HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Holes by Louis Sachar
Loading...

Holes (original 1998; edition 2008)

by Louis Sachar

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations / Mentions
14,035616148 (4.07)1 / 286
Summary: This book is a novel about the main character that is sent to a detention camp because of being accused of stealing a pair of shoes. The story then goes on to tell his experience at the detention camp.
Personal Reaction: I enjoyed reading this book when I was in school because I hated reading but this book kept me interested.
Extension: This book could be a good way to get kids to start reading novels in the classroom.
  kimlien91 | Apr 25, 2012 |
English (605)  Dutch (5)  German (2)  Swedish (1)  French (1)  Finnish (1)  All languages (615)
Showing 1-25 of 605 (next | show all)
As a younger child, I absolutely loved the novel Holes by Louis Sachar. So, reading this book again as an adult is no different. I still love this story for many reasons. I thought that the characters were believable and well developed. My favorite character Zero, is initially described as having “nothing in his head” (pg. 19). However, as the story progresses the audience finds out that although Zero doesn’t know how to read, he is extremely good at math, and is very perceptive. In the end, Zero finally defends himself against the cruel Mr. Pendanski by smashing his shovel in his face. Not only does Zero learn to read, but also we see his character change from being seen as unintelligent and quiet to just introverted and very smart. I also believe that the main theme of fate and friendship really enhances the story, and makes it relatable for the readers. Even though Stanley is described to be unlucky, it’s a twist of fate at the end when the suitcase has Stanley Yelnats full name on it. The reunification of the Zeroni’s and the Yelnats is directly related to fate and friendship. Zero was the one who stole the Clyde Levingston sneakers and threw them on a parked car, which eventually fell on Stanley Yelnats, who was convicted for stealing the Clyde Levingston sneakers. These events lead the boys to Cam Green Lake, where they eventually become friends and bring their families together again. This book is so rich with themes, and symbolism that I believe this story is perfect for young adults. ( )
  ShakelaWilliams | Mar 24, 2015 |
I thought that this was a great book for several reasons. It had an interesting message, in which the main character, Stanley Yelnats, reached his destiny. I really liked the descriptive writing because it helped to paint a picture in my head since this is a chapter book without illustrations. For instance, page 11 described Camp Greenlake as “barren and desolate….Those two trees were the only plant life he could see,” which gave me a clear picture of a dessert. I also liked the plot of the story and logical series of events. The author didn’t immediately explain the crime Stanley committed that got him into the camp, but later the pieces tie together and the reader learns that Stanley’s fate must all be because of his curse that was brought by his great-great grandfather. Therefore, the series of events make sense which makes the book enjoyable and very entertaining to read. ( )
  akoches | Mar 23, 2015 |
My only regret with this book is that I never read it sooner! I watched the movie years ago, and loved it, and also loved comparing and contrasting between the book. I felt very emotionally connected with the characters while reading, especially Stanley and Zero. They both seem to have been either falsely accused of crimes, and also being misunderstood. I felt anger when reading how horrible the warden treated all of the boys, but was then happy once the boys rebelled by doing things like stealing their truck and running away. This book had a lot of adventure, which kept me motivated to keep reading. Although there were some sad parts to the story, I knew there would be a happy ending since the characters were all good people and did the right things to keep themselves out of trouble. The message of this book is to stick up for yourself and others when you feel is right because the results are always appropriate for the situation. All the boys who were mistreated, were given an opportunity to make things right. For Stanley, he was proven innocent, and was compensated for the time he spent at the harsh camp. This book taught me about the importance of friendships and holding your ground when necessary, which is why I would recommend this book to any one looking to read an inspirational and uplifting, yet exciting, story! ( )
  Milina_Moreno | Mar 13, 2015 |
This realistic tale expresses how digging holes in a correctional facility to benefit the warden pays off for the boys. This is a great tale about hardwork, wit, and friendship.
  harleybrenton | Mar 12, 2015 |
This book is full of suspense and events, which gives for an easy read and keeps readers wanting to read more. The descriptions of the places and events allows the readers to actually picture it in their head. I also like that this book is relate-able to many readers who have been punished for something they didn't do.
