Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Ruins of Gorlan (Ranger's Apprentice,…

The Ruins of Gorlan (Ranger's Apprentice, Book 1) (original 2004; edition 2010)

by John Flanagan

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
2,9551331,943 (4.16)117
Ohhhhhh there is never enough praise for this series of books!!! This book was the beginning of my spending spree and I LOVE em! Can never get over the amazing action scenes and epic description of characters and how they slowly grow up into adulthood! Really great first story to catch the attention of young adults!

Will and Halt- "You are the best!!!" lol ( )
  Leelynn | Jul 7, 2012 |
English (130)  Danish (1)  Dutch (1)  Aragonese Spanish (1)  All languages (133)
Showing 1-25 of 130 (next | show all)
My sister is a big fan of these series, she kept saying I should give it a try, so in the end I decided to do so.

Will is an orphan in a medieval England-like country where he really wants to be a knight, believing his father was one. Unfortunately, he is too small to make it into the fighting school, but faith has something better in play for Will. He becomes a Ranger's Apprentice. (Not that Will is enthusiast from the start, as Rangers are very mysterious like spies, and no one really knows what they do, and training with Halt isn't all 'pink fluffy unicorns dancing on rainbows' either.

I have to admit I really liked this book. It was almost impossible to put down, it's so action packed. It's not a big book, with about 250 pages, so it's a quick read, but the story is interesting and has a bit of everything: danger, fighting, training with swords, bow and arrow etc, mystery, but also loyalty and friendship. It's aimed at children over 10, i guess, but it's still very nice to read even if you're older. This is the first book in the Ranger's Apprentice-series, that currently stands on 12 books (and I think it's finished now). ( )
  Floratina | Sep 6, 2015 |
"I've never been one of those guys with lots of friends. Actually, I kind of always had to turn to book characters to cover my lack of real relationships. Thus, in the first year of college, when I discovered this series, I couldn't have been more glad for it.

The first reason is that I felt that I could relate to the protagonist after only a few pages. Will is, at first, a solitary little kid who doesn't know his place in the world. His situation only gets worse when the time for him to be chosen by one of the task masters of the castle approaches. What he didn't know is that his destiny was not to be an orthodox worker for the realm. Despite him not knowing why, he is chosen to be one of the realm's rangers, men that are responsible for the strategical defense of the land.

One of the strongest traits about Flanagan, as I see it, is that he really takes his time writing his story. Nothing feels rushed and crammed, so you can actually perceive character's development.

As soon as Will finds out what he is supposed to be, he brings out his utmost dedication to learn how to be a ranger. By following Halt's teachings, he soon becomes visibly one of the most promising young apprentices of his age. What he couldn't possibly have known is that his skills would soon be tested as an evil force that seriously threatens the King's well being approaches the realm.

Despite the adventures, what I remember liking the most about this book is the growing father-son relationship between Will and Halt. As I never had a close relationship with my own father, I always find this kind of story really touching. Also, the level of detail on Flanagan's descriptions of scenario and atmosphere are really good. As in perfect balanced good. He describes just enough so you can get a clear picture of the scene without being smashed by useless amounts of detail, as sometimes happens in other fantasy/fiction books.

Interesting quotes that I didn't include in the review:
“People will think what they want to,"" he said quietly. Never take too much notice of it.”

