HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Holes by Louis Sachar
Loading...

Holes (original 1998; edition 2008)

by Louis Sachar

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations / Mentions
13,948609148 ()1 / 285
Summary: This book is a novel about the main character that is sent to a detention camp because of being accused of stealing a pair of shoes. The story then goes on to tell his experience at the detention camp.
Personal Reaction: I enjoyed reading this book when I was in school because I hated reading but this book kept me interested.
Extension: This book could be a good way to get kids to start reading novels in the classroom.
  kimlien91 | Apr 25, 2012 |
English (598)  Dutch (5)  German (2)  Swedish (1)  French (1)  Finnish (1)  All languages (608)
Showing 1-25 of 598 (next | show all)
Holes is a story about Stanley Yelnats. Stanley and his family has very bad luck because of his no-good-filthy-pig-stealing-great-great-grandfather. His father is trying to find a use for old tennis shoes. One day Stanley was walking home from school, and a pair of stinky shoes fell from the sky, and he took it as a sign so he took them home to his dad. Little did he know that those shoes were a famous athletes shoes, so a police officer stopped him on his way home and arrested him. After his trial, there was a decision that Stanley would spend 18 months at Camp Green Lake. Once Stanely got to Camp. He learned that he would be digging Holes for the whole 18 months that he was at camp. One day he found a tube of lipstick that he gave to one of his camp members. A couple of weeks later, Stanley and his friend Zero, ran away from camp. Thay ran away from camp and almost died in the desert. They found refuge "in God's thumb". When they decided to return to camp, they found a treasure chest from Kissin' Kate Barlow, and they shut down Camp Green Lake for unfair treatment of minors. While the story of Stanley was bring told, they were jumping back and forth between the past, and the story of Camp Green Lake 110 years ago. There was a lot of overlap of the two stories and the families of Stanley and Zero. Genre: realistic fiction. There were realistic characters with fictional events. ( )
  amassingale | Feb 28, 2015 |
Stanley Yelnats gets caught with a pair of shoes that is thrown over a bridge. He gets sent to a work camp for boys. All they do there is dig holes trying to find missing treasure. It turns out a huge adventure involving Stanley's great grandfather will take place there.
  RachelHollingsworth | Feb 27, 2015 |
I love this book because the three intertwined plots adds an interesting and unusual twist that makes it unique. I like the Sachar reveals the historical plots in lumps, intermittently with the present-day storyline. This allows you to figure out the events along with Stanley, rather than having the surprise revealed in the beginning. I also liked how well-developed the characters and relationships in the story are. The book details the main character's social struggles, even though it may not have been directly related to the plot. These realistic conflicts will help readers relate to the characters. The message of the book is that you are in charge of your own destiny. ( )
  agaski3 | Feb 26, 2015 |
I enjoyed Holes for many different reasons. First, the plot was filled with suspense and conflict, which keeps readers engaged. The mysterious features throughout the story causes readers to keep their interest. For example, Stanley's no-good-dirty-roten-pig-stealing-great-great-grandfather's curse had a large affect on his daily life. Throughout reading the novel, readers are constantly interested in where the curse will lead and where Stanley will end up. Additionally, I also enjoyed the language of the book. While there are serious, terrifying, and suspenseful scenes throughout the book, there are also funny and exciting ones as well. The variety of language keeps readers interested as well. The overall message of the novel conveys the important of friendship and justice. Additionally, the past and present affect each other, while the good always wins against the evil. ( )
  aholli3 | Feb 26, 2015 |
Holes is a book that I can re visit time and time again and see it in a new light. I read this book in elementary school and did a project on it in college. Each time I learned something new about the characters. Stanley Yelnats is the main character who struggles with the family curse. Later in the book, we find out why his great great grandfather was cursed. Many students can relate to Stanley because he is punished for something he did not do. Students can find themselves in this book and I think that is why it is so popular. ( )
  SadieCooney | Feb 24, 2015 |
I believe this is a great read for elementary and middle school students for a number of reasons. The language used by the author allows readers to get to know Stanley Yelnats, a young boy sent to a juvenile summer camp for a crime he did not commit. The writing smoothly flowed between Stanley's experience at Camp Greenlake and flashbacks to Green Lake hundreds of years before the drought to construct the relationship between Stanley and his ancestors that lived long before him. The book pushes readers to think about tough issues such as race, criminality, and abuse but are addressed in an underlying manner that remains lighthearted to readers. This book stresses the overall message that people are in charge of their lives and define their own destinies. ( )
  ajohns75 | Feb 19, 2015 |
Stanley Yelnats is an overweight teenager and a victim of bullying when a pair of old sneakers belonging to a famous sports person falls from the sky. He brings them home to his father who is working on a plan to recycle old sneakers. This sounds pretty normal except a curse started by his great great great grandfather has followed his family for generations (or so they believe). They are sometimes at the wrong place at the wrong time. Stanley is arrested for stealing the sneakers and is sent to a horrible detention home posing as a camp for boys. There he is forced to dig a hole 5 feet deep by five feet wide every single day in the blazing sun. His problems are intensified when he must learn to deal with bullies there too, not only from his peers but also from the sadistic adults.
In his middle-grade story, Holes, Louis Sachar touches many relevant issues: bullying, child abuse, racism, forgiveness and friendship being the most prominent. Three different stories spanning several generations are expertly woven into each other and neatly tucked in together at the end.
Despite the realistic backdrop, the author chose a fairy-tale ending to his story, a bit disconcerting considering the issues presented. The book is a great read and understandably, a sure winner for younger readers.
( )
  BooksUncovered | Feb 17, 2015 |
There are two reasons I like the book Holes. First, I like the language used in this novel because it is easy to comprehend and is in the point of view of a young boy. By having it in the point of view of Stanley, this allows the reader to keep track of what events are occurring throughout. In addition, this book pushes the reader to think of Stanley as an everyday person who encounters struggles like any other student. Lastly, I enjoy how the author illustrates the scenery of the book. With every sentence used, the author allows the reader to take the place of Stanley and feel his vulnerability. The big idea I took from this book is to always be kind to others because, if you are kind to someone it is likely that they will be kind to you. ( )
