HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Lady Knight (Protector of the Small, Book 4)…
Loading...

Lady Knight (Protector of the Small, Book 4) (original 2002; edition 2002)

by Tamora Pierce

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
2,652272,254 (4.16)56
fyrefly98's review
Some of Tamora Pierce's books get bogged down by not enough action, just a long slow stream of small events and then a big battle in the last chapter. This book suffered from the opposite problem, in my view: too much action, some but not enough character development or interpersonal interaction. However, the action was excellently and excitingly written, and was well-paced (not just the one big disconnected fight at the end). Not my favorite book of the series, but I think Kel became my favorite of TP's heroines by the end of it all. ( )
1 vote fyrefly98 | Nov 18, 2006 |
All member reviews
Showing 1-25 of 28 (next | show all)

I was really happy after finishing this book. I love all of the points and morals that Pierce inserts into her writing. Awesome strength training ideas are also in this series. ( )
  wickedshizuku | May 12, 2014 |
Lovely as always. Which is a kind of funny thing to say about a book where the mood varies between fury, anxiety, grief, and blind stubborn determination (OK, flashes of excellent humor, happiness, and triump, but most of it is pretty grim). Still - as usual for a Pierce, the setting and the people are beautifully evoked; the tasks, both immediate and promised, are challenging and important; and the flow of events draws the reader along and deep into that world. Kel is set in charge of a refugee camp - oh, before she gets there, she attaches a small boy to her service (because he was being abused, and because he's useful to her. In that order). Tobe turns out to be very useful on a lot of levels, too. She's given the duty of commanding the camp because, unlike any of the other knights available, she will actually care about the refugees and work to protect and care for them, not just treat them as impedimenta - Wyldon demonstrates, again, that he has more depth than he's willing to show the world. She also has a prophesied task from the Chamber of the Ordeal, to deal with the mage who's creating the killing machines she's already fought. She struggles with the conflict of duties this raises; unfortunately, circumstances intervene until the conflict...doesn't go away, exactly, but shifts so that her choice is clear. Her expedition into enemy territory, with the cavalcade following her (in several senses) produces many of those flashes of humor; it's also got some of the grimmest, saddest scenes in the whole quartet. But a happy ending, for many. I really would like to see more of Kel, and Tobe, and all the rest of her crew - but for now, I think, I'll just have to imagine what happens to her. She is my favorite of the Tortallan heroes. ( )
  jjmcgaffey | Feb 17, 2014 |
Keladry of Mindelan is assigned to command a refugee camp. Little does she know into what troubles this will lead. She has to build the camp, supervise the troops, organize and train the refugees to fight. Doubting her own ability doesn’t help. And when she leaves to report to her commanding officer only to return finding the enemy has attacked, she blames herself. The vision she saw in the Chamber of the Ordeal has come to fruition, and her target is clear. She must defeat the mage responsible for the horrible killing machines fueled by the spirits of dead children. Is she up to the task? Kel has to learn how to accept support from others as well as to trust her own talents. Lady Knight is an engaging story that will have you rooting for this strong but young female leader. ( )
  NancyJCohen | Jan 2, 2014 |
The first and last books in this series are the most notable (though the interim books are great as well). I love how Kel's story doesn't tie up all the loose ends. ( )
  Capnrandm | Apr 15, 2013 |
Listened to Listening Library CD edition narrated by Bernadette Dunne. I love this book; after thinking about it critically there are probably a few problems with it - Kel never really messes up, making her a little too perfect - but this quartet is still my favorite of Pierce's works so far. The characters are easy to care about, the preparation and running of a refugee camp is fascinating, and the action is well-paced. I'm sure it's just a matter of time until I read the whole quartet again. Previously read many times. ( )
  JenJ. | Mar 31, 2013 |
The Protector of the Small series is a high fantasy YA yarn set in Pierce's imaginary world of Tortall. Throughout the series we watched Keladry grow up. When we first met her as a little girl in First Test she was in her probationary year of knight-training, the first only female trainee in a century. When we catch up to her in Lady Knight she's a young woman who after eight years of training is finally knighted and has to deal with her first independent command--that of a refugee camp. This book is a mixture of thrilling action-adventure and coming of age tale--and about leadership. I love Keladry's growth throughout the series and particularly here. My favorite book of my favorite series by a favorite author. ( )
  LisaMaria_C | Oct 20, 2012 |
A satisfying conclusion to the Protector of the Small series. Kel emerges as a talented leader in this final installment, one who is determined to hunt down the man shown to her by the Chamber of the Ordeal in the last book. She is somewhat disappointed in her initial assignment to run a refugee camp, but Kel quickly takes the people she helps to heart and is determined to save them when their lives are placed in danger. A good read, definitely for fans of teen fantasy. ( )
  wagner.sarah35 | Mar 9, 2012 |
Keladry has earned her shield in the last book of the Protector of the Small series, and she has a quest. Nobody knows, however, when she will fulfill it. For now, she has a refugee camp to run. Later, she'll take on an evil sorcerer and his ruthless bodyguard, but first she has to wait for fate to take its course. The characters are vivid, the story engrossing, and series fans will enjoy the final installment. Ages 12-16. Recommended purchase. ( )
  mossing | Nov 30, 2011 |
"Lady Knight," the final installment in Tamora Pierce's Protector of the Small quartet, far surpasses the preceding volumes in depth, complexity, and stakes. While the series' "hero's task" revealed itself late in the series, it does not feel crammed or rushed at all. A great deal of the book is spent focusing on Kel's frustration; her assignment during the Scanran war is to run a refugee camp, which seems to her completely at odds with the task set her by the god-like being which is the Chamber of the Ordeal. It has ordered her to stop the enemy mage responsible for horrific acts of necromancy. She's the only knight she knows of to have ever been set on a specific mission by the Chamber, and the abhorrent nature of the mage's deeds pull at her sense of justice with every breath she takes. It is to Pierce's credit that it is not immediately obvious just how entangled her two missions are. More obvious are Pierce's intense emotions and opinions on war and the dignity of life. This is a great novel for young adults that deals with difficult situations and themes. Highly recommended. ( )
  thelorelei | Sep 30, 2011 |
Tamora Pierce likes her strong female chars, but I don't unless they have something more to them than just being 'tough'. Keladry really doesn't have much personality, something that has always made her Protector of the Small series a bit dragging. The last installation in the series was a bit more interesting since it had Keladry as an overseer of a refugee camp, which isn't a position most main chars are usually cast in. But for the most part, Lady Knight just made me want to go back and read Alanna's or Daine's quartets, because Alanna and Daine both had more personality. Sorry, Kel.
It also doesn't help that Miss Pierce didn't use very varied sentence structure in Lady Knight. "He did this...He did this...He had this...He wore this..." gets -very- tiring. ( )
  BrynDahlquis | Sep 5, 2011 |
In this novel Kel has to go through four years as a squire before she can become a knight. For those of you who have read the first two books you will understand what I mean when I say: Yes! One step closer Kel just get through this and you will be a knight!!! Not to say that the adventure ends when she becomes a knight because in Lady Knight you realize the adventure is only just beginning but that is for my next review. In Squire Tamora Pierce as always hits the ball out of the park and makes ...more In this novel Kel has to go through four years as a squire before she can become a knight. For those of you who have read the first two books you will understand what I mean when I say: Yes! One step closer Kel just get through this and you will be a knight!!! Not to say that the adventure ends when she becomes a knight because in Lady Knight you realize the adventure is only just beginning but that is for my next review. In Squire Tamora Pierce as always hits the ball out of the park and makes a run for home base, passing wide mouthed catchers and players who are all stunned at her talent.

