HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Look at You Now: My Journey from Shame to…
Loading...

Look at You Now: My Journey from Shame to Strength

by Liz Pryor

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
312357,052 (4.25)None

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

Showing 2 of 2
As a contemporary of the author, I remember being in high school where the absolute worst thing that could happen to a girl was getting pregnant. While there were some drugs and alcohol abused, there was no worse fate than being a slut, other than being a pregnant slut. Pryor was no slut, in fact she became pregnant by her high school boyfriend simply because they were both so innocent that no one truly understood the importance of protection. Her story is a wonderful one, where she not only survived a horrible experience in a home for unwed mothers, but also thrived and managed to help others less fortunate, and in doing so, discovered much about her values, thoughts and feelings. I found this book to be inspirational on many levels. ( )
  Susan.Macura | Aug 23, 2016 |
Subtitle: My Journey from Shame to Strength ( )
  Elishibai | Aug 14, 2016 |
Showing 2 of 2
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0812998006, Hardcover)

For readers of Orange Is the New Black and The Glass Castle, a riveting memoir about a lifelong secret and a girl finding strength in the most unlikely place
 
In 1979, Liz Pryor is a seventeen-year-old girl from a good family in the wealthy Chicago suburbs. Halfway through her senior year of high school, she discovers that she is pregnant—a fact her parents are determined to keep a secret forever. One snowy January day, after driving across three states, her mother drops her off at what Liz thinks is a Catholic home for unwed mothers—but which is, in truth, a locked government-run facility for delinquent and impoverished pregnant teenage girls.

In the cement-block residence, Liz is alone and terrified, a fish out of water—a girl from a privileged, sheltered background living amid tough, street-savvy girls who come from the foster care system or juvenile detention. But over the next six months, isolated and in involuntary hiding from everyone she knows, Liz develops a surprising bond with the other girls and begins to question everything she once held true. Told with tenderness, humor, and an open heart, Look at You Now is a deeply moving story about the most vulnerable moments in our lives—and how a willingness to trust ourselves can permanently change who we are and how we see the world.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 25 Feb 2016 23:20:12 -0500)

"The author describes her experience hidden away by her wealthy Chicago parents in a dreary government facility for impoverished pregnant teens after she discovered she was accidentally expecting at age 17 in 1979,"--NoveList. Chicago, 1979. Halfway through her senior year of high school, Pryor discovers that she is pregnant-- a fact her parents are determined to keep a secret from her friends, siblings, and community forever. Driving across three states, her mother drops her off at what Liz thinks is a Catholic home for unwed mothers but is, in truth, a locked government-run facility for delinquent and impoverished pregnant teenage girls. She's alone and terrified, a fa girl from a privileged, sheltered background living amid tough, street-savvy girls who come from the foster care system or juvenile detention. As Pryor develops a bond with the other girls, she begins to question everything she once held true.… (more)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
31 wanted

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.25)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3
3.5
4 3
4.5
5 1

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 120,808,214 books! | Top bar: Always visible