HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Beyond the Pond by Joseph Kuefler
Loading...

Beyond the Pond

by Joseph Kuefler

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
735164,469 (4.12)2

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 2 mentions

Showing 5 of 5
Beyond the Pond was written and illustrated by Joseph Kuefler. The book tells the story of a little boy named Ernest who decides to dive into a pond by his house. With his dog, he ventures past different sea creatures such as; sharks, fish, and a squid. He finally comes out o f the cave into a new world filled with some weird creatures. He makes his way back home with the knowledge that there is wonder surrounding him that he will now be aware of. This book will give the students idea of adventure and to want to explore the world to see all of its beauty. ( )
  bwaresam | Nov 9, 2016 |
I read this for the Visual Literacy Assignment. ( )
  mpielak | Mar 10, 2016 |
A brief summary:
One day, Ernest D. decides to explore the pond behind his "ordinary" house. Ernest D. discovers that his pond is endless and gathers his explorer supplies in order to set off on a journey into the unknown. As Ernest D. and his dog dive into the pond, they discover that there is something on the other side. They discover a world filled with unimaginable creatures both big and small and it appears to be filled with endless wonder. When Ernest D. returns to his home, he sees his house and town with a new perspective, realizing that his world is not so ordinary after all.

My personal reaction:
This book is perfect for a young audience as it plays with the natural imaginative and creative nature of children. I enjoy how this book uses words that may be more challenging for younger readers, such as "ghastly" and "raucous" and gives the reader a chance to expand their vocabulary.

A couple of uses:
- Have students imagine a world that is "just for them" and describe what it would be like. Have students illustrate what their world would be like and share it with the class.
- Have students explore the use of the challenging words in this book and add them to their personal dictionary.

Genre:
This book qualifies as fantasy because it features a world where Ernest D. and his dog encounter creatures that are not found in the real world.

Media:
combination of mixed media, photographed textures, Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator ( )
  Lucymae | Mar 6, 2016 |
Narnia meets Where the Wild Things Are in Beyond the Pond, the tale of a young boy embarking of a voyage of the imagination (or is it?). Curious as to what lies in the pond behind his house, Ernest D. decides to explore, diving down and down (with his dog, of course!), until he finally comes to the land on the other side of the pond. Here he has many marvelous adventures, from riding on the back of a massive bird, to fleeing from a rather ghoulish (and giant) primate of some kind. When Ernest and his canine companion finally do return to their side of the pond, their new experiences give everything a different look - a different feeling...

It's difficult to believe that this beautifully-crafted picture-book marks the debut of talented newcomer Joseph Kuefler. With a story that is immensely engaging, capturing a child's creative play, and gorgeous artwork that reminded me of a more colorful Jon Klassen, this was a pleasure to peruse, and one of my favorite picture-books of 2015! Many of the visual details - the shipwreck Ernest passes on his long dive, the mouse astride a tiny unicorn, in the magical land beyond - add to the sense of enchantment, while the overall effect of the artwork is to draw the reader into the world(s) being depicted. The text itself is lovely, with moments of storytelling magic - "He dove into lightless stretches and through sunken treasures" - although I could have lived without Ernest's repeated exclamations of "Exceptional." Recommended to any reader who appreciated beautiful picture-books, or stories in which children are engaged either in imaginative play (depending on your interpretation) or exploration of other worlds. ( )
  AbigailAdams26 | Feb 5, 2016 |
This is for primary readers. I thought this was a wonderful book! It's about a kid who's bored at home and finally decides to see how deep his pond is. It turns out his pond goes on forever. He dives into his pond and finds the other side, which turns out to be a whole new world. This is a fantasy book.
  jessicayambra | Jan 31, 2016 |
Showing 5 of 5
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0062364278, Hardcover)

A stunning picture book about the power of imagination, perfect for fans of Extra Yarn and Journey, from debut author-illustrator Joseph Kuefler.

Just behind an ordinary house
filled with too little fun,
Ernest D. decides that today will be the day he explores the depths of his pond.

Beyond the pond, he discovers a not-so-ordinary world that will change him forever.

(retrieved from Amazon Tue, 28 Jul 2015 17:21:16 -0400)

A boy discovers that the pond in his backyard contains a whole world ready to be explored.

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
9 wanted

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.12)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 3
3.5 1
4 6
4.5 3
5 4

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 119,592,501 books! | Top bar: Always visible