HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Ruins of Gorlan (Ranger's Apprentice,…
Loading...

The Ruins of Gorlan (Ranger's Apprentice, Book 1) (original 2004; edition 2010)

by John Flanagan

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
3,1301381,796 (4.14)119
Ohhhhhh there is never enough praise for this series of books!!! This book was the beginning of my spending spree and I LOVE em! Can never get over the amazing action scenes and epic description of characters and how they slowly grow up into adulthood! Really great first story to catch the attention of young adults!

Will and Halt- "You are the best!!!" lol ( )
  Leelynn | Jul 7, 2012 |
English (135)  Danish (1)  Dutch (1)  Aragonese Spanish (1)  All languages (138)
Showing 1-25 of 135 (next | show all)
This is one of my favorite books, and although it is meant for younger ages (it's in the children's room at my library), it has enough to keep older audiences intrigued as well. I love this series and I'm currently on book five. These books are about a 15 year old boy who is training to be a Ranger, sort of like the kingdoms scouts or spies of sorts. Definitely worth the read, and I read it in two days.
  oddree | Mar 1, 2016 |
This was amazingly bad. The writing itself is basically readable, but every single detail, phrase, made-up-name and plot point is the most cliched cliche ever written. Oh no! The evil Morgarath is trying to take over the generically Medieval Europe! Only young Will, an orphaned apprentice to the mysterious Rangers, can possibly save the kingdom! Le sigh.

Can be freely read online here: http://www.scribd.com/doc/10330799/Rangers-Apprentice-The-Ruins-of-Gorlan ( )
  wealhtheowwylfing | Feb 29, 2016 |
This was great! Likeable characters, good plot and plenty of action. Looking forward to reading the others in the series. ( )
  HeatherLINC | Jan 22, 2016 |
What a great start to a series. A really simple read, but fun and perfect for pre-teens. ( )
  biggs1399 | Jan 19, 2016 |
I have to re-read the first 5 Rangers Apprentice books in 3 days to win a bet with my sister. Wish me luck. :-) ( )
  TheEditrix | Jan 13, 2016 |
Ranger’s Apprentice
Book 1
The Ruins Of
Gorlan
John Flanagan
Hook
The Rangers, with their shadowy ways, have always made him nervous. And now fiffteen year old Will has been chosen as Ranger’s apprentice. But he doesn’t yet realize is that that the Rangers are the protectors of the kingdom who will fight the battles before the battles reach the people. And there is a large battle that is brewing. The exiled Morgarath, Lord of mountains of rains and night, is gathering his forces for an attack on the kingdom.This time he will not be denied…
It was ten minutes before they heard the screaming. It was an unearthly sound that twisted the stomach knots of fear and turned the blood cold. Involuntarily, the Bardon and sir Rodney reined in as they heard it. Thier horses plunged wildly against the reins.It came from straight ahead of them and rose and fell until the air quaked with the horror of it. “ Good god of heavens”the Bardon exclaimed. “ what is that” “It’s the Kalkara,” Will said “ They’re hunting.”


Will was a nice fifteen year old boy, and when he was just a little baby he was put in a basket and left on the steps of castle redmont and he was left with a note that said, His mother died in childbirth. His father died a hero. Please care for him. His name is Will

will was just so nervous that he just couldn't eat it 12 hours before the choosing ceremony a friend said come on well at least try to eat something said Jenny, Jenny was a pretty little cheerful girl towards will she was also very nice. “George said nervous I imagine” he said. Little said I'm not nervous he said in a nervous tone of voice. George nodded it several times. will stated on the other hand he added,” “ a little Nervousness can actually improve performance.” Will was the only wardmates that has fears about choosing that would take place in within 12 hours he really want to get into battle school training, He wanted to follow his father's footsteps as. The choosing ceremony only came around once year.Each year, Castle worth turning 15 could apply to be an Apprentice to the Masters of the various craft and serve the castle and its people. Originally, craft the Apprentice little were selected by dint of their parents occupation or and put into with the craftmasters, the usually had it no such influence attended this was there a chance to win in a future for themselves

All right! Candidates! This way ! And look lively! said Martin it was the time of the choosing ceremony. Time have a ride for the choosing ceremony Spite nervousness made him stop for a moment then he continued to walk. the first person that walked into the room was Sir Rodney,he’s the master of battle school he was a tall and broad-shouldered man he wore a nice looking battledress of chain mail shirt under a white surcoat emblazoned with his own crest, a scarlet wolfshead.He also had a sword belt. The next person that came was Ulf he was the horsemaster,he’s responsible for the care of the mighty battle
  atol9741 | Dec 15, 2015 |
My sister is a big fan of these series, she kept saying I should give it a try, so in the end I decided to do so.