  bmille16 | Mar 5, 2015 |
I loved this book about Stanley's journey at Camp Green Lake. It is a classic book about a new friendship built while struggling to get through a hard time. This book would be great for 5th or 6th grade. It is very entertaining and would really grasp the students' attention. ( )
  Hhaddad1 | Mar 3, 2015 |
Stanley Yelnats and his family has very bad luck because of his no-good-dirty-filthy-pig-stealing-great-stealing-great-great-grandfather. Stanley Yelnats is misunderstood and blamed for a crime he did not commit, stealing shoes that fell on him while he was walking one day. Once he was sent away to dig holes, he learned a lot about different people, learned from those people, and realized that even though those kids were doing time for different things, they were still good people and became his close friends. The book challenges readers to imagine what the text is saying. ( )
  bl200329 | Mar 1, 2015 |
Holes is a story about Stanley Yelnats. Stanley and his family has very bad luck because of his no-good-filthy-pig-stealing-great-great-grandfather. His father is trying to find a use for old tennis shoes. One day Stanley was walking home from school, and a pair of stinky shoes fell from the sky, and he took it as a sign so he took them home to his dad. Little did he know that those shoes were a famous athletes shoes, so a police officer stopped him on his way home and arrested him. After his trial, there was a decision that Stanley would spend 18 months at Camp Green Lake. Once Stanely got to Camp. He learned that he would be digging Holes for the whole 18 months that he was at camp. One day he found a tube of lipstick that he gave to one of his camp members. A couple of weeks later, Stanley and his friend Zero, ran away from camp. Thay ran away from camp and almost died in the desert. They found refuge "in God's thumb". When they decided to return to camp, they found a treasure chest from Kissin' Kate Barlow, and they shut down Camp Green Lake for unfair treatment of minors. While the story of Stanley was bring told, they were jumping back and forth between the past, and the story of Camp Green Lake 110 years ago. There was a lot of overlap of the two stories and the families of Stanley and Zero. Genre: realistic fiction. There were realistic characters with fictional events. ( )
  amassingale | Feb 28, 2015 |
Stanley Yelnats gets caught with a pair of shoes that is thrown over a bridge. He gets sent to a work camp for boys. All they do there is dig holes trying to find missing treasure. It turns out a huge adventure involving Stanley's great grandfather will take place there.
  RachelHollingsworth | Feb 27, 2015 |
I love this book because the three intertwined plots adds an interesting and unusual twist that makes it unique. I like the Sachar reveals the historical plots in lumps, intermittently with the present-day storyline. This allows you to figure out the events along with Stanley, rather than having the surprise revealed in the beginning. I also liked how well-developed the characters and relationships in the story are. The book details the main character's social struggles, even though it may not have been directly related to the plot. These realistic conflicts will help readers relate to the characters. The message of the book is that you are in charge of your own destiny. ( )
  agaski3 | Feb 26, 2015 |
I enjoyed Holes for many different reasons. First, the plot was filled with suspense and conflict, which keeps readers engaged. The mysterious features throughout the story causes readers to keep their interest. For example, Stanley's no-good-dirty-roten-pig-stealing-great-great-grandfather's curse had a large affect on his daily life. Throughout reading the novel, readers are constantly interested in where the curse will lead and where Stanley will end up. Additionally, I also enjoyed the language of the book. While there are serious, terrifying, and suspenseful scenes throughout the book, there are also funny and exciting ones as well. The variety of language keeps readers interested as well. The overall message of the novel conveys the important of friendship and justice. Additionally, the past and present affect each other, while the good always wins against the evil. ( )
  aholli3 | Feb 26, 2015 |
Holes is a book that I can re visit time and time again and see it in a new light. I read this book in elementary school and did a project on it in college. Each time I learned something new about the characters. Stanley Yelnats is the main character who struggles with the family curse. Later in the book, we find out why his great great grandfather was cursed. Many students can relate to Stanley because he is punished for something he did not do. Students can find themselves in this book and I think that is why it is so popular. ( )
  SadieCooney | Feb 24, 2015 |
