HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Who Will Hear Me When I Cry: The Tucker…
Loading...

Who Will Hear Me When I Cry: The Tucker Series volume 5

by David Johnson

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
212,551,640 (5)None
Recently added byweber93, JudithDCollins

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

David Johnson returns with his popular Tucker Series with the 5th and final installment, WHO WILL HEAR ME WHEN I CRY, with some much loved old familiar characters, and a new family next door (Ella’s old place), in dire need of some much needed help -- for some laughs, humor, heroes, sacrifices, tragedy, love, and tough life lessons.

Having read all the previous four books in the Tucker series, fell in love with the characters, especially Tucker, and recently discovered the 5th in the series was out --was so excited, had to drop everything to move it to the top. Tucker and side kick Smiley are a dynamic duo, strongly reminding me of Tyler Perry’s Madea, and cast with their humor, wit, and drama. As always, David Johnson delivers a poignant heart-felt story, which will touch your heart.

Fans will of course enjoy the familiar characters of Tucker, Smiley, August, March, and April, the preacher, and others. However, the novel focuses on a poor family who has moved in next door and in desperate need of help. Wow, what a cast of unforgettable characters; however, was hoping for a book centered around August before it ended.

Hard nose Tucker (rough exterior) with a heart of gold (interior) takes the three children under her wing, (she is fearless and protects those she loves), and April with her own drama, problems, and addictions is a mentor for Benjamin Trevathan, the star of the novel. The family is highly dysfunctional, poor, and living a step above homeless, with a no good abusive drunk step father, leaving them with no food.

Benjamin, a young teen with Asperger syndrome, is overweight and suffers from a speech impediment. On top of being bullied at school, he has the care of the world on his shoulders. He has a warm altruistic personality, very intuitive ---taking care of his mom who says she has cancer and watches Elvis movies all day--while he takes care of his two younger siblings, and continues to be verbally and physically abused by his stepfather.

Your heart goes out to poor Benjamin, not allowed to be a normal teen and when a girl on his bus befriends him, he is smitten and a true loyal friend for life. (what beautiful journal entries)! The family needs help and the Tuckers step in to save this family before they implode. You have to love April’s spunk, even though she does make poor choices, and Tucker is one of the "best-of-the best" (just stay away from her bad side, or you may see the ax).

A perfect example: God puts people in our lives for a season, or a reason and this time, there are heroes and those who sacrifice for others. So sad the series is ending, as hoping for more to come!

Fans of Bette Lee Crosby and Catherine Ryan Hyde, will enjoy the Tucker Series, as people reach out to help those in need. Looking forward to seeing what comes next.

The Tucker series is highly recommended-- also landing on my Top 30 Books of 2014.

Tucker's Way #1
An Unexpected Frost #2
April's Rain #3
March On #4 ( )
  JudithDCollins | Jul 18, 2015 |
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

No descriptions found.

No library descriptions found.

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (5)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3
3.5
4
4.5
5 1

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

You are using the new servers! | About | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 116,993,130 books! | Top bar: Always visible