HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Blood Passage (Dark Caravan Cycle) by…
Loading...

Blood Passage (Dark Caravan Cycle)

by Heather Demetrios

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
152647,891 (4.67)None

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

Showing 2 of 2
Another book I've put off reading until the final installment of the series was released. Let me just say: it was worth the wait! I love strong heroines who can take on anything and anyone. Much stronger than the men in their lives and just kickass women overall. Nalia fits this bill just fine... if only she weren't bound to the attractive/despicable Malek. The second book in the Dark Caravan was an emotional rollercoaster for me and to be completely honest I don't want the ride to end because I'm 25% into the final book and just... no. Five stars because I felt very real feelings for everyone in this book. (Even Malek!!!!)

P.S. I have a need to visit Morocco one day because of how vivid the scene there were. That part of the world doesn't get enough attention in the YA world. This book reminded me how beautiful and crucial religion can be in its purest form. ( )
  ilonon | Mar 30, 2017 |
This is the second book in a trilogy. Nalia has been freed from her bottle and is no longer Malek's slave. But she has one more of his wishes to fulfill before she is finished with him. Unfortunately, he wishes for the Sigil of Solomon which would allow him to control all jinn. Raif, who is the leader of the jinn revolution and Nalia's love interest, also wants the sigil to help him win the revolution on Arjinna.

The three of them, along with Raif's sister Zanari, travel to Morocco following clues that will lead to the Sigil. The Ifrit who are commanded by Calar want to prevent Nalia and the others from finding the sigil which would lead to her defeat.

Besides the external threat posed by Calar, each of the characters are facing internal struggles. Even though Nalia is the last surviving member of the highest caste of jinn, she has no interest in being the next empress. She wants to rescue her little brother and then live a quiet life. Malek wants Nalia to return his love for her. Raif wants her love and her help in winning his revolution. Zanari is torn between her love for her brother and her love for a new friend who doesn't want to leave Earth. Malek and Raif are sort of rivals for Nalia's love except that Nalia hates Malek and will never love the man who made her a slave and kept her in a bottle.

This story has sad parts, adventurous parts, and romantic parts. I enjoyed the world building and the trials they had to face to get to the Sigil of Solomon. Since it is the middle book in a trilogy, the ending is a cliffhanger. ( )
  kmartin802 | Dec 14, 2016 |
Showing 2 of 2
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0062318594, Hardcover)

Blood Passage is the electrifying second book in the Dark Caravan Cycle—a modern jinni fantasy-adventure trilogy from author Heather Demetrios, perfect for fans of Laini Taylor's Daughter of Smoke and Bone series and Leigh Bardugo's Grisha Trilogy.

When Nalia arrives in Morocco to fulfill Malek's third and final wish, she's not expecting it to be easy. Especially because Malek isn't the only one after Solomon's sigil, an ancient magical ring that gives its wearer the power to control the entire jinn race. Nalia has also promised to take Raif, leader of the jinn revolution, to its remote location. Though Nalia is free of the bottle and shackles that once bound her to Malek as his slave, she's in more danger than ever before and no closer to rescuing her imprisoned brother.

Meanwhile, Malek's past returns with a vengeance, and his well-manicured facade crumbles as he confronts the darkness within himself; and Raif must decide what's more important: his love for Nalia or his devotion to the cause of Arjinnan freedom. 

(retrieved from Amazon Fri, 21 Aug 2015 17:44:41 -0400)

"Nalia and her comrades travel to Morocco to search for Solomon's sigil"--

» see all 2 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
4 wanted

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.67)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3
3.5
4 1
4.5
5 2

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 119,403,624 books! | Top bar: Always visible