Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Holes by Louis Sachar

Holes (original 1998; edition 2008)

by Louis Sachar

Series: Holes (1)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations / Mentions
14,472648138 (4.07)1 / 294
Summary: This book is a novel about the main character that is sent to a detention camp because of being accused of stealing a pair of shoes. The story then goes on to tell his experience at the detention camp.
Personal Reaction: I enjoyed reading this book when I was in school because I hated reading but this book kept me interested.
Extension: This book could be a good way to get kids to start reading novels in the classroom.
  kimlien91 | Apr 25, 2012 |
English (637)  Dutch (5)  German (2)  Swedish (1)  French (1)  Finnish (1)  All languages (647)
Showing 1-25 of 637 (next | show all)
I liked the book Holes because of the characters and the setting. Stanley Yelnats is an unlikely hero in this book. Stanley “was overweight and the kids at this middle school often teased him about his size. Even his teachers sometimes made cruel comments without realizing it” (p. 7). Although he was unpopular in school and his family was broke, he ended up removing the bad luck from his family and exposing the corrupt owners of Camp Greenlake. He changed from what people saw as unimportant to someone who not only changed his life for the better but also the lives of those around him. The setting of the story, Camp Greenlake, is a very interesting place to set the story. The name of the camp is deceiving: “The land was barren and desolate. He could see a few run-down buildings and some tents…Those two trees were the only plant life he could see” (p. 11). This contradiction intrigues readers into why this correctional camp is the way it is, which the author slowly reveals throughout the novel. The main message of this book is that fate has great power to determine events. The curse on the Yelnats spanned several generations, and it was still powerfully affecting the lives of the current Yelnats in the book. ( )
  dknox5 | Oct 7, 2015 |
I liked this book for two reasons. One reason why I liked this book was because of the characters. he characters were very well developed and believable. They all had their own personalities and nicknames that made them special and memorable. My favorite character was armpit because he was so funny and they called him that because he smelt like an armpit. Another reason why I liked this book was because of the plot. There was conflict along with a solution. It was well organized and the pace was fast enough where it wasn't dragging on but slow enough for the readers to understand it. I think the main idea of this book is about friendship and supporting your friends like Stanley and Zero did. ( )
  athomp33 | Oct 6, 2015 |
I absolutely love this book. When I was in the 5th grade, we read this book and watched the movie. I loved it so much I kept rereading and re-watching the movie, and now I read it again! I really like the events that take place around plot and the characters of the book. I liked the events around the plot because it was like no other that I have read before. For example, when the young men aka "prisoners" got sent to this type of camp I guess you could call it, they had to dig holes 5 feet deep and 5 feet wide all day long, they only got a certain amount of water and food, etc. The characters of the book are so funny and put together very well. For example, Stanley Yelnats is the main character of the book and is the one who figures out why they are told to do all the digging that they do. The funniest thing that I think about Stanley is, is his name. its backwards and you figure that out in the books when we teaches his friend how to read. I believe that the big picture of this book is that everything happens for a reason. When Stanley took that pair of shoes in the beginning of the chapter he was caught and sent to this horrible place, but then in the end of it all he made wonderful friends and made him and his family rich by the treasure that belonged to him all along. ( )
  BrianaFries | Oct 6, 2015 |
Stanley and his family have had nothing but bad luck throughout their life. When Stanley was falsely accused of theft, he was sent to Camp Green Lake- a juvenile detention facility. The juveniles there are required to dig a whole each day five feet wide by five feet deep as a requirement, for what the boys thought was, to "build character". This is an amazing book. It is very suspenseful, interesting and always keeps the reader wanting more. Sachar made it easy to connect to the characters and develop real feelings towards every single one of them. It just seems so realistic with all the nicknames given to the boys and their personalities. It's a great read for young adults because it shows what greed can really do to a person. ( )
  AmellDubbaneh | Oct 6, 2015 |
This is an awesome book for the upper grades in elementary schools. I liked this book because of the interesting plot. It always keeps you guessing about what is going to happen next. An example would be when Zero runs away from the camp, and a few days later Stanley goes to find him. The suspense of wondering whether or not they will find one another keeps the reader hooked. The characters are all well-developed because even though it is a chapter book, the author uses descriptive language when describing each character to help the reader better understand the character's personality. The message of the book is honesty and perseverance. Stanley always stayed honest and truthful when he was wrongly accused of the crime. Then after being accused, he persevered and worked as hard as he could and it eventually paid off.
  bemory1 | Oct 1, 2015 |
I love this book because it has very original themes and ideas that you don't see in just any book. The character development is really evident. For example, in the beginning of the story, Stanley has a much more negative mindset and isn't very knowledgeable about what's going on around him. By the end of the story he is much stronger and more aware of how people/the world works. I would say the main themes are honesty and dedication/sticking with something. ( )
  Ajohns93 | Sep 24, 2015 |
This winner of the Newbery Medal and the National Book Award features Stanley Yelnats, a kid who is under a curse. A curse that began with his no-good-dirty-rotten-pig-stealing-great-great-grandfather and has since followed generations of Yelnats. Now Stanley has been unjustly sent to a boys' detention center, Camp Green Lake, where the warden makes the boys "build character" by spending all day, every day, digging holes five feet wide and five feet deep. It doesn't take long for Stanley to realize there's more than character improvement going on at Camp Green Lake: the warden is looking for something. Stanley tries to dig up the truth in this inventive and darkly humorous tale of crime and punishment-and redemption.. (amazon).
  AmyStepaniuk | Sep 17, 2015 |
This is a great book for kids who don't particularly like to read. It's a story about friendships and overcoming obstacles. The story is so strange, and yet we've all know people just like the characters in the story. We've all experienced the same dilemmas. Do you take the fall for the greater good? Do you lie or snitch on a friend? Is it possible to put someone else's feelings before your own? Can you succeed when it looks impossible? All of these questions are answered by the characters in this story. All boys should read this book. ( )
  valorrmac | Aug 19, 2015 |
This young adult book was a very quick read - I finished it in one day. It made me very sad at times but that was replaced by many smiles. In short, it was a good story - enough said! ( )
1 vote TheresaCIncinnati | Aug 17, 2015 |
My 9-year-old and I listened to this book on CD during a few long car rides; it's a book I wanted to read just to be able to have said that I read it, as so many of my students recommend it to me and each other. When my son and I stayed in a parked car for over 45 minutes because we couldn't wait to find out what would happen next, I realized that we needed to read instead of listen to the rest. I turned off the car, dealt with my loudly and angrily protesting child, and pulled out a paperback copy. We finished the whole second half read-aloud style over a period of 3 hours tonight, and we both felt amazed at what a truly excellent story it was.

