HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Unlikely Adventures of Mabel Jones by…
Loading...

The Unlikely Adventures of Mabel Jones

by Will Mabbitt

Other authors: See the other authors section.

Series: Mabel Jones (1)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
321347,362 (3.63)None

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

My Thoughts:
If you (or a loved one) likes Lemony Snicket, Roald Dahl, or Captain Underpants, this one’s for you! There’s very little serious about this book, but it’s a lot of fun in the way that kids of the target age group like it best. Silly situations, caricatures of characters, adventure, peril, perilous adventure, a treasure to find—it’s all here.

Mabel Jones is plucky and resourceful as she helps the crew of the Feroshus Maggot find their treasure—which, incidentally, will open a portal for her to return home. (That’s probably the most serious element of this story, that Mabel really would like to go home.)

Along the way, Mabel makes friends and continues to think her way out of danger.

The ARC I received still had art to come, but the illustrations it did contain were fun line drawings. Likewise, there are some fun typographic tricks to keep young readers engaged.

I loved the names for the various characters—Omynus Hush being my favorite. The captain is just a stereotypical meanie, but other characters have more endearing qualities.

Possible Objectionable Material:
Nose picking. Cartoonish violence. Lack of parental presence. If you are offended by Dahl or Pilkey, don’t go here.

Who Might Like This Book:
Kids from six to 106. You need a sense of humor and fun. If you think Captain Underpants should be removed from libraries, this is NOT a book for you. Lexile Measure: 750

Thank you, NetGalley, for the ARC. ( )
  swingdancefan | Feb 18, 2016 |
no reviews | add a review

» Add other authors

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
Will Mabbittprimary authorall editionscalculated
Collins, RossIllustratorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Collins, RossCover artistsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0451471962, Hardcover)

A funny fantasy-adventure series for fans of LEMONY SNICKET, NEIL GAIMAN, and ADAM GIDWITZ

Have you ever picked your nose? Have you ever picked your nose and EATEN IT? Have you ever picked your nose, eaten it, and, by doing so, opened a portal to a world run by PIRATES?

Mabel Jones has.

Kidnapped, Mabel is forced to serve aboard The Feroshus Maggot with the strangest crew you’ll ever meet. And the captain—an odious wolf named Idryss Ebenezer Split—won’t let her go until she helps the pirates uncover the treasure they seek. 

Mabel’s voyage takes her across the Greasy Pole of Certain Death, into the belly of a whale, and underground to a decrepit crypt. And she does it all…in pajamas!

Read on if you dare. You are promised a most unlikely adventure.

(retrieved from Amazon Mon, 13 Jul 2015 10:31:06 -0400)

No library descriptions found.

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.63)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 1
3.5 1
4 2
4.5
5

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

You are using the new servers! | About | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 116,979,447 books! | Top bar: Always visible