I believe this is a great read for elementary and middle school students for a number of reasons. The language used by the author allows readers to get to know Stanley Yelnats, a young boy sent to a juvenile summer camp for a crime he did not commit. The writing smoothly flowed between Stanley's experience at Camp Greenlake and flashbacks to Green Lake hundreds of years before the drought to construct the relationship between Stanley and his ancestors that lived long before him. The book pushes readers to think about tough issues such as race, criminality, and abuse but are addressed in an underlying manner that remains lighthearted to readers. This book stresses the overall message that people are in charge of their lives and define their own destinies. ( )
  ajohns75 | Feb 19, 2015 |
Stanley Yelnats is an overweight teenager and a victim of bullying when a pair of old sneakers belonging to a famous sports person falls from the sky. He brings them home to his father who is working on a plan to recycle old sneakers. This sounds pretty normal except a curse started by his great great great grandfather has followed his family for generations (or so they believe). They are sometimes at the wrong place at the wrong time. Stanley is arrested for stealing the sneakers and is sent to a horrible detention home posing as a camp for boys. There he is forced to dig a hole 5 feet deep by five feet wide every single day in the blazing sun. His problems are intensified when he must learn to deal with bullies there too, not only from his peers but also from the sadistic adults.
In his middle-grade story, Holes, Louis Sachar touches many relevant issues: bullying, child abuse, racism, forgiveness and friendship being the most prominent. Three different stories spanning several generations are expertly woven into each other and neatly tucked in together at the end.
Despite the realistic backdrop, the author chose a fairy-tale ending to his story, a bit disconcerting considering the issues presented. The book is a great read and understandably, a sure winner for younger readers.
( )
  BooksUncovered | Feb 17, 2015 |
There are two reasons I like the book Holes. First, I like the language used in this novel because it is easy to comprehend and is in the point of view of a young boy. By having it in the point of view of Stanley, this allows the reader to keep track of what events are occurring throughout. In addition, this book pushes the reader to think of Stanley as an everyday person who encounters struggles like any other student. Lastly, I enjoy how the author illustrates the scenery of the book. With every sentence used, the author allows the reader to take the place of Stanley and feel his vulnerability. The big idea I took from this book is to always be kind to others because, if you are kind to someone it is likely that they will be kind to you. ( )
  anunez1 | Feb 5, 2015 |
Have you ever got blamed for something you didn’t do?
Well read this book by Louis Sachar called Holes. Stanley Yelnats is a cursed boy because of his great-great-grandfather. Stanley got send to a horrible place called Camp Green Lake. He got sent there because of a boy named Zero stole some shoes and was scared because the police was following behind him. So Zero dropped the shoes down the highway and it hit Stanley on the head and the police caught him and he got blamed for it. I really liked this book because it’s funny and that after you’re done with the book you could watch the movie which is pretty good. Louis Sachar is an award winning author and writes fictional educational books for children. I recommend this book to anyone because it’s a really funny book and it have a movie after it. ( )
  Princess_Chrishanda | Feb 4, 2015 |
This is one of my favorite books of all time. It is filled with little mysteries that all culminate to solve one huge problem. I love how all the little details that you didn't think were really significant come together at the end of the book. It made me want to go all the way back to page one and re-read the entire book immediately! I have read this book many times. This book is a great read for anyone from age 12 and up. This is also one of the rare books that I feel was successfully translated in a movie format. ( )
  rjc146 | Jan 23, 2015 |
A bit too grim for my taste, but certainly inventive. ( )
  Audacity88 | Jan 15, 2015 |
Hulde voor de moed, vriendschap en inventivitiet van Holbewoner en Zero, maar de echte escape komt toch van deus ex machina: de uitvinding en advocaat. ( )
  EMS_24 | Dec 15, 2014 |
This book is of good quality because it shows kids making the best out of a horrible situation. A a bunch of boys who have been sentenced to live and work in this camp create their own makeshift family in order to survive. They have no loving parent there, so they support each other. By the end, they're all any of them has got. It teaches the reader that if you believe that you can get through something, like being falsely imprisoned, you will. ( )
