HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

False Positive by Andrew Grant
Loading...

False Positive

by Andrew Grant

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
212495,208 (3.9)None

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

Showing 2 of 2
A sins-of-the-father themed thriller that kept me guessing about the good guys as much as the bad. The psychological complexity just kept building with every page, almost past the point of credibility, and I'm still a little unnerved by the ending. It left me wondering (and worried) about what's coming up next.

I received this book for free through Goodreads Giveaways ( )
  wandaly | Jun 30, 2016 |
Detective Cooper Devereaux was called off a suspension to help find a missing 7 yr old boy. He’s a good detective who bends the rules to get the job done. His Lt. knows this and always tries to cover his back. When he arrives in his Lt.’s office he finds that he’s partnered with someone who he doesn’t seem to trust. He’s not quite sure why he’s stuck with her. She has a story of her own that’s pretty interesting.

He’ll stop at nothing to find this missing child, his tactics while trying to solve this case have landed him in hot water again. He’s also battling some old demons that have been brought to the forefront during this case.

I loved this book, it was very fast paced and the many sub-plots kept my interest through the whole book, Mr. Grant did a wonderful job creating this new detective. If you love this genre as much as I do then this is a series you don’t want to miss.

I would like to thank Ballantine Books and NetGalley for providing me with a copy of this e-galley for my honest review. ( )
  sj1335 | Jan 12, 2016 |
Showing 2 of 2
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0345540751, Hardcover)

For fans of Craig Johnson and James Lee Burke—False Positive follows up the powerful punch of Andrew Grant’s novel RUN with a staggering second dose of thrills and suspense that is just as smart, atmospheric, and soul-searing.
 
Alabama detective Cooper Devereaux makes no apologies for his luxe lifestyle or the way he does his job. Most cops haven’t lived the kind of life he has—starting out as an orphan, raised by a grizzled cop savior—and most don’t use his kind of high-risk tactics. But he may have met his match in fellow detective Jan Loflin, who’s fresh off a long undercover stint in Vice when they’re partnered on a case that will test them both beyond their direst nightmares.
 
A seven-year-old boy has disappeared from his home in the Birmingham suburbs. But the more Devereaux digs into the missing child’s background, the more he discovers about his own, eventually shaking loose a series of harrowing truths—about bloodlines, mass murder, obsession, and what two damaged detectives have in common with the innocent victim they’re so desperate to save. This twisty page-turner—the debut of the Detective Cooper Devereaux series—hurtles at a mile a minute through an action-packed search for a missing child, culminating in an ending that no reader will see coming.
 
Praise for Andrew Grant’s RUN
 
“An adrenaline-fueled thrill ride that will have your head spinning and your heart pounding.”—Joseph Finder
 
“High stakes, high tension, and nonstop action . . . Hang on and enjoy this smart, original, and fast-paced adventure.”—Hank Phillippi Ryan
 
“Relentless, twisty, and blistering fast, it’s a book you don’t dare start at bedtime.”—Sean Chercover
 
“A whizbang of a novel with just the right dose of smart-ass.”—Chelsea Cain
 
“Breathtakingly fast-paced.”—Harlan Coben
 
“A perfect thriller—smart, fast, and blazing with nonstop surprises.”—Robert Crais

(retrieved from Amazon Tue, 18 Aug 2015 02:21:09 -0400)

"It's a desperate race against the clock. Detective Demonbruen and his temporary partner, Jan Loflin, seek a missing six-year-old foster child. Demonbruen, himself a survivor of the foster system, is haunted by his own brutal childhood and the death of his father. He labors under a cloud of suspicion, determined to find the missing boy before it's too late. But are his motives really pure? His record is a minefield of red flags and question marks: how is a Birmingham cop able to afford a Porsche, a penthouse, and a summer cabin? Why does he have so much success with the petty criminals who form his network of confidential informants? And is there a legitimate explanation for the multiple excessive-force complaints on his jacket?"--… (more)

» see all 2 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
8 wanted

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.9)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5
3
3.5
4 2
4.5 1
5 1

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 119,562,678 books! | Top bar: Always visible