HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Company You Keep (movie tie-in): A Novel…
Loading...

The Company You Keep (movie tie-in): A Novel (edition 2013)

by Neil Gordon

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
1293133,431 (3.68)None
Member:kelsia3
Title:The Company You Keep (movie tie-in): A Novel
Authors:Neil Gordon
Info:Penguin Books (2013), Edition: Reprint, Paperback, 416 pages
Collections:Read but unowned
Rating:
Tags:None

Work details

The Company You Keep by Neil Gordon

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

Showing 3 of 3
For a thriller, it was a bit dense. For a historical mystery, I loved it. It took some commitment to get the connections but the characterizations were strong and all of the narrators were compelling. At the end, I needed to read the acknowledgements to understand that this was a fictional story. ( )
  jmellman | Mar 28, 2018 |
Halfway through and compulsive. Yet perhaps it alludes to a mystery which will never quite be revealed. ( )
  adrianburke | May 5, 2015 |
Recommended by Jamie Citron, 5/13/14
  JennyArch | May 14, 2014 |
Showing 3 of 3
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (1)

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0142004529, Paperback)

Now a major motion picture directed by Robert Redford and starring Shia LaBeouf, Susan Sarandon, Julie Christie, Terence Howard, Anna Kendrick, Nick Nolte, and Stanley Tucci

It is 2006. Seventeen-year-old Isabel Montgomery starts to receive emails from her father, a man who had abandoned her in a hotel room ten years ago when his past finally caught up with him. Why has he contacted her now? Because he needs her help and is finally ready to reveal the truth. Over the course of the next month, further emails arrive telling her more about her family's past. Isabel discovers that her father adopted a false identity in the hope of avoiding murder charges for a robbery gone wrong in 1974. By 1996, with a marriage falling apart around him, he is one last Vietnam-era fugitives still wanted by the law. When he is finally tracked down by a young newspaper reporter in search of a story he must abandon years of safe underground life in an attempt to exonerate himself. Set against the rise and fall of the radical anti-war group the Weather Underground, The Company You Keep is a sweeping American saga about sacrifice, the righteousness of youth, and the tension between political ideals and family loyalties.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:04:37 -0400)

(see all 2 descriptions)

A smart, action-packed political thriller, perfect for fans of John Le Carre. The movie, starring and directed by Robert Redford, is due for release in late 2012.

(summary from another edition)

» see all 3 descriptions

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.68)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2 1
2.5 2
3 4
3.5
4 8
4.5 2
5 4

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 129,549,067 books! | Top bar: Always visible