HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Cold War on Maplewood Street by Gayle…
Loading...

Cold War on Maplewood Street

by Gayle Rosengren

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
111820,536 (4.5)None

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

The impact of the Cold War just before the Cuban Missile Crisis as soon though the eyes of sixth grader Joanna. Her favorite older brother enlisted in the navy and is shipped off.
At first, Joanna reacts with anger and refuses to forgive him for leaving her. She is terrified that he will get hurt and never return home.
She refuses to read the letters he writes her.
She becomes terrified with every news report that it will bring bad news.

Will Sam ever make it back home?
Will Joanna ever forgive him? ( )
  JawKnee | Sep 25, 2015 |
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0399171835, Hardcover)

Cold War anxieties play out in a sensitively told story set during the Cuban missile crisis in the 1960s, perfect for fans of Gary Schmidt and Kristin Levine. 

Joanna can’t get over how her brother broke his promise to never leave like their dad did. Sam is thousands of miles away on a navy ship, and no matter how often he sends letters, Joanna refuses to write back. When she makes a promise, she keeps it.

But then President Kennedy comes on TV with frightening news about Soviet missiles in Cuba—and that’s where Sam’s heading. Suddenly Joanna’s worries about being home alone, building up the courage to talk to a cute boy, and not being allowed to go to the first boy-girl party in her grade don’t seem so important. Maybe sometimes there are good reasons to break a promise.

The tense timeline of the Cuban missile crisis unfolds alongside a powerful, and ultimately hopeful, story about what it means to grow up in a world full of uncertainty.

(retrieved from Amazon Wed, 08 Jul 2015 10:20:24 -0400)

A young girl growing up in Chicago watches the events of the Cuban Missile Crisis unfold while struggling to repair a damaged relationship with her brother, stationed in the Gulf.

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
1 wanted

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.5)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3
3.5
4 1
4.5
5 1

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 119,568,525 books! | Top bar: Always visible