HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Clockwork Sparrow by Katherine Woodfine
Loading...

The Clockwork Sparrow (2015)

by Katherine Woodfine

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
893135,585 (4.04)5
None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 5 mentions

Showing 3 of 3
Gosh! What can I say. The writing was sublime. And the descriptions of London and the store were magical. I wanted to be there! Secret tunnels, mysterious figures, showgirls, and beautiful hats and orphans, everything you need for the perfect mystery.
I loved this story, and only wished that it was longer. I really wanted to know more about her backstory, but maybe that's for another book.
I can recommend this book to lovers of historical fiction, and fashion, and a good old fashioned 'who done it'!
( )
  Kiwimrsmac | Nov 29, 2017 |
I love middle grade, and mysteries, and this was the best of both!

I really enjoyed getting so see the cast of characters develop their friendship and solve a mystery.

In summary if you want a book that is "Nancy Drew in a fancy department store" this is the book for you!

Happy reading! ( )
  hawaiianmermaid701 | Jan 10, 2017 |
This was a great little book, written for young adults, packed with adventure from start to finish. Set just after the Boer war and based loosely on stories from other big stores of the time Selfridges, Fortnum and Mason etc.
Sophie has been left alone after her beloved papa dies, and needs to get a job to keep herself, she gets one in Sinclairs, a brand new store opening in two weeks time. But things don't go well for Sophie from the start and after becoming involved unintentionally in a grand robbery her life is turned into a chaotic roller coaster, that she is not sure she will get out of! As things are stacked up against her left right and centre.
The story romps along at a fair pace leaving you wondering what will happen.
A really enjoyable read for young and old alike. ( )
  Glorybe1 | Aug 15, 2015 |
Showing 3 of 3
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Sophie hung on tightly to the leather strap as the omnibus rattled forwards.
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language
Book description
You are cordially invited to attend the Grand Opening of Sinclair's department store! Enter a world of bonbons, hats, perfumes and Mysteries around every corner. Wonder at the daring theft of the priceless Clockwork Sparrow! Tremble as the most Dastardly criminals in London enact their wicked plans! GASP as our bold heroines, Miss Sophie Taylor and Miss Lilian Rose, Crack Codes, Devour Iced Buns and vow to bring the villians to justice...The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow is the first book in a sumptuous mystery-adventure series for 9+ readers, full of vivid Edwardian period detail. Perfect for fans of Chris Riddell, Enid Blyton, Robin Stevens Murder Most Unladylike and Nancy Drew. The next title in the series, The Mystery of the Jewelled Moth, publishes in March 2016. Cover and interior illustrations by Julia Sarda. "A wonderful book, with a glorious heroine and a true spirit of adventure." (Katherine Rundell, award-winning author of Rooftoppers).
Haiku summary

No descriptions found.

You are cordially invited to attend the Grand Opening of Sinclair's department store! Enter a world of bonbons, hats, perfumes and MYSTERIES around every corner. WONDER at the daring theft of the priceless CLOCKWORK SPARROW! TREMBLE as the most DASTARDLY criminals in London enact their wicked plans! GASP as our bold heroines, Miss Sophie Taylor and Miss Lilian Rose, CRACK CODES, DEVOUR ICED BUNS and vow to bring the villians to justice...It is perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson, Chris Riddell and Enid Blyton.… (more)

» see all 2 descriptions

LibraryThing Author

Katherine Woodfine is a LibraryThing Author, an author who lists their personal library on LibraryThing.

profile page | author page

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
1 avail.
3 wanted

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.04)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5 1
3 2
3.5
4 6
4.5
5 4

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 119,618,065 books! | Top bar: Always visible