HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Arrr! (Celebrate International Talk Like a Pirate Day)
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Ruins of Gorlan (Ranger's Apprentice,…
Loading...

The Ruins of Gorlan (Ranger's Apprentice, Book 1) (original 2004; edition 2010)

by John Flanagan

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
2,7511232,131 (4.16)108
Leelynn's review
Ohhhhhh there is never enough praise for this series of books!!! This book was the beginning of my spending spree and I LOVE em! Can never get over the amazing action scenes and epic description of characters and how they slowly grow up into adulthood! Really great first story to catch the attention of young adults!

Will and Halt- "You are the best!!!" lol ( )
  Leelynn | Jul 7, 2012 |
All member reviews
English (121)  Danish (1)  Dutch (1)  Aragonese Spanish (1)  All languages (124)
Showing 1-25 of 121 (next | show all)
When fifteen-year-old Will is rejected by battleschool, he becomes the reluctant apprentice to the mysterious Ranger Halt, and winds up protecting the kingdom from danger. ( )
  ShellyPYA | Sep 10, 2014 |
This book is exactly like the video games you can play! It's really awesome, especially if you're into magic. 4Q4P The cover art is awesome and I'd recommend this book to middle school and high school students. I chose to read this book because I've read the other books in the series. ConnorK
  edspicer | Aug 25, 2014 |
I can see why it’s so popular. Fun to read, appealing.
  EuronerdLibrarian | Jun 4, 2014 |
This was a very enjoyable book, and recommend that you go to your nearest bookstore to get it. The adventure continues in book 2 which I will be starting on sometime this week. ( )
  wickedshizuku | May 12, 2014 |
Love it! Good old fantasy adventure, young protagonists, wise mentors, evil foes-the usual, but so well done! ( )
  LoftyIslanders | Apr 5, 2014 |
This was recommended by my ten year old son. I took his advice, read it and really enjoyed this book. My son is in the fourth grade and the book is more than appropriate for this age, although there are a couple of scary fight scenes that might frighten sensitive readers. ( )
  jsamaha | Mar 14, 2014 |
Exciting book. thrilling all the way through. the book is an adventure type series to me it starts with a young man named will who trains to become one of the something rangers they are a band of archers who are perfect with the bow and there saxe knife over all i highly recommened it. have fun with the series :D ( )
  JacksonG-C | Mar 5, 2014 |
This first book in the series was recommended to me by one of my middle school students. I had difficulty putting it down. Lots of compelling action, definitely a good "boy book" and should appeal to reluctant readers as well. Fans of Harry Potter and Lord of the Rings will not be disappointed in this book. On now to the next one! ( )
  LadyoftheLodge | Feb 22, 2014 |
Besides creating enjoyable characters, a believable fantasy world, and a fast-paced plot, Flanagan does an excellent job incorporating humor effectively and writing suspenseful scenes. With that being said, some of the sections in the plot lack originality. However, overall, this book is a great, quick read that is sure to keep its readers’ interest. ( )
  ThePageturners | Feb 17, 2014 |
Capsule review: Will, who dreams of being a knight, is instead chosen as an apprentice by the Ranger, Halt. Fun enough, but not really original, and the conflicts resolve too easily. Decent YA fantasy. ( )
  Sopoforic | Feb 6, 2014 |
Loved this, couldn't wait to read the next. A well-crafted YA book which draws the reader in and shows both the strengths and the weaknesses in the character. Will is no perfect apprentice, but the reader gets to watch as he learns and grows. ( )
  Peace2 | Jan 11, 2014 |
The Rangers Apprentice is a tale of the boy Will who holds the fate of the world in his hands. With Morgarath ready to destroy all humans, Will must learn the ways of the Rangers and defeat Morgarath once and for all. Throughout this book you will find the risks Will takes to defeat Morgarath and keep everyone out of harms way. This book was excellent, especially the way it was written. I look forward to reading the other books in this series. I highly recommend this for fans of adventure and excitement.
  br14tyfo | Dec 6, 2013 |
Gabriel Asmar

