HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Holes by Louis Sachar
Loading...

Holes (original 1998; edition 2008)

by Louis Sachar

Series: Holes (1)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations / Mentions
13,942599148 (4.08)1 / 281
kimlien91's review
Summary: This book is a novel about the main character that is sent to a detention camp because of being accused of stealing a pair of shoes. The story then goes on to tell his experience at the detention camp.
Personal Reaction: I enjoyed reading this book when I was in school because I hated reading but this book kept me interested.
Extension: This book could be a good way to get kids to start reading novels in the classroom.
  kimlien91 | Apr 25, 2012 |
All member reviews
English (588)  Dutch (5)  German (2)  Swedish (1)  French (1)  Finnish (1)  All languages (598)
Showing 1-25 of 588 (next | show all)
Hulde voor de moed, vriendschap en inventivitiet van Holbewoner en Zero, maar de echte escape komt toch van deus ex machina: de uitvinding en advocaat. ( )
  EMS_24 | Dec 15, 2014 |
This book is of good quality because it shows kids making the best out of a horrible situation. A a bunch of boys who have been sentenced to live and work in this camp create their own makeshift family in order to survive. They have no loving parent there, so they support each other. By the end, they're all any of them has got. It teaches the reader that if you believe that you can get through something, like being falsely imprisoned, you will. ( )
  hphipp2 | Dec 5, 2014 |
I liked the chapter book, “Holes.” The main idea of this story if to tell the account of one boy's journey in being mistook as a criminal and being cursed with bad luck. One reason why I enjoyed reading this chapter book is because of how this story was told in a third person narrative. Readers can get a sense that they are watching a movie and imagine as if the scene was happening right before them. The book challenges readers to imagine what the text is saying. For example, “ 'You want to run away!' Mr Sir asked him. Stanley looked back at him, unsure what he meant. 'If you want to run away, go ahead, start running, I'm not going to stop you.' Stanley didn't know what kind of game Mr. Sir was playing.” Another reason why I enjoyed this book is because of the development of the problem in the story. It was like a sigh of relief when I read how Stanley was accused at the beginning of the story and how he was cursed with bad luck to reading how Stanley solved of his problems and broke the curse. The book was able to offer mystery and give many “aha!” exciting moments to readers. This book is a good read for those who like a bit of humorous mystery and adventure. ( )
  yyoon4 | Dec 4, 2014 |
“Holes” has always been a favorite of mine because of all the elements involved and the humor of it.
  Madison_DeWeerdt | Dec 4, 2014 |
In my opinion, the book, “Holes” is a great chapter book for older children to read. It is a fun book to read because of its unique and comical storyline. This book has a suspenseful plot that is unpredictable. The story is about an unlucky boy named Stanley Yelnats. Because of a curse that was given to his great-great-grandfather, Stanley gets accused of stealing a pair of shoes. He is sent to Camp Green Lake, a jail-like place for teenage boys. Stanley is expected to dig holes all day. He makes friends with one boy named Hector. In the story, the two decide to leave the camp. Stanley’s curse eventually comes to an end. Stanley and Hector find treasure that the camp counselors have been trying to find. Interestingly, the treasure box has Stanley’s name on it, and Stanley inherits all of the money. Stanley shares the money with Hector, and they both live happily ever after with their families. The book uses very descriptive language throughout the story. For example, “During the summer the daytime temperature hovers around ninety-five degrees in the shade – if you can find any shade. There's not much shade in a big dry lake. The only trees are two old oaks to the eastern edge of the ‘lake.’ A hammock is stretched between the two trees, and a log cabin stands behind that. The campers are forbidden to lie in the hammock. It belongs to the Warden. The Warden owns the shade.” This story broadens students’ perspectives about honesty. In the beginning of the story, Stanley is always “at the wrong place at the wrong time,” but he always tells the truth. The big idea is to show children that they should tell the truth. ( )
  sstelz2 | Dec 4, 2014 |
In my opinion, the book "Holes" is a great book for young readers. One thing I liked about this book was that it has also been made into a movie. While I do like that the writing of the book allows for interpretation of the reader to determine the way things look and are depicted, the movie is a great compliment and puts faces to the characters. Another thing I liked about this book was that the book had a good flow to it and the writing was very consistent. This would be good for students who have read a few chapter books, but are getting used to different styles of authors writing. I also really liked all of the morals and lessons that are in this story. From the beginning, the main character, Stanley, is misunderstood and blamed for a crime he did not commit. Once he was sent away to dig holes, he learned a lot about different people, learned from those people, and realized that even though those kids were doing time for different things, they were still good people and became his close friends. it is important not to judge people based on their past, but to think of what they have done to better themselves in the present and how they treat others. The big idea of this story was to value others, learn from experiences, and to be cautious of your actions. ( )
  khendr4 | Dec 4, 2014 |
Possibly my favorite children's novelist and easily my favorite book by him. A hilariously honest and real book. Full of heartbreak and triumph, it is everything that a reader could want in a book. ( )
  Andymcclellan_93 | Dec 3, 2014 |
This is a great read! This book is an award winning best seller. It tells the story of a bad boy who digs a hole everyday in the sun and turns into a good boy. This story tells the lesson about discipline and commitment and responsibility. This is a great book to keep in the classroom and do projects with because children can take away many life lessons from it. The writing style is cohesive and organized. There are no illustrations because it is a chapter book, however, from the text, children can use their imagination to picture the scene and the grueling work the characters must endure each day. ( )
  eoertl1 | Dec 3, 2014 |
A boy named Stanley Yelnats has been convicted for a crime he did not commit. He gets sent to a camp for boys and they dig holes all day to help the owner of the camp try to find a missing treasure from her grandfather.
Friendship