In addition, Kel has a little romance in this novel with a young man whose name I won’t say so that I don’t spoil the surprise! Did I mention there is a baby Griffon in this one? Because that is one of my favorite parts! Well… okay one of my many favorite parts. All I can say is again that Tamora pierce is a wonderfully talented author and her novels are never out of style or out of place. This novel is something that most girls will be able to relate to and shows the emotions under Kels solid controlled exterior. She also gets to use her Yamani Glave!

Sincerely,
Emma Michaels
http://EmmaMichaels.Blogspot.com ( )
  EmmaMichaels | Sep 6, 2010 |
The conclusion to the Protector of the Small series, and a fitting end it was. The first two books in the series were really wonderful, focused on Kel's journey to become a female knight through dint of hard work (no magic involved). Then in the third volume, we see her life as an apprentice, and while I enjoyed the story, it wasn't as engrossing as the first two entries in the series. In this volume Kel has finally become a knight proper, just in time for the war that is engulfing Tortall.

The series really switches tracks in this book. Previously, we had been reading about Kel's journey to become a knight, and the adventures that ensued. Now, she has met that goal, and this story turns from a coming-of-age tale into an epic adventure.

Ever since she entered the Chamber of the Ordeal, Kel knew that she was destined for a particular mission. Her job, given to her at the time of her commissioning as knight, is to find and stop the Nothing Man. A wizard working for the Scanran Empire, his great travesty is in harvesting the souls of children to control killing robot machines. When Kel is assigned to build and oversee a refugee camp, instead of joining troops marching against Scanra, she is both angry and frustrated. She thinks that Wyldon is once again doubting her abilities, but even worse, she has no idea how she can track down and destroy the Nothing Man if she is chained to a camp. Of course, destiny is not such an easy thing to evade, and her duty of protecting the civilians under her care soon becomes dangerously entangled with her need to find and kill the man giving her nightmares.