We didn't mean to put Lightning Thief off for a night, as we're loving that, but neither of us could stop with this one.

Holes captivated us and impressed me with its clever resolution and tying up of every loose end. I love Sachar's ability to weave a somewhat complex story with vocabulary and sentence structure that makes it perfectly accessible to children at the 4th-6th grade reading levels. A very worthwhile read. ( )
  engpunk77 | Aug 10, 2015 |
*sniff* My childhood... ( )
  KillerCorp | Jul 27, 2015 |
Some books blow me away with plot twists. Others hook me with characters. With HOLES, it was the structure that got me, and how well the structure relates to the subject matter of the story. In HOLES, Sachar presents a story that's chock full of literal and figurative holes--the ones being dug by Stanley and his friends as well as the bits of plot that are seem to be missing at first, but which get filled in as we go along. We'd seen that before from Sachar with SIDEWAYS STORIES FROM WAYSIDE SCHOOL--a collection comprised of stories with a strange tilt on reality, all set in a school that's comprised of stories that have been turned on their side. It's an amazing literary device. ( )
  tem2 | Jul 26, 2015 |
Boys who commit crimes are sent to camp green lake to dig holes and think about what they have done. Camp green lake is located in a barren dessert and contains very dangerous animals. And the warden isn't nice either. Stanley was arrested for a crime he did not commit, but was hoping this camp would be fun. His family swears they've been cursed with bad luck. his father is a unsuccessful inventor that is trying to cure foot odor. After digging many holes Stanley realizes they are digging holes because the warden is looking for something. It tells the story of how is great grandfather was cursed. Stanley and Zero find a suitcase that has the name Stanley Yelnats on it.Stanley's lawyer, Ms. Morengo, arrives to say that Stanley has been proven innocent and Stanley and Hector are able to leave the camp with the suitcase. It turns out that the suitcase contains many valuable items.The curse is lifted. Hector is reunited with his mother, from whom he was separated many years ago and stanley has made a new forever friend.Camp green lake ended up being a good thing.
Personal Reaction:
Everything happens for a reason, and this shows that. Just because it seemed all bad doesn't mean you cant find any good out of it.
Classroom Extensions:
1. The kids can invent things
2. The kids can dig wholes and pretend they are at camp green lake
  am925642 | Jul 20, 2015 |
Holes is a fantastic book about a boy who comes from a rather unlucky family. He is sent to a juvenile facility after he is falsely accused of stealing shoes. The facility was a work camp and the dug holes under the impression that it was just for punishment when in all actuality the warden was looking for something the book never states. Stanley faces many issues while in the facility and he learns to overcome them and he makes some really great friends along the way.

