HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

What Remains by Tim Weaver
Loading...

What Remains

by Tim Weaver

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
263415,071 (4.61)None
2015 (1) ab (1) audio (1) B-??? (1) bab (2) Bought 2015 (1) crime (1) eb (1) fiction (3) fiction / crime trash 117 (1) Genre (1) grim (1) series (1) wishlist (1)

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

Showing 3 of 3
To be honest, I simply quite enjoy reading Tim Weaver's David Raker books. This one is #6... and all will be available in the states soon. Weaver has made Raker such an interesting character -- and in every novel there are also an assortment of other well-defined (and some carrying over from previous novels) characters. Raker is a former journalist turned private investigator with a specialty in finding persons who go missing. This novel is unique in that it follows up a brief anecdote mentioned in a previous book; a crime so bad that it destroyed the police detective who failed to solve the murders. Weaver's novels have so many layers and such detail, that I never know where the stories are going -- and sometimes, they keep going beyond the obvious. Love his work... Tim's a young guy, so hope he keeps writing for a long time! ( )
  Randall.Hansen | Apr 5, 2016 |
David Raker Missing Persons Investigator is hoping to help an ex London Met detective Colm Healy find redemption and solve a case that has haunted him for 4 years and ruined his life, his work, and his marriage. That is the basis of this brilliant 500+ page thriller/mystery by up and coming author Tim Weaver and makes for complex yet very rewarding reading. The author had my attention from page one and held me spellbound for just over 2 days with many intelligent twists and changes in the storyline all adding to the tension and concluding in magnificient fashion. I particularly loved the London setting with the imagery and use of old wooden piers and the thrill and sound of victorian amusement arcades. Mr Weaver as an author writes with a great confidence and turns a complex plot into a thrilling ride, I look forward to David Raker's next outing.... ( )
  runner56 | Sep 20, 2015 |
What Remains is the 6th David Raker novel by Tim Weaver. He finds lost people. I've had to order his books from England but it's definitely worth doing so. This book finds Raker teaming up with Healy, a disgraced detective who lost his job, family and self respect after the unsolved murders of a mother and her twin daughters. Twists and turns you don't see coming will keep you reading long into the night! ( )
  Dianekeenoy | Aug 24, 2015 |
Showing 3 of 3
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0718181670, Hardcover)

The bestselling author of the David Raker series, including Fall From Grace and Never Coming Back, is back with a new missing person's sensation investigation. When all has been lost what is there left to find? Colm Healy used to be one of the Met's best detectives. Until, haunted by the unsolved murders of a mother and her twin daughters, his life was left in ruins. His failure to find an elusive killer - or even a motive for such a merciless crime - consumed him, his career and his family. Missing persons investigator David Raker is the only friend Healy has left. The only one who understands that redemption rests on solving these murders. As they reopen the investigation together, Raker learns the hard way how this case breeds obsession - and how an unsolvable puzzle can break even the best detective. Their search will take them down a trail of darkness, unravelling a thread of tragedy spanning years, and will force them to sacrifice everything they have left...No Goodbye. No Trace. Know Weaver. For fans of Broadchurch, The Missing, Michael Connelly and Linwood Barclay. Praise for Tim Weaver: "Weaver's books get better each time - tense, complex, sometimes horrific, written with flair as well as care." (Guardian). "I couldn't put it down." (Sun). "Weaver has delivered another cracking crime thriller." (Daily Mail).

(retrieved from Amazon Wed, 22 Jul 2015 12:13:59 -0400)

Colm Healy used to be a policeman until, haunted by the murder of a young mother and her two children, his life unravels. Then, left with nothing but the hunt for a killer, he disappears. That's when Missing Person's Investigator David Raker gets involved. Raker knows Healy; had tried to help him. But now, instead of getting Healy back on his feet he's got to find him. And it's a search that even Raker's long experience of the missing can prepare him for; a trail of darkness and deceit in which nothing is quite what it seems.… (more)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
1 avail.
1 wanted

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.61)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5 1
3
3.5
4 1
4.5
5 7

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 120,808,205 books! | Top bar: Always visible