4-7 ( )
  hatease | Nov 30, 2014 |
This book switches between many different time periods to tell the story of the buried treasure and finding that and so much more. It develops many different relationships and helps children learn the importance of friendship, family, determination, keeping promises, and good and evil.
  emilystrong | Nov 30, 2014 |
One of my favorite books. A great read for students in the upper grade level. To bring mystery but also learn about ones past family history. ( )
  magarcia | Nov 30, 2014 |
A young boy whose family is down on funds and luck, find himself in a juvenile delinquent center for boys. When Stanley and his friend come across a favorable treasure, the leader of the camp tries to bring the boys apart. Great Novel! 5th
  Nicole129672 | Nov 19, 2014 |
After watching the movie, I purchased this for my son, hoping to find a book he would enjoy reading. I was successful, he loved this book. It has all the right stuff. Adventure, secrets, evil adults (and some good ones, too), smack talk and deep friendships.
  MrsLee | Nov 18, 2014 |
Summary: Stanley Yelnats had unfortunate events in his life happen. H was accused of a crime that he did not commit, and it lead him to Camp Green Lake, where he is to serve his time digging wholes. He first thinks that the people that he digs wholes with day in and day out are his friends, but he soon has a reality check. As the story develops you get flashbacks of Stanley s life before Camp Green Lake, and also the history behind Camp Green Lake. You soon seen the relationships of the ancestors of the current Camp Green Lake inhabitant, and also why Stanley and his family have really bad luck. Stanleys grandfather was cursed by the Madame Zeroni for not keeping his promise. Stanly was able to break that curse, because Zero his good friend from Camp Green Lake is related to Madame Zeroni. At the end of the story the characters realize who they.

Personal: I originally watched the movie, just recently when i went on vacation i read the book. The book is far better by giving you more details, and keeping you interested.

classroom:1). Ask the students what food they would eat for a week straight and why?
2) have the students do a compare and contrast over the movie and book.
3) Have everyone bring there favorite food in and put it in a mason jar and every week have them write down in a journal about how long it last.
  pambam_11 | Nov 11, 2014 |
Summary- This is a book about Stanley Yelnats who was sent to Camp Green Lake for a crime he didn't commit. His family is known for having bad luck because of some kind of curse. He end's up going to the camp and meeting new friends. Along with hardships and struggles, at the end of the movie Stanley unexpectedly finds a way to break the curse.

Personal Reaction- I first read this book in the 5th grade. I had to do a report over it and ever since then it has been one of my all time favorite books. It's no surprise that this book won a Newbery Award because this book is pure awesomeness.

Classroom extension ideas-
1) Plant onions and watch them grow
2) Group discussion- Ask the kids how they would feel if they had to eat only onions for a week.
  brittanyblakesley | Nov 10, 2014 |
Holes
Louis Sachar