Personal: I like this book, it really shows how to overcome adversity and how to be a great friend. The book is extremely well written and the wording is great.

Extension: A good thing I would do in any setting with children is have them think of something really special and have them write down or say what makes it special and who they would share that something special with.
  M_Graham | Jul 6, 2015 |
Good book! Relationships were genuine and karma was real in this story! ( )
  rebeccar76 | Jun 24, 2015 |
Wow! A wonderful book because it was amazing. ( )
  Moodido | Jun 14, 2015 |
Holes is a book about a boy name stanley who has bad luck. One day he had to go to camp green lake and he thought it would be really fun. He had to dig holes every single day. He wanted to leave but he found something a book that said his name. Stanley and Zero his best friend at the camp had to hid it but the wordan found out and she wanted it. Stanley said no and called his lawer and she came and brought Stanley and Zero home. Zero got to see his Mom and Sanley stayed with his family.

Holes was a really good book i willl really love to read it again. The auther really knows how to write a book because it was amazing. I think that all schools should let kids read this book. At first i didnt like it but i kept on reading the book . I loved it and i told people to read it and they loved it to. ( )
  EdselC.B1 | May 29, 2015 |
Read my review of the audiobook version of this 1999 Newbery Medalist at http://newberryproject.blogspot.com/2007/09/holes-1999.html. This is plot-driven realistic fiction that children really do enjoy reading.
  rdg301library | May 24, 2015 |
Holes is a book about a boy who comes from a rather unlucky family. the plot of the story is the boy is sent to a juvenile detention facility in the middle of the Texas desert. he is sent there because he was accused of stealing some shoes which he hadn't but since his family was so poor the only choice he had was to go to a juvenile detention facility. the facility he was going to made the kids there do extremely hard work it was that they had to dig holes in a dried up lake looking for some thing that the book doesn't state. when the boy arrives he carbine has 4 other kids in it 3 of them are talkative while one named zero never talks later on in the book while the boy is out digging they the workers bring a truck full of water so they can refill there bottles so what the boy and his new found friends do is the knock out the driver and steal the truck they drove in circles and all over the digging field until they drove into a hole and then the guard woke up and punished them to extended digging hours with less water so in turn that provoked one of the boys to decide to flee from the facility and try his luck out in the desert and the boy was zero so this made the main character get sad because him and the boy were good friends and he feared that zero would die in the desert so the boy went out ran away to and began his search for his friend after hours of walking in the desert he found a wooden thing in the sad so he went up to it and found an entrance he entered and to his surprise he found zero who was seeping with a bunch of jars around him he woke his friend and asked him if he was ok and zero said he was fine because he found the thing they were in and it had jars of an unknown substance which they both liked so they stayed there until the ran out of the jars of stuff and the main character told zero about a oasis legend and they began a journey for it they found it and stayed there for a while until they decided to go back to the juvenile detention facility. when they arrived the main character found his parents there and the had a lawyer and a few cops with them and zero and his friend found out that they are now free to go.