I loved this story. Kel is still wonderfully Kel. She is caring and loyal and brave, but willing to risk everything to do what is right. Though she resents her assignment, she dutifully undertakes the task which is perfectly suited to her skills. She has always been good at caring for people and animals. Then, after the catastrophe, we have a new and exciting twist to the story, as she defies orders to do what she knows is the right thing and save her people. I liked how other friends came to her aid, and how the commanding officers know her so well that they understand why she disobeyed direct commands. I liked how she and her friends voyaged into dangerous enemy territory and defied the odds to save her people. I liked how Kel had to earn the grudging respect of a new lot of people; now that she had already proved her mettle to the castle and soldiers, she had to prove it to civilians. As you can see, I liked a lot about this story. It is much longer than the other books in the series, but appropriately so, as Pierce took her time developing the tale to a satisfying conclusion. I hope that Kel makes some appearances in future series, because I would love to know more about how her life further unfolds. ( )
1 vote nmhale | Aug 30, 2010 |
Another great book in the series. ( )
  Nikkles | Aug 23, 2010 |
I concede to the opinions of others - Kel is a very cool heroine. I still prefer Ally Cooper, but that's because she's older, trickier and less 'good'.Kel does seem much older than her years - a ten year old doing what she does in First Test seems totally unbelievable, aspirational, yes, possible, no. But as a series I really liked the Protector of the Small quartet (much MUCH more than the Daine books). Pierce really has a thing about vanquishing bullies - which I like. I also enjoyed the way the romance was handled - gentle and not overwhelming, or indeed, particularly important. ( )
  CeridwynR | Jan 27, 2010 |
I concede to the opinions of others - Kel is a very cool heroine. I still prefer Ally Cooper, but that's because she's older, trickier and less 'good'.Kel does seem much older than her years - a ten year old doing what she does in First Test seems totally unbelievable, aspirational, yes, possible, no. But as a series I really liked the Protector of the Small quartet (much MUCH more than the Daine books). Pierce really has a thing about vanquishing bullies - which I like. I also enjoyed the way the romance was handled - gentle and not overwhelming, or indeed, particularly important. ( )
  CeridwynR | Jan 26, 2010 |
Great book. A lot of thought is invested into the sideline characters, and it makes a huge difference to the improvement of the novel. The story is adventurous yet fun and, at times, humorous. ( )
  Saieeda | Jun 7, 2009 |
This was the book with Keladry's real adventure set before her. I think Tamora Pierce has a talent for making her books both believable and epic at the same time. I like how she made Keladry very different than Alanna and made her a unique and stand-alone character. I would say, between the two lady knights, Keladry is the real hero. She is not gifted or touched by the gods; she's just a normal person trying to make the world a better place. ( )
  Shebakune | Apr 24, 2009 |
In the final book of the quartet, Kel finally becomes a knight. Now that she's a knight, however, she has to wait to see what her orders will be-will they actually let her fight alongside men, or will they put her aside doing battle planning, or something else far from the action.
I gave this one a four star instead of five because it was more militaristic than I normally read with much less romance than Tamora Pierce's first two quartets. I still really enjoyed the books, but not as much as The Song of the Lioness quartet and The Immortals quartet. ( )
  jfoster_sf | Mar 20, 2009 |
The last of the protector of the small quartet, I felt like there was so much more to see from the character Kel. Hopefully she will be popping up in some of Pierce's other books connected to this world. ( )
  knielsen83 | Mar 5, 2009 |
I love Tamora Pierce! A great continuation of the series, and one of my favorite series. Whether in the writing style, strong female character, or just reading it for fun, this book will keep you occupied and feeling overall good. Though I still prefer the first one, this was still excellent. ( )
  phoenix121 | Mar 12, 2008 |
Some of Tamora Pierce's books get bogged down by not enough action, just a long slow stream of small events and then a big battle in the last chapter. This book suffered from the opposite problem, in my view: too much action, some but not enough character development or interpersonal interaction. However, the action was excellently and excitingly written, and was well-paced (not just the one big disconnected fight at the end). Not my favorite book of the series, but I think Kel became my favorite of TP's heroines by the end of it all. ( )
1 vote fyrefly98 | Nov 18, 2006 |
At last Kel has become a knight. But her first assignment as a knight frustrates and humiliates her -- instead of combat in the Scanran war she is placed in charge of a refugee camp.
  melissarecords | Aug 22, 2006 |
Freshly knighted as a war with neighboring Scanra begins, Kel is sent to head a refugee camp not far from the border. Although she is disappointed that she is not in the midst of the fighting, she soon comes to accept the necessity of a trained commander and fighter to train and oversee the camp. Kel picks up a young groom along the way, the only one who can deal with Peachblossom, and continues to earn her title of Protector of the Small. When Scanran mages using children to power killing devices cross her path, Kel must infiltrate enemy territory to fulfill the task given her by the Chamber of the Ordeal.

I liked this one most of the Protector of the Small books. The story was fleshed out more than the previous (shorter) books could afford. I enjoyed seeing Kel match wits with the refugees, train young people, and generally monitor life around the camp. It was also nice to see one of Pierce's heroines NOT paired up at the end of the series, though the possibility still exists. ( )
1 vote Caramellunacy | Aug 10, 2006 |
Showing 1-25 of 28 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
12 avail.
77 wanted
2 pay3 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.16)
0.5 1
1 1
1.5 1
2 15
2.5 6
3 94
3.5 24
4 220
4.5 23
5 240

Audible.com

Two editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 92,356,743 books! | Top bar: Always visible