I have probably read this book about ten different times since first being exposed to this book in the fifth grade. I really love this book, and Holes is probably in the top ten list of books for myself. The entire book seems completely plausible. I don't think there was a point in the book when I thought something could not have happened in real life. Stanley's situation of getting sent to the boys camp for "stealing" the shoes was something that has happened in life, someone was just in the wrong place at the wrong time. Sachar was extremely descriptive in his book, which led to me being able to easily picture the story in my mind. The one thing that was really descriptive was the huge rock on top of the mountain that looked like it was god giving the thumbs up. Everything in the book was put well together. The story flowed really well and I think that was helped by the fact that the story is paced really well. Holes is not an easy read but will not take you three weeks to read it either. I would recommend this book to anyone who wanted to read a great story. Louis Sachar did a great job at putting the message in his book too, stand up for your friends. ( )
  bokeef2 | Nov 10, 2014 |
Holes still to this day is one of my favorite books to read. Stanley was just an ordinary innocent boy who was at the wrong place at the wrong time when a pair of baseball shoes fall fro the sky onto his head and he was believed he stole the shoes that was from a charity. Stanley is sent to Camp Green Lake where he has to dig holes everyday till his sentence is up. he meets new friends, understand his struggles, and and in the end, he finds all the pieces that come together between Camp Green Lake and his family history. This is an amazing book to read foe 3rd to 5th graders and it's packed with comedy, suspense, and romance. An amazing read for anyone.
This is a Newbury award book. ( )
  Patrick-Shea14 | Nov 7, 2014 |
This book is about an adventure of a younger boy, and it is also a part of his life experience, he got a lot from it. I believe readers would get a lot from the book.
  xliao | Nov 5, 2014 |
This book is about a young boy named Stanley Yelnats who gets sent to Camp Green Lake, a juvenile delinquent camp for young boys. He is wrongly accused of a crime he did not commit. The boys at the camp have to dig 5ft x 5ft holes. If they find anything of interest inside the holes, it must be reported to the warden. The boys are told that digging holes builds character when in reality the boys are being used to find valuable hidden treasure for the warden.

I like this book because it engages the reader throughout the entire story. Its use of imagery and dialogue help set the tone and action of the story. I like its use of symbolism, dialogue, and use of flashbacks to historical moments.

An example of symbolism includes the onions throughout the story. Onions represent hope and good will. Sam, the kind selfless man in the flashbacks, sold onions which brought joy to the townspeople. Onions also kept Stanley and Zero nourished when they reached the mountain. They kept them alive, not only by feeding them but by running through their blood as well, protecting them from the yellow spotted lizards towards the end of the book. I think it's neat that something that is normally foul or makes one's eyes water is used as something so powerful.

An example of dialogue that stood out to me was when Zero shared that, "When you spend your whole life living in a hole, the only way to go is up". Lines like these are short but powerful. It speaks volumes on what the characters go through, what kind of impact the events of their life has had on them, and the mentality they now have with how they choose to move forward in life. Each key character seems to have their own mindset that is worth getting to know and learn from in the story.

I really enjoyed the flashbacks used throughout the story. I liked linking the events of ancestors' lives with what is going on in present day at Camp Green Lake. The oldest flashbacks felt more like a folktale one would hear around a bonfire. I liked how everything connected with each other. For example, Miss Katherine went from a sweet school teacher to a vengeful woman after the love of her life was ruthlessly murdered. Her name changed to Kissin' Kate Barlow because of her venomous kisses.

The main idea of this story is to stay true to yourself and do the right thing. Good does conquer evil in the end even when bad things happen along the way. ( )
  GinaBayne | Nov 4, 2014 |
Holes is a unique story of underdog Stanley, he is wrongfully sent to a correctional program in the desert. He encounters many antagonists, and the story has many twists and turns. This is a quality book that keeps you interested and thinking. Best for children age 10-13.
  nphernetton | Nov 3, 2014 |
In my opinion Holes is a great book. I really liked how this book would go back in time to tell the story of Stanley Yelnats’s family history and how the family became cursed. I also really liked the dynamic of the boys in D-tent. Even though they didn’t always get along they still remained “brothers” and would stick up for each other and they always had each other’s backs.
The big idea or main message of the story is friendship. Friendship is one of the most important aspects in one’s life. You can find a friend in the most random situations and they can usually change your life for the better. ( )
  Jillian_Magee | Oct 26, 2014 |
"Holes" is story of the very unlucky Stanley Yelnats who is sent to Camp Green Lake for a crime he didn't commit. He happened to be in the wrong place at the wrong time thanks to his no-good-dirty-rotten-pig-stealing great great grandfather. I really liked this story due to the progression in the main character and the flashbacks within the story.

