HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

We Come to Our Senses: Stories by Odie…
Loading...

We Come to Our Senses: Stories

by Odie Lindsey

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
15None647,891 (3.75)None

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

No reviews
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0393249603, Hardcover)

For readers of Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk and Redeployment, a searing debut exploring the lives of veterans returning to their homes in the South.

Lacerating and lyrical, We Come to Our Senses centers on men and women who are affected by combat directly and tangentially, and the ways in which war touches their lives back home. The story “Evie M.” is about a vet turned office clerk whose petty neuroses derail even her suicide; in “11/19/98” a couple obsesses over sitcoms as a distraction from darker complications; and in “Colleen” a young woman redeploys to a small town in Mississippi where she must confront the superior who abused her while at war. The story “Hers” is about the sexual politics of a combat zone.

From vets who dream of children to the children of veterans, to the perpetually postwar southern landscape itself, We Come to Our Senses is about the culture and memory of war.

(retrieved from Amazon Sat, 20 Feb 2016 15:58:33 -0500)

"For readers of Billy Lynn's Long Halftime Walk and Redeployment, a searing debut exploring the lives of veterans returning to their homes in the South. Lacerating and lyrical, We Come to Our Senses centers on men and women affected by combat directly and tangentially, and the peculiar legacies of war. The story "Evie M." is about a vet turned office clerk whose petty neuroses derail even her suicide; in "We Come to Our Senses," a hip young couple leaves the city for the sticks, trading film festivals for firearms; in "Colleen" a woman redeploys to her Mississippi hometown, and confronts the superior who abused her at war; and in "11/19/98" a couple obsesses over sitcoms and retail catalogs, extracting joy and deeper meaning. The story "Hers" is about the sexual politics of a combat zone" --… (more)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
1 wanted

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.75)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3
3.5 1
4 1
4.5
5

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 119,694,540 books! | Top bar: Always visible