HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Seaborne #1: The Lost Prince by Matt…
Loading...

Seaborne #1: The Lost Prince

by Matt Myklusch

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
92950,433 (5)None

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

Showing 2 of 2
5 STARS

This is a exciting adventure, with pirates, a fabled island where gold grows on trees, trials to prove worthiness of royal, and pirate battle. You don't want to stop reading. You can never guess where the story is going to go next. It is also a clean read.

The characters are a good mix of bad guys you hate, bad guys that you love to root for and some you just love. Dean Seaborne is the main character that the story centers around.

Dean is 13 year old. He tried running away from the Pirate King. He is almost fed to the sharks.
He is given one more chance to find out why Gentleman Jim has been sending less money to him.
Dean gets taken on with Gentleman Jim. He is only their a short time but his ways rub off on Dean.

One-Eyed Jack the Pirate king. He is feared by plenty. The pirates pay him a tithe. He does not care who he hurts or kills.

Gentleman Jim Harper captain of the Reckless. He only robs those who can afford it. His crew are all children. He does not harm anyone if he can help it. They scare them. Most of his crew are loyal.

Ronan is first mate on the Reckless. He is smart, big and does not give up.

The setting for this book is the Caribbean and Bermuda Triangle.

The adventure draws you in from the first chapter. The story is fast paced. It is creative. I liked the sea monsters or at least one of them.

Dean's life is at risk for most of the book. Some of his enemies are known others you are not sure of till they are revealed.

The target audience is 8 to 12 years old. I think a lot more will like it. I loved it and I am a lot older. My 23 year old daughter loved it too. I think fans of Ranger Apprentice, Percy Jackson, Brotherband, and Harry Potter will like it too.

I was given this ebook to read by Net Galley and Egmont USA. In return I agreed to give honest review of it. ( )
  rhonda1111 | May 5, 2015 |
SEABORNE: THE LOST PRINCE by Matt Myklusch is the first book in a new adventure series featuring a teen boy pirate.

More of a spy than a pirate, young Dean Seaborne is forced to work for the evil pirate king One-Eyed Jack. As an orphan, Seaborne becomes caught between two worlds as he tries to decide whether to continue his pirating ways or side with a beautiful girl from a mythical island.

The fast-paced, swashbuckling action will appeal to the tween audience. The addition of a sea dragon will expand the audience to include those who enjoy fantasy elements. The bright book cover and exciting first chapter (our hero almost gets eaten by sharks) will be a draw for reluctant readers.

Myklusch knows how to write for the tween crowd. He effectively balances description with dialogue for an engaging story. The vocabulary is rich while still being age-appropriate. The action is non-stop and the characters are also on target for youth readers. This fun adventure at sea is a great starting point for readers who enjoy the imaginative world of pirates.

Pirate adventures are a popular sub-genre with endless library promotion possibilities. Plan now for next fall’s “Take Like a Pirate Day” on September 19th. Check out the website at http://www.talklikeapirate.com. They even have a pirate-to-English translator!

To learn more about the author, go to http://mattmyklusch.com/.

Published by Egmont USA on April 14, 2015. Reviewed through NetGalley. ( )
  eduscapes | Apr 18, 2015 |
Showing 2 of 2
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 160684525X, Hardcover)

Middle-grade adventure readers will love this fresh take on classic pirate tropes. Fans of Percy Jackson and The Chronicles of Egg will enjoy Dean Seaborne's adventures on the sea.

Dean Seaborne is thrown off his ship by the Pirate King and given one last chance to redeem himself before he meets Davy Jones's locker. He has to spy on the Pirate King's biggest rival, Gentleman Jim Harper, and find the treasure hidden on the mysterious island of Zenhala.

Once on Zenhala, Dean finds that the inhabitants of the island think he is the lost prince who went missing 13 year ago. In order to fulfill his mission for the Pirate King, Dean undergoes intense and fantastical trials to prove he is the lost prince. But the longer Dean stays on the island, the more he questions his mission.

Releases simultaneously in electronic book format (978-1-60684-526-4)

(retrieved from Amazon Sun, 05 Jul 2015 23:43:32 -0400)

No library descriptions found.

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
2 wanted

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (5)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3
3.5
4
4.5
5 3

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

You are using the new servers! | About | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 117,109,324 books! | Top bar: Always visible