HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Swatch: The Girl Who Loved Color by Julia…
Loading...

Swatch: The Girl Who Loved Color

by Julia Denos

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
384298,882 (4.2)None

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

Showing 4 of 4
Appealed to the young girl I was who loved to draw and paint. Will buy someday for sure. Gorgeous gorgeous colors, wish this could be animated, I know I would cry at its beauty. ( )
  Pashii | Aug 28, 2017 |
I have long adored Julia Denos' lovely illustrations in picture books and chapter books and now, finally, she has her own book. Appropriately enough, it is an exuberant celebration of color.

Swatch is a wild girl who lives in a place of wild colors. She tames the colors and teaches them to do magical things but one day she captures Just-Laid Blue in a jar. Soon she is capturing all the colors and it's only when Yellowest Yellow makes her stop and think that she remembers the colors are even better and more wonderful when they are wild.

Denos' language is simple and lovely, but it's really secondary to the gorgeous, stunning, exuberant COLORS. Swatch's messy black hair, tamed with a splash of color that can work as a mask, cape, or hairband, captures her wildness. And the colors...oh the colors. I can hardly find words to describe them. Dozens of colors, splashing across the pages, filling jars, exploding across the page, exploding into barely-formed images, swooping like birds....you just have to read and love it for yourself.

Verdict: A little long for a storytime, but perfect to accompany a program on colors, paint, or just to read and pore over again and again, enjoying the lovely art.

ISBN: 9780062366382; Published 2016 by Balzer + Bray; Purchased for the library
  JeanLittleLibrary | Jul 16, 2016 |
Book Store Explore Assignment
  Jackie.Spencer | Jun 21, 2016 |
Bright, bold, and expressive, Swatch is a color tamer - trapping and using colors in the most fantastic of ways. A bold and fearless artist, no color had escaped her artistic eye ... no color but one,

"Morning came, and there it was, fast fading and fierce, the King of All Yellows, blooming in the sidewalk crack in spite of the shadows. Swatch was ready .... At last, Yellowest Yellow would be hers."

Or would it?

This is the first book that Julia Denos has written as well as illustrated. I would love this book even if my favorite color were not the hero of the story!

http://shelf-employed.blogspot.com ( )
  shelf-employed | Apr 13, 2016 |
Showing 4 of 4
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0062366386, Hardcover)

A vibrant picture book featuring an irrepressible new character—perfect for fans of The Dot and Beautiful Oops!—from acclaimed illustrator Julia Denos. 

In a place where color ran wild, there lived a girl who was wilder still. Her name was Swatch, and color was her passion. From brave green to in-between gray to rumble-tumble pink . . . Swatch wanted to collect them all. But colors don’t always like to be tamed. . . .

This is an exuberant celebration of all the beauty and color that make up our lives.

(retrieved from Amazon Tue, 23 Feb 2016 22:34:36 -0500)

Swatch is a girl who is passionate about color.

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
3 wanted

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.2)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3
3.5 1
4 2
4.5 1
5 1

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 119,645,361 books! | Top bar: Always visible