HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Nanette's Baguette by Mo Willems
Loading...

Nanette's Baguette

by Mo Willems

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
124797,109 (4.17)1

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 1 mention

Showing 1-5 of 7 (next | show all)
Nanette's Baguette is a beautifully illustrated book and keeps readers engaged. Another adorable rhyming picture book by Mo Willems kids will love . What will Nanette do when she gets the baguette? Sure to be a favorite! ( )
  Mischenko | Nov 30, 2017 |
Nanette loves warm and wonderful baguettes. And today she gets the responsibility of going to the bakery by herself, without her mom. Nanette is set. Then, Nanette meets a pet. Does Nanette forget the baguette and become upset? Find out in this fun, tongue-twisting tale by the beloved author/illustrator Mo Willems. Willems' illustrations burst off the pages and the rhyming text is clever, fun, and will make anyone laugh out loud. Fans of Willems' Pigeon, Knuffle Bunny, or Elephant and Piggie books will adore Nanette and her epic quest for a baguette.


Taylor W. / Marathon County Public Library
Find this book in our library catalog.

( )
  mcpl.wausau | Sep 25, 2017 |
Summary – Nanette is a little French girl who gets to go get the baguette for her family for the first time. Her mother gives her a coin and sends her to the bakery. When she finally gets the bread, it’s too tempting and she eats the whole thing before she gets home. With the rhyming words and funny illustrations, Nanette’s story is irresistible for kids, just like the warm bread.

Personal Response – This book was another of Willems’ creations that just makes it so easy to relate to the characters. What person hasn’t melted at the smell of warm bread? The fact that at the end of the book, Nanette’s mother, who calmly walked back to the bakery with her to get another baguette, can’t resist either, makes the book even more fun for kids to read.

Curricular Connections – Younger elementary students could learn about forgiveness and that it’s ok to make mistakes from this book. They could discuss/tell stories about a time when their parents were understanding and forgiving, or when they made a mistake. ( )
  Lindsey33SMS | Feb 24, 2017 |
This story follows Nanette who has been given her biggest responsibility yet, to go buy a baguette.

The word choice and rhyming for this book are smart and wonderful. The first couple pages were definitely tongue twisters for me and it took some getting used to, but I could read it fine the second time around. Children will love this story, especially if you serve them a nice warm baguette while reading it.

Apart from it clever rhyming this story also has a message. Your world isn't over because of one simple mistake, it's all about forgiveness and understanding. If you want a book that will make you smile everytime you read it? This is it. ( )
  JessicaGarcia6 | Jan 19, 2017 |
Mo Willems is a brilliant artist, and the simplicity with which he does it is absolutely genius. When my better half brings home a load of new picture books to test drive, we usually end up a slew of duds, a few fun ones, and, if we're lucky, a genuinely good find. With Mo's newest book--Nanette's Baguettes--it's pure genius. The art is bright, playful, and fun, and the story is just as delightful. "There is no greatness where there is not simplicity," said Tolstoy in War and Peace, and Tolstoy could have learned the lesson well from Willems. ( )
  publiusdb | Jan 10, 2017 |
Showing 1-5 of 7 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
"It's Nanette's first trip to get the baguette! Is she set? You bet!"
Haiku summary

No descriptions found.

"It's Nanette's first trip to get the baguette! Is she set? You bet!"--

» see all 2 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.17)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 6
3.5
4 7
4.5 2
5 9

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 119,745,540 books! | Top bar: Always visible