HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Three-Year Swim Club: The Untold Story…
Loading...

The Three-Year Swim Club: The Untold Story of Maui's Sugar Ditch Kids…

by Julie Checkoway

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
685175,945 (3.5)1

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 1 mention

Showing 5 of 5
Being the first to add this book to Library Thing I feel the need to review and recommend. The summary inside suggested it for readers of Unbroken and Boys in the Boat. I read Boys in the Boat and while that had more suspense, Three Year Swim Club also has its moments. This book is well researched and easy to read. Somehow I felt a bit of distance from some of the main characters but upon reflection, it's almost in keeping with the person himself as presented in the book. If you are interested in sports stories or swimming or underdog tales, you will enjoy reading Three Year Swim Club. ( )
  Ariel2925 | Jun 11, 2016 |
I picked this up at BEA this year and was really unsure about it. I was unsure of how I'd gotten it and was sure it would either lead to tears or boredom. While I admit to a couple of sniffles here and there about the unfairness of it all it was a pretty amazing story and well worth the read. I've always wondered about the 1940 and 1944 cancelled Olympic Games and this gives you insight into the hopefuls lives. It's also an amazing underdog tale. ( )
  Rosa.Mill | Nov 21, 2015 |
I picked this up at BEA this year and was really unsure about it. I was unsure of how I'd gotten it and was sure it would either lead to tears or boredom. While I admit to a couple of sniffles here and there about the unfairness of it all it was a pretty amazing story and well worth the read. I've always wondered about the 1940 and 1944 cancelled Olympic Games and this gives you insight into the hopefuls lives. It's also an amazing underdog tale. ( )
  Rosa.Mill | Nov 21, 2015 |
I picked this up at BEA this year and was really unsure about it. I was unsure of how I'd gotten it and was sure it would either lead to tears or boredom. While I admit to a couple of sniffles here and there about the unfairness of it all it was a pretty amazing story and well worth the read. I've always wondered about the 1940 and 1944 cancelled Olympic Games and this gives you insight into the hopefuls lives. It's also an amazing underdog tale. ( )
  Rosa.Mill | Nov 21, 2015 |
I picked this up at BEA this year and was really unsure about it. I was unsure of how I'd gotten it and was sure it would either lead to tears or boredom. While I admit to a couple of sniffles here and there about the unfairness of it all it was a pretty amazing story and well worth the read. I've always wondered about the 1940 and 1944 cancelled Olympic Games and this gives you insight into the hopefuls lives. It's also an amazing underdog tale. ( )
  Rosa.Mill | Nov 21, 2015 |
Showing 5 of 5
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

No descriptions found.

The inspirational story of a group of impoverished children who were transformed into champion swimmers. In 1937 an ordinary grammar school teacher on the island of Maui took a group of underprivileged children, mostly of Japanese ancestry, and in three short years transformed them into Olympic champions.… (more)

» see all 2 descriptions

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.5)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 5
3.5 1
4 2
4.5
5 1

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 125,567,448 books! | Top bar: Always visible