Stanley changes dramatically from the beginning to the end. Back in school, he was picked on and bullied, so when he comes to Camp Green Lake and begins to make friends, he tries to conform and fit in. For example, when X-ray tells Stanley to give him anything he finds, Stanley decides "it was far more important that X-Ray think he was a good guy than it was for him to get the day off" p. 53. As the story progresses, he realizes that they aren't really his friends and begins to do what he feels is right regardless of what they think, such as teaching Zero to read and write. He also grows stronger physically and mentally as the story goes on. In the beginning he is overweight and passive as he follows whatever he is told to do, but by the end he is stronger and thinner, and takes courageous chances like stealing the truck to go find Zero.

Also, I really liked the flashbacks in the story. Since Stanley's bad luck comes from his great great grandfather, the story flashbacks to tell this story. At one point, the story flashes back to long ago when his great great grandfather saw Madame Zeroni in order help him win over the father of the girl he thought he loved. Madame Zeroni helps by giving him a pig and the secret to make him big and strong, but in return she asks him for a favor. Unfortunately, this favor is never returned, so the Yelnats are doomed with bad luck for the remainder of their lives. This enhances the story, because it allows the reader to get a better appreciation and understanding of the events in the story. These flashbacks reveal why the holes are being dug and how each of the characters are significant to each other. For example, Zero (Hector Zeroni) is actually related to Madame Zeroni, who caused the Yelnats decades of bad luck.

Overall, I found the "big idea" of the story was never give up. Each time Stanley's bad luck got the best of him, he didn't give up or lose hope. Instead, he remained hardworking and honest, which eventually resulted in Stanley and his family getting everything they deserved. ( )
  KendraEscalona | Oct 25, 2014 |
Holes by Louis Sachar is a book about a boy named Stanley Yelnats who goes to a juvenile delinquent camp for a crime he didn’t commit and this is all because of his no-good-dirty-rotten-pig-stealing great great grandfather. Throughout the story the reader sees the adventure that happens during his stay and the friends he makes. All of this leads down to an amazing road that shows his luck might be changing soon. I loved this book! I read this book when I was younger and loved it and I decided to read it again because of this. I love this book for a number of reasons but the main two reasons are the overall story/way it was written and the characters. The story in this book is so unique. The story is about a boy named Stanley but it follows three different times in history, all of which connect to Stanley and the place he is currently at, Camp Greenlake. An example of this is seen when Elya Yelnats, Stanley’s pig stealing great great grandfather, is trying to win over his love Myra Menke. The author tells the story not from Stanley recalling it from memory but from the actual time it happened. I feel this added to the story and made it that much more interesting because you could really understand the correlation between now and then instead of just hearing the story from Stanley retelling it as well as increasing the idea of what will happen. I feel this was very unique way to write the story and an unconventional one as well and personally something I loved about it. The overall story is also an amazing one because it conveys an overall message that you can do whatever despite your circumstances even curses. This is seen throughout the whole story but mainly seen at the end where Stanley out does the yellow spotted lizards, dehydration and hunger and finds the treasure that is rightfully his. After everything bad that happened to him because of his luck he overcomes and finds happiness. The final thing I liked about this book was the character, all of them were so full of life and outrageous characters that in my opinion added to the story and made it more fun and light hearted. For example Zigzag, throughout the whole story Stanley tells us about how crazy Zigzag is and how crazy he looks. He tells us that he has crazy blonde hair and the longest neck ever. This really creates a mental picture in the readers mind and enhances the humor in the story, along with creating interest. It also created a fictional and unrealistic element to the story. ( )
  BriaCoogle | Oct 25, 2014 |
I think this was an awesome book! I loved the interactions between the characters such as Stanley and Zero, and I also like how even though we don't see much of their interactions with their families, that it still plays a big influence on how their characters became who they are (for instance, Zero doesn't know of his mothers whereabouts but we still see how close of a relationship he had with her and how it adds to his character). I like the plot, and the suspense that it builds throughout, waiting to find out what they're digging for, and if they'll ever find it, and where it will lead when they do... The big picture of Holes is friendship, and fate. ( )
  jknuts1 | Oct 23, 2014 |
I loved this book as a kid! I think it's a great read for boys and girls. It's definitely a book that boys can get into. I like that there are a lot of characters, too. This is a realistic fiction book. I would use this for 10-13 year olds.
This book is about a boy who has to go to 'bad boy' camp for a crime he did not commit. He meets new friends and solves a mystery during his time away.
  LaurenValencour | Oct 22, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 588 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.08)
0.5 1
1 26
1.5 14
2 118
2.5 33
3 585
3.5 167
4 1293
4.5 220
5 1242

Audible.com

2 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 94,498,078 books! | Top bar: Always visible