I gave this book the rating it has because it is a very good book. I think its a good book because it has a very good plot line to it. I also enjoyed the vivid details it gave because they weren't to much but not to little also they were just the right amount. I hope to read this book again sometime soon and understand it more. I hope you find this book as enjoyable as I did. ( )
  nicholasvb1 | May 11, 2015 |
This book would be good to use when talking about how to deal with unfair situations. I think students will like this book because of the main character and the other characters in the camp. ( )
  Kate_Schulte078 | May 5, 2015 |
This book is about a young man named Stanley who goes to a correctional camp called camp Green Lake. He has had bad luck since he was young. His whole family is cursed due to his great grandfather who got cursed. Due to this he is stuck at a camp were there is an evil warden. He learns a lot about himself and he learns to stand up for himself. He then realizes that he is more important than ever and he also fixes the curse in his family and he is finally free from his bad luck.
  margaritamunoz14 | May 4, 2015 |
Holes is one of my favorite books of all time. I remember reading the book in the third grade and now thirteen years later I still love the book just as much. Sachar did an amazing job with the entire thing. I believe the part that I liked most about the book was that everything in the end was tied together. It takes a very talented author to keep the readers attention through the entire book with so many twists and turns and still make the ending make sense. For example in the end the reader finds out that Zero is related to Madam Zeroni who is the woman that put the curse on the Yelnats family. This revelation gave so much more meaning to the friendship that Zero and Stanley had while they we at the camp together.
Another aspect of the story that I really enjoyed were the flashbacks. It is often confusing sometimes for the reader to have flashbacks in the story. Sachar made the transition from the present at the camp to the past with Madam Zeroni. A smooth transition between the two really helps to keep the reader engaged in the story. It also helps them to get the main idea of the story because they don’t constantly have to be thinking about where in the story that they are.
While the story telling in the novel really adds to it, the best part of the novel is by far the main theme of friendship. The boys at the camp all form a tight knit family like group. They help each other through very difficult times in their lives. One of the most important friendships in the book is between Stanley and Zero. This friendship actually ends up saving both of their lives. This story teaches the reader that friendships are important and they can have a great impact on your life. ( )
  Khammersla | May 3, 2015 |
I really liked this book because the themes within. The main idea was everything happens for a reason. Every child needs to understand that everything in life happens for a reason, and will work itself out. Stanley always believes that he is unlucky and in the wrong place at the wrong time, but at the end it fulfilled the prophecy between the Yelnats and Zeroni families. Also, this book had a lot to do with friendships, which is something that is very important to me. Stanley and Zero's friendship lead to their mutual survival and wealth. ( )
  sceres1 | May 3, 2015 |
Summary: Stanley and his whole family is cursed with extremely bad luck. And after a sprout of that bad luck he is sent to a juvenile detention camp where he is expected to build character and serve his time. Here he meets many other young boys that have had their own hardships and were sentenced to the same fate. The warden has the boys dig holes in order to build character but in reality she is trying to find a long lost treasure from many years ago. The story switches between the past and the present at Camp Green Lake and gives the reader an inside look to the history of the camp.

Personal connection: I read this book in fifth grade as my first "older book". This was the first "big kid" book I read, and my teacher highly recommended it to me. I loved that the story switched back and forth between time and could relate to the angst and feelings of the youth at the camp.

Class use: Use this book to also teach about racism because that was the background story of the book. ( )
  allisonpollack | Apr 30, 2015 |
The book Holes is about a family that is cursed by not fulfilling a promise between two people in the past the Yelnats and the Zeroni’s. This curse ends up affecting the people’s future relatives Stanley and Zero in different ways. At the end of the book Zero and Stanley become good friends and are reunited with their families. The big idea of this book is that fate feel like it always interjects in the lives of these families to bring them together, as well as showing how being mean to others change them.

One reason I like this book is how it relates what happens in the past can reflect on future events. An example from the book would be when Kissin Kate Barlow robbed Stanley’s great-great-grandfather and Stanley ends up in Camp Green Lake because the Warden is trying to find the suitcase that she stole. Another reason I like this book is that they use different names for the same characters to change their personalities. An example of this is Kate Barlow which sounds like a nice church going ladies name and then calling her Kissin Kate Barlow which sounds like a criminal. Overall I enjoyed reading this book and seeing how the story differed from the movie. ( )
  bwinte3 | Apr 28, 2015 |
Showing 1-25 of 637 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
672 avail.
11 wanted
3 pay14 pay

Popular covers


Average: (4.07)
0.5 1
1 30
1.5 14
2 128
2.5 34
3 617
3.5 171
4 1353
4.5 224
5 1293


2 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.


Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 99,780,551 books! | Top bar: Always visible