HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Traitors Gate by Anne Perry
Loading...

Traitors Gate (1995)

by Anne Perry

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
507120,055 (3.83)2
Recently added byscottsdalebookgirl, betpchem, private library, 4thRiverFreeSkool, lkgillow, housebase421
None

None.

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 2 mentions

I love mysteries, and I love historical fiction, but somehow Anne Perry just doesn't bring the two together well enough for me. I'm not a fan. ( )
  WhitePineLane | May 8, 2008 |
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Pitt sat back on the wooden seat and watched with profound pleasure as the sun faded on the old apple tree in the center of the lawn and for a few moments gilded the rough bark.
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0449224392, Mass Market Paperback)

"In combination with her meticulous research, Ms. Perry's infallible feeling for the historical moment yields animated political debate over the colonization of Africa, glittering views of Victorian society at play and tantalizing glimpses of a confident, assertive creature known as the 'new woman.'"
--The New York Times Book Review
Someone in the Colonial Office is passing secrets to Germany about England's African strategy. While Police Superintendent Thomas Pitt investigates this matter of treason, he is quietly looking into the tragic "accidental" death of his childhood mentor, Sir Arthur Desmond. Pitt believes he was murdered, and that the crime is connected with the treachery in the government. He is making little progress, until a second murder reverberates through London.
In the small hours of a May morning, a Thames waterman finds the strangled body of an aristocratic society beauty floating near lonely Traitors Gate. Only then do hard-pressed Pitt and his clever wife, Charlotte, begin to untangle the threads of passion and intrigue, to see clearly the pattern of tragedy and frightening evil that Pitt must deal with, at the risk of his career--and his life.
"In the tradition of Margaret Millar and Ruth Rendell, Perry saves her largest, tastiest revelation for the very last paragraphs."
--Los Angeles Times
"First rate. . . The saga of Charlotte and Thomas is always a delight."
--Mostly Murder

(retrieved from Amazon Mon, 30 Sep 2013 14:00:56 -0400)

(see all 6 descriptions)

Police Superintendent Thomas Pitt and his savvy wife Charlotte investigate a security leak in the Colonial Office, an official coverup, and the "accidental" death of Pitt's mentor, Sir Arthur Desmond, in a tale of high treason and murder in Victorian England.… (more)

» see all 3 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
101 avail.
9 wanted
3 pay1 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.83)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2 2
2.5
3 17
3.5 4
4 32
4.5 2
5 13

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 91,503,097 books! | Top bar: Always visible