  hphipp2 | Dec 5, 2014 |
I liked the chapter book, “Holes.” The main idea of this story if to tell the account of one boy's journey in being mistook as a criminal and being cursed with bad luck. One reason why I enjoyed reading this chapter book is because of how this story was told in a third person narrative. Readers can get a sense that they are watching a movie and imagine as if the scene was happening right before them. The book challenges readers to imagine what the text is saying. For example, “ 'You want to run away!' Mr Sir asked him. Stanley looked back at him, unsure what he meant. 'If you want to run away, go ahead, start running, I'm not going to stop you.' Stanley didn't know what kind of game Mr. Sir was playing.” Another reason why I enjoyed this book is because of the development of the problem in the story. It was like a sigh of relief when I read how Stanley was accused at the beginning of the story and how he was cursed with bad luck to reading how Stanley solved of his problems and broke the curse. The book was able to offer mystery and give many “aha!” exciting moments to readers. This book is a good read for those who like a bit of humorous mystery and adventure. ( )
  yyoon4 | Dec 4, 2014 |
“Holes” has always been a favorite of mine because of all the elements involved and the humor of it.
  Madison_DeWeerdt | Dec 4, 2014 |
In my opinion, the book, “Holes” is a great chapter book for older children to read. It is a fun book to read because of its unique and comical storyline. This book has a suspenseful plot that is unpredictable. The story is about an unlucky boy named Stanley Yelnats. Because of a curse that was given to his great-great-grandfather, Stanley gets accused of stealing a pair of shoes. He is sent to Camp Green Lake, a jail-like place for teenage boys. Stanley is expected to dig holes all day. He makes friends with one boy named Hector. In the story, the two decide to leave the camp. Stanley’s curse eventually comes to an end. Stanley and Hector find treasure that the camp counselors have been trying to find. Interestingly, the treasure box has Stanley’s name on it, and Stanley inherits all of the money. Stanley shares the money with Hector, and they both live happily ever after with their families. The book uses very descriptive language throughout the story. For example, “During the summer the daytime temperature hovers around ninety-five degrees in the shade – if you can find any shade. There's not much shade in a big dry lake. The only trees are two old oaks to the eastern edge of the ‘lake.’ A hammock is stretched between the two trees, and a log cabin stands behind that. The campers are forbidden to lie in the hammock. It belongs to the Warden. The Warden owns the shade.” This story broadens students’ perspectives about honesty. In the beginning of the story, Stanley is always “at the wrong place at the wrong time,” but he always tells the truth. The big idea is to show children that they should tell the truth. ( )
  sstelz2 | Dec 4, 2014 |
In my opinion, the book "Holes" is a great book for young readers. One thing I liked about this book was that it has also been made into a movie. While I do like that the writing of the book allows for interpretation of the reader to determine the way things look and are depicted, the movie is a great compliment and puts faces to the characters. Another thing I liked about this book was that the book had a good flow to it and the writing was very consistent. This would be good for students who have read a few chapter books, but are getting used to different styles of authors writing. I also really liked all of the morals and lessons that are in this story. From the beginning, the main character, Stanley, is misunderstood and blamed for a crime he did not commit. Once he was sent away to dig holes, he learned a lot about different people, learned from those people, and realized that even though those kids were doing time for different things, they were still good people and became his close friends. it is important not to judge people based on their past, but to think of what they have done to better themselves in the present and how they treat others. The big idea of this story was to value others, learn from experiences, and to be cautious of your actions. ( )
  khendr4 | Dec 4, 2014 |
Possibly my favorite children's novelist and easily my favorite book by him. A hilariously honest and real book. Full of heartbreak and triumph, it is everything that a reader could want in a book. ( )
  Andymcclellan_93 | Dec 3, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 605 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.07)
0.5 1
1 28
1.5 14
2 119
2.5 34
3 598
3.5 169
4 1320
4.5 220
5 1254

Audible.com

2 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 96,298,279 books! | Top bar: Always visible