogs). Even so, Appleblossom decides to spy on a human family—and accidentally falls down their chimney! The curious Appleblossom, her faithful brothers—who launch a hilarious rescue mission—and even the little girl in the house have no idea how fascinating the big world can be. But they're about to find out!

With dynamic illustrations, a tight-knit family, and a glimpse at the world from a charming little marsupial's point of view, this cozy animal story is a perfect read-aloud and a classic in the making.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:07:02 -0400)

No library descriptions found.

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
7 wanted

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.75)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 3
3.5
4 4
4.5
5 1

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

You are using the new servers! | About | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 115,242,022 books! | Top bar: Always visible