The Last Passage
Will sat quietly for some minutes. Almost unthinkingly, his hand went to touch the bronze oak leaf symbol hanging at his throat. Faintly, the evening breeze carried the sounds of the Battle-school drill yard to him, and the nonstop hammering and clanking from the armory that had been going on, night and day, for the past week. They were the sounds of Castle Redmont preparing for the coming war.
Yet strangely, for the first time in his life, he felt at peace.
" ( )
  AdemilsonM | Sep 2, 2015 |
Interesting story with a medieval-esque quality...kingdoms, castles, knights, monsters...and the traditional fantasy book plot of good over evil. Main character, Will, is a ward of the state and has been selected to be a ranger's apprentice on Choosing Day. Each of his friends goes off to begin their apprenticeships in their appointed professions. Will, disappointed at not being selected for Battle School, soon learns the important role the ranger's play in protecting the kingdom. When it becomes clear that an evil lord is threatening to overthrow the king, Will's advanced skills earn him a prominent place in the plan to track down and kill the powerful monsters who have been sent out to kill or be killed. Recommended for fantasy enthusiasts. ( )
  valorrmac | Aug 19, 2015 |
Great series. Good first book, probably my favorite. Halt is awesome.
  mateideyr | Jul 17, 2015 |
The first book in the Ranger's Apprentice series, The Ruins of Gorlan, is a real page-turner. This is one of the first books I recommend to my intermediate grade students who like fantasy. It is great to watch them devour the entire series and look for more books by John Flanagan. ( )
  Josh.Hegna | Apr 12, 2015 |
Pug is an orphan-sorry, WILL is an orphan-and he lives in Crydee-sorry, GORLAN-and he is awaiting the choosing of the apprentices from the youth of the populus. Pug, I mean WILL, wants to be a warrior, or anything other than a Magician-sorry RANGER-because they're really mysterious and people distrust them...

It's the re-told YA version of Raymond E. Fiest's Magician, only with Rangers instead of Magicians. Sure, if you're looking for a fantasy yarn that has the Story Arc of every fantasy novel since Toklien, then read it. I'm sure it won't disappoint much. The writing was fine, the dialogue fine; it's a fantasy yarn, that is all. ( )
  Xleptodactylous | Apr 7, 2015 |
This is a solid 4 star book in much the same way that Taken is a solid 4 star movie. It is exciting, tells a great story, has interesting characters, and moves along at a nice pace. The only complaint I have is Halt. He's exactly the kind of teacher I try not to be. He's not much for explaining things, but he sure is arrogant. Let's just hope that the second book in the series is better than Taken 2. ( )
  ladonna37 | Mar 4, 2015 |

This book had well developed characters and was very descriptive. Tug was awesome but I couldn't really get into the mindset of the main character Will. It was most definitely something on my end because as I said, the characters were well developed on the writers' end. The story was very predictable at times and the meat and bones of the book has definitely been done before, maybe too often. I am looking forward to reading the next book hoping that the rest of the series will win me over.

* I feel compelled to share that I read this book with my husband and he enjoyed it so much that he would have given it 5 stars. ( )
  BethYacoub | Dec 30, 2014 |
I wouldn't recommend this book to a friend. They just took ideas off video games. 4Q3P The cover art is awesome and I'd recommend this book to middle school students. I chose to read this book because it was highly recommend to my by friends. MitchellB
  edspicer | Dec 30, 2014 |
When fifteen-year-old Will is rejected by battleschool, he becomes the reluctant apprentice to the mysterious Ranger Halt, and winds up protecting the kingdom from danger. ( )
  ShellyPYA | Sep 10, 2014 |
This book is exactly like the video games you can play! It's really awesome, especially if you're into magic. 4Q4P The cover art is awesome and I'd recommend this book to middle school and high school students. I chose to read this book because I've read the other books in the series. ConnorK
  edspicer | Aug 25, 2014 |
I can see why it’s so popular. Fun to read, appealing.
  EuronerdLibrarian | Jun 4, 2014 |
This was a very enjoyable book, and recommend that you go to your nearest bookstore to get it. The adventure continues in book 2 which I will be starting on sometime this week. ( )
  wickedshizuku | May 12, 2014 |
Love it! Good old fantasy adventure, young protagonists, wise mentors, evil foes-the usual, but so well done! ( )
  LoftyIslanders | Apr 5, 2014 |
This was recommended by my ten year old son. I took his advice, read it and really enjoyed this book. My son is in the fourth grade and the book is more than appropriate for this age, although there are a couple of scary fight scenes that might frighten sensitive readers. ( )
  jsamaha | Mar 14, 2014 |
Exciting book. thrilling all the way through. the book is an adventure type series to me it starts with a young man named will who trains to become one of the something rangers they are a band of archers who are perfect with the bow and there saxe knife over all i highly recommened it. have fun with the series :D ( )
  JacksonG-C | Mar 5, 2014 |
This first book in the series was recommended to me by one of my middle school students. I had difficulty putting it down. Lots of compelling action, definitely a good "boy book" and should appeal to reluctant readers as well. Fans of Harry Potter and Lord of the Rings will not be disappointed in this book. On now to the next one! ( )
  LadyoftheLodge | Feb 22, 2014 |
Besides creating enjoyable characters, a believable fantasy world, and a fast-paced plot, Flanagan does an excellent job incorporating humor effectively and writing suspenseful scenes. With that being said, some of the sections in the plot lack originality. However, overall, this book is a great, quick read that is sure to keep its readers’ interest. ( )
  ThePageturners | Feb 17, 2014 |
Capsule review: Will, who dreams of being a knight, is instead chosen as an apprentice by the Ranger, Halt. Fun enough, but not really original, and the conflicts resolve too easily. Decent YA fantasy. ( )
  Sopoforic | Feb 6, 2014 |
Loved this, couldn't wait to read the next. A well-crafted YA book which draws the reader in and shows both the strengths and the weaknesses in the character. Will is no perfect apprentice, but the reader gets to watch as he learns and grows. ( )
  Peace2 | Jan 11, 2014 |
The Rangers Apprentice is a tale of the boy Will who holds the fate of the world in his hands. With Morgarath ready to destroy all humans, Will must learn the ways of the Rangers and defeat Morgarath once and for all. Throughout this book you will find the risks Will takes to defeat Morgarath and keep everyone out of harms way. This book was excellent, especially the way it was written. I look forward to reading the other books in this series. I highly recommend this for fans of adventure and excitement.
  br14tyfo | Dec 6, 2013 |
Gabriel Asmar