Rangers Apprentice is the first book in this series by Jhon Flanagan it has a lot of good descriptions that are important and not excessive and has a very good plot with lots of action in it..
Rangers Apprentice is a book about a boy named Will he always wanted to go to battle school. So when the day came to chose the apprentice for their jobs Will didn't get picked for battle school because they thought he was the right person to go to battle school and so did all the outhere jobs. latter he finds out that he was picked to be a rangers apprentice and his boss is Halt. When will whent to his house that was not anything like the castle small and no workers.So he had to do work to live there like clean and cook it was so hard because he neverdone that before. after that he begins training to be a ranger and he goes on hunt and saves one of the battle school kids. so then they get mad at him. later in the story they have to go find the Kalkara.
This book was very good because it had a lot of action going on because they always got into problems another reason why it was good is it had a lot of good characters they explained how they felt and how they acted. like if they were angry happy and there thoughts.
Rangers Apprentice is a book that will make you want to continue reading the series I know I will. because of its good descriptions and good plot i would give this book a 4.5 out of 5. because it was a very good book. :) ( )
  br14gaas | Nov 25, 2013 |
I love this series! It has all the things that fantasy readers love --- friendships, otherworldly creatures and enemies, and battles. Although many protagonists usually have some hidden power that they are born with, or are just lucky, Will has to work for the skills that he later uses. It shows how he grows, both as a person, and as a ranger.
The author has an interesting way of narrating. Although the main character is Will, and a lot of the book is focused on him, Flanagan delves into the other characters and shows us their inner thoughts as well. It helps us understand them better, and we are better connected to different characters.
I would recommend this book to anyone. Even though it is probably better suited for boys, I think that anyone at any age can connect to this book. ( )
  Rebecca. | Nov 7, 2013 |
at first I thought typical. but far from it. the way the bullying was handled and the consequent result was fantastic. the ending perfect. ( )
  ritapt | Oct 30, 2013 |
Very fun read. I'll probably read another from the series soon. ( )
  Bookaliciouspam | Sep 20, 2013 |
This book is about a boy named Will and his great adventure. He lives at an orfanige in Afron. It comes the day when they are chosen to his area, a cook, battleschool, scribe, or a diplomat. On that day another area apears, the rangers. Will ends up becoming the rangers apprentiice. The rangers are an organization that are spys for the king. Little is known about them so Will is nervous.This takes Will on a wild journey learning to become, the rangers apprentice.
I found this book very exciting. As soon as I started reading just didn't want to stop. It had action, adventure, and a little bit of romance. This book was the best book I've ever read. There was also just enough suspens to exite the reader and not bore them. I would definatly recamend this book to anyone that would be able to read it. ( )
  ConnorE.b4 | Sep 17, 2013 |
This is one of the top favorite series for my middle school boys. They can't get enough of Ranger's Apprentice books. So I decided to read it and see for myself what all the excitement was about. I really enjoyed it. There was naturally a lot of set-up at the beginning, which the succeeding books will not need, so I wouldn't be surprised to like some of the others even more. The characters were well-developed and it will be interesting to see where they all go from here. The character of Halt reminded me of someone, but I can't think who. It will come to me eventually. Not really Dumbledore-y or Gandalf-y because Halt never smiles and we all know that Dumbledore and Gandalf can have quite the twinkle in their eyes, but the relationship with Will was a lot the same. Or maybe Gibbs and DiNozzo :). There were so many important lessons to learn in this book alongside all the action. Loyalty, friendship, bullying, self-esteem and courage were all dealt with. I definitely recommend it. One thing that was kind of weird, though, was the medieval feel of the book, yet the characters kept talking about taking showers. I found that kind of distracting. ( )
  Bduke | Aug 9, 2013 |
I wasn't really sure what to expect with this one. It came with a high recommendation, but I honestly knew nothing about it at all, so it was pretty much a blind reading. I ended up being really surprised by how much I liked it! It's a pretty standard coming of age fantasy story, but it was very well written. I believe it's marketed as YA or maybe even middle grade, but it didn't feel "young" at all to me. I really liked the characters, and the plot was fun and light. Overall, it was a really quick and quite enjoyable read. I've already ordered the next four in the series, and can't wait to try them out! Definitely recommended. ( )
  breakofdawn | Jun 11, 2013 |
I've listened to most of the Ranger's Apprentice books with my 13-year old son, but only in parts. The problem is that we start the book in the car and plot picks up and gets exciting, my son sneaks the book into the house and I end up missing huge parts. Since my questions about what I missed are answered in single word sentences, I've decided to listen to the series on my own, starting with the first one. The setting for the series is the Kingdom of Araluen, a medieval world complete with evil inhuman adversaries. Will, a 15-year old orphan is going through the apprentice process, hoping to be selected as one of the kingdom's elite warriors. But Will is small and doesn't have the size or strength to fight. But his intelligence and agility make him an ideal apprentice to the Ranger Halt. Great start to a great series! ( )
  jmoncton | Jun 3, 2013 |
This is an amazing book for people wanting a good clean adventure. It follows a young boy named Will as he becomes a Ranger. The characters are very developed and you will become very attached to each one. There's good action and it's a lot easier to follow than most books.
  miakabella | May 14, 2013 |
Thought this one was really interesting. I have been telling my son it reminds me of the Tolkein books without as many fictional creatures. I love the way Halt and Will's relationship has been growing and the maturing of the wards relationships with eachother. Horace I hated at first but now he's kind of cool. ( )
  LoftyIslanders | Apr 29, 2013 |
Real Good!
  br13jowe | Apr 26, 2013 |
A middleing fantasy/action novel. Nothing offensive but then not spectacular. ( )
  akmargie | Apr 4, 2013 |
Showing 1-25 of 121 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
15 avail.
195 wanted
6 pay7 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.16)
0.5
1 4
1.5 3
2 12
2.5 6
3 111
3.5 47
4 247
4.5 59
5 285

Audible.com

Three editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Recorded Books

An edition of this book was published by Recorded Books.

» Publisher information page

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 92,701,869 books! | Top bar: Always visible