  anunez1 | Feb 5, 2015 |
Have you ever got blamed for something you didn’t do?
Well read this book by Louis Sachar called Holes. Stanley Yelnats is a cursed boy because of his great-great-grandfather. Stanley got send to a horrible place called Camp Green Lake. He got sent there because of a boy named Zero stole some shoes and was scared because the police was following behind him. So Zero dropped the shoes down the highway and it hit Stanley on the head and the police caught him and he got blamed for it. I really liked this book because it’s funny and that after you’re done with the book you could watch the movie which is pretty good. Louis Sachar is an award winning author and writes fictional educational books for children. I recommend this book to anyone because it’s a really funny book and it have a movie after it. ( )
  Princess_Chrishanda | Feb 4, 2015 |
This is one of my favorite books of all time. It is filled with little mysteries that all culminate to solve one huge problem. I love how all the little details that you didn't think were really significant come together at the end of the book. It made me want to go all the way back to page one and re-read the entire book immediately! I have read this book many times. This book is a great read for anyone from age 12 and up. This is also one of the rare books that I feel was successfully translated in a movie format. ( )
  rjc146 | Jan 23, 2015 |
A bit too grim for my taste, but certainly inventive. ( )
  Audacity88 | Jan 15, 2015 |
Hulde voor de moed, vriendschap en inventivitiet van Holbewoner en Zero, maar de echte escape komt toch van deus ex machina: de uitvinding en advocaat. ( )
  EMS_24 | Dec 15, 2014 |
This book is of good quality because it shows kids making the best out of a horrible situation. A a bunch of boys who have been sentenced to live and work in this camp create their own makeshift family in order to survive. They have no loving parent there, so they support each other. By the end, they're all any of them has got. It teaches the reader that if you believe that you can get through something, like being falsely imprisoned, you will. ( )
  hphipp2 | Dec 5, 2014 |
I liked the chapter book, “Holes.” The main idea of this story if to tell the account of one boy's journey in being mistook as a criminal and being cursed with bad luck. One reason why I enjoyed reading this chapter book is because of how this story was told in a third person narrative. Readers can get a sense that they are watching a movie and imagine as if the scene was happening right before them. The book challenges readers to imagine what the text is saying. For example, “ 'You want to run away!' Mr Sir asked him. Stanley looked back at him, unsure what he meant. 'If you want to run away, go ahead, start running, I'm not going to stop you.' Stanley didn't know what kind of game Mr. Sir was playing.” Another reason why I enjoyed this book is because of the development of the problem in the story. It was like a sigh of relief when I read how Stanley was accused at the beginning of the story and how he was cursed with bad luck to reading how Stanley solved of his problems and broke the curse. The book was able to offer mystery and give many “aha!” exciting moments to readers. This book is a good read for those who like a bit of humorous mystery and adventure. ( )
  yyoon4 | Dec 4, 2014 |
“Holes” has always been a favorite of mine because of all the elements involved and the humor of it.
  Madison_DeWeerdt | Dec 4, 2014 |
In my opinion, the book, “Holes” is a great chapter book for older children to read. It is a fun book to read because of its unique and comical storyline. This book has a suspenseful plot that is unpredictable. The story is about an unlucky boy named Stanley Yelnats. Because of a curse that was given to his great-great-grandfather, Stanley gets accused of stealing a pair of shoes. He is sent to Camp Green Lake, a jail-like place for teenage boys. Stanley is expected to dig holes all day. He makes friends with one boy named Hector. In the story, the two decide to leave the camp. Stanley’s curse eventually comes to an end. Stanley and Hector find treasure that the camp counselors have been trying to find. Interestingly, the treasure box has Stanley’s name on it, and Stanley inherits all of the money. Stanley shares the money with Hector, and they both live happily ever after with their families. The book uses very descriptive language throughout the story. For example, “During the summer the daytime temperature hovers around ninety-five degrees in the shade – if you can find any shade. There's not much shade in a big dry lake. The only trees are two old oaks to the eastern edge of the ‘lake.’ A hammock is stretched between the two trees, and a log cabin stands behind that. The campers are forbidden to lie in the hammock. It belongs to the Warden. The Warden owns the shade.” This story broadens students’ perspectives about honesty. In the beginning of the story, Stanley is always “at the wrong place at the wrong time,” but he always tells the truth. The big idea is to show children that they should tell the truth. ( )
  sstelz2 | Dec 4, 2014 |
In my opinion, the book "Holes" is a great book for young readers. One thing I liked about this book was that it has also been made into a movie. While I do like that the writing of the book allows for interpretation of the reader to determine the way things look and are depicted, the movie is a great compliment and puts faces to the characters. Another thing I liked about this book was that the book had a good flow to it and the writing was very consistent. This would be good for students who have read a few chapter books, but are getting used to different styles of authors writing. I also really liked all of the morals and lessons that are in this story. From the beginning, the main character, Stanley, is misunderstood and blamed for a crime he did not commit. Once he was sent away to dig holes, he learned a lot about different people, learned from those people, and realized that even though those kids were doing time for different things, they were still good people and became his close friends. it is important not to judge people based on their past, but to think of what they have done to better themselves in the present and how they treat others. The big idea of this story was to value others, learn from experiences, and to be cautious of your actions. ( )
  khendr4 | Dec 4, 2014 |
Possibly my favorite children's novelist and easily my favorite book by him. A hilariously honest and real book. Full of heartbreak and triumph, it is everything that a reader could want in a book. ( )
  Andymcclellan_93 | Dec 3, 2014 |
This is a great read! This book is an award winning best seller. It tells the story of a bad boy who digs a hole everyday in the sun and turns into a good boy. This story tells the lesson about discipline and commitment and responsibility. This is a great book to keep in the classroom and do projects with because children can take away many life lessons from it. The writing style is cohesive and organized. There are no illustrations because it is a chapter book, however, from the text, children can use their imagination to picture the scene and the grueling work the characters must endure each day. ( )
  eoertl1 | Dec 3, 2014 |
A boy named Stanley Yelnats has been convicted for a crime he did not commit. He gets sent to a camp for boys and they dig holes all day to help the owner of the camp try to find a missing treasure from her grandfather.
Friendship