Rangers Apprentice is the first book in this series by Jhon Flanagan it has a lot of good descriptions that are important and not excessive and has a very good plot with lots of action in it..
Rangers Apprentice is a book about a boy named Will he always wanted to go to battle school. So when the day came to chose the apprentice for their jobs Will didn't get picked for battle school because they thought he was the right person to go to battle school and so did all the outhere jobs. latter he finds out that he was picked to be a rangers apprentice and his boss is Halt. When will whent to his house that was not anything like the castle small and no workers.So he had to do work to live there like clean and cook it was so hard because he neverdone that before. after that he begins training to be a ranger and he goes on hunt and saves one of the battle school kids. so then they get mad at him. later in the story they have to go find the Kalkara.
This book was very good because it had a lot of action going on because they always got into problems another reason why it was good is it had a lot of good characters they explained how they felt and how they acted. like if they were angry happy and there thoughts.
Rangers Apprentice is a book that will make you want to continue reading the series I know I will. because of its good descriptions and good plot i would give this book a 4.5 out of 5. because it was a very good book. :) ( )
  br14gaas | Nov 25, 2013 |
I love this series! It has all the things that fantasy readers love --- friendships, otherworldly creatures and enemies, and battles. Although many protagonists usually have some hidden power that they are born with, or are just lucky, Will has to work for the skills that he later uses. It shows how he grows, both as a person, and as a ranger.
The author has an interesting way of narrating. Although the main character is Will, and a lot of the book is focused on him, Flanagan delves into the other characters and shows us their inner thoughts as well. It helps us understand them better, and we are better connected to different characters.
I would recommend this book to anyone. Even though it is probably better suited for boys, I think that anyone at any age can connect to this book. ( )
  Rebecca. | Nov 7, 2013 |
at first I thought typical. but far from it. the way the bullying was handled and the consequent result was fantastic. the ending perfect. ( )
  ritapt | Oct 30, 2013 |
Very fun read. I'll probably read another from the series soon. ( )
  Bookaliciouspam | Sep 20, 2013 |
Showing 1-25 of 130 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
7 avail.
81 wanted
6 pay7 pay

Popular covers


Average: (4.16)
1 6
1.5 3
2 13
2.5 7
3 116
3.5 49
4 268
4.5 60
5 301


3 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Recorded Books

An edition of this book was published by Recorded Books.

» Publisher information page

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.


Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 99,706,371 books! | Top bar: Always visible