4-7 ( )
  hatease | Nov 30, 2014 |
This book switches between many different time periods to tell the story of the buried treasure and finding that and so much more. It develops many different relationships and helps children learn the importance of friendship, family, determination, keeping promises, and good and evil.
  emilystrong | Nov 30, 2014 |
One of my favorite books. A great read for students in the upper grade level. To bring mystery but also learn about ones past family history. ( )
  magarcia | Nov 30, 2014 |
A young boy whose family is down on funds and luck, find himself in a juvenile delinquent center for boys. When Stanley and his friend come across a favorable treasure, the leader of the camp tries to bring the boys apart. Great Novel! 5th
  Nicole129672 | Nov 19, 2014 |
After watching the movie, I purchased this for my son, hoping to find a book he would enjoy reading. I was successful, he loved this book. It has all the right stuff. Adventure, secrets, evil adults (and some good ones, too), smack talk and deep friendships.
  MrsLee | Nov 18, 2014 |
Summary: Stanley Yelnats had unfortunate events in his life happen. H was accused of a crime that he did not commit, and it lead him to Camp Green Lake, where he is to serve his time digging wholes. He first thinks that the people that he digs wholes with day in and day out are his friends, but he soon has a reality check. As the story develops you get flashbacks of Stanley s life before Camp Green Lake, and also the history behind Camp Green Lake. You soon seen the relationships of the ancestors of the current Camp Green Lake inhabitant, and also why Stanley and his family have really bad luck. Stanleys grandfather was cursed by the Madame Zeroni for not keeping his promise. Stanly was able to break that curse, because Zero his good friend from Camp Green Lake is related to Madame Zeroni. At the end of the story the characters realize who they.

Personal: I originally watched the movie, just recently when i went on vacation i read the book. The book is far better by giving you more details, and keeping you interested.

classroom:1). Ask the students what food they would eat for a week straight and why?
2) have the students do a compare and contrast over the movie and book.
3) Have everyone bring there favorite food in and put it in a mason jar and every week have them write down in a journal about how long it last.
  pambam_11 | Nov 11, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 598 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.07)
0.5 1
1 27
1.5 14
2 119
2.5 34
3 593
3.5 169
4 1313
4.5 220
5 1249

Audible.com

2 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 95,700,053 books! | Top bar: Always visible