Will is an orphan in a medieval England-like country where he really wants to be a knight, believing his father was one. Unfortunately, he is too small to make it into the fighting school, but faith has something better in play for Will. He becomes a Ranger's Apprentice. (Not that Will is enthusiast from the start, as Rangers are very mysterious like spies, and no one really knows what they do, and training with Halt isn't all 'pink fluffy unicorns dancing on rainbows' either.

I have to admit I really liked this book. It was almost impossible to put down, it's so action packed. It's not a big book, with about 250 pages, so it's a quick read, but the story is interesting and has a bit of everything: danger, fighting, training with swords, bow and arrow etc, mystery, but also loyalty and friendship. It's aimed at children over 10, i guess, but it's still very nice to read even if you're older. This is the first book in the Ranger's Apprentice-series, that currently stands on 12 books (and I think it's finished now). ( )
  Floratina | Sep 6, 2015 |
"I've never been one of those guys with lots of friends. Actually, I kind of always had to turn to book characters to cover my lack of real relationships. Thus, in the first year of college, when I discovered this series, I couldn't have been more glad for it.

The first reason is that I felt that I could relate to the protagonist after only a few pages. Will is, at first, a solitary little kid who doesn't know his place in the world. His situation only gets worse when the time for him to be chosen by one of the task masters of the castle approaches. What he didn't know is that his destiny was not to be an orthodox worker for the realm. Despite him not knowing why, he is chosen to be one of the realm's rangers, men that are responsible for the strategical defense of the land.

One of the strongest traits about Flanagan, as I see it, is that he really takes his time writing his story. Nothing feels rushed and crammed, so you can actually perceive character's development.

As soon as Will finds out what he is supposed to be, he brings out his utmost dedication to learn how to be a ranger. By following Halt's teachings, he soon becomes visibly one of the most promising young apprentices of his age. What he couldn't possibly have known is that his skills would soon be tested as an evil force that seriously threatens the King's well being approaches the realm.



Despite the adventures, what I remember liking the most about this book is the growing father-son relationship between Will and Halt. As I never had a close relationship with my own father, I always find this kind of story really touching. Also, the level of detail on Flanagan's descriptions of scenario and atmosphere are really good. As in perfect balanced good. He describes just enough so you can get a clear picture of the scene without being smashed by useless amounts of detail, as sometimes happens in other fantasy/fiction books.

Interesting quotes that I didn't include in the review:
“People will think what they want to,"" he said quietly. Never take too much notice of it.”

The Last Passage
Will sat quietly for some minutes. Almost unthinkingly, his hand went to touch the bronze oak leaf symbol hanging at his throat. Faintly, the evening breeze carried the sounds of the Battle-school drill yard to him, and the nonstop hammering and clanking from the armory that had been going on, night and day, for the past week. They were the sounds of Castle Redmont preparing for the coming war.
Yet strangely, for the first time in his life, he felt at peace.
" ( )
  AdemilsonM | Sep 2, 2015 |
Interesting story with a medieval-esque quality...kingdoms, castles, knights, monsters...and the traditional fantasy book plot of good over evil. Main character, Will, is a ward of the state and has been selected to be a ranger's apprentice on Choosing Day. Each of his friends goes off to begin their apprenticeships in their appointed professions. Will, disappointed at not being selected for Battle School, soon learns the important role the ranger's play in protecting the kingdom. When it becomes clear that an evil lord is threatening to overthrow the king, Will's advanced skills earn him a prominent place in the plan to track down and kill the powerful monsters who have been sent out to kill or be killed. Recommended for fantasy enthusiasts. ( )
  valorrmac | Aug 19, 2015 |
Great series. Good first book, probably my favorite. Halt is awesome.
  mateideyr | Jul 17, 2015 |
The first book in the Ranger's Apprentice series, The Ruins of Gorlan, is a real page-turner. This is one of the first books I recommend to my intermediate grade students who like fantasy. It is great to watch them devour the entire series and look for more books by John Flanagan. ( )
  Josh.Hegna | Apr 12, 2015 |
Pug is an orphan-sorry, WILL is an orphan-and he lives in Crydee-sorry, GORLAN-and he is awaiting the choosing of the apprentices from the youth of the populus. Pug, I mean WILL, wants to be a warrior, or anything other than a Magician-sorry RANGER-because they're really mysterious and people distrust them...

It's the re-told YA version of Raymond E. Fiest's Magician, only with Rangers instead of Magicians. Sure, if you're looking for a fantasy yarn that has the Story Arc of every fantasy novel since Toklien, then read it. I'm sure it won't disappoint much. The writing was fine, the dialogue fine; it's a fantasy yarn, that is all. ( )
  Xleptodactylous | Apr 7, 2015 |
This is a solid 4 star book in much the same way that Taken is a solid 4 star movie. It is exciting, tells a great story, has interesting characters, and moves along at a nice pace. The only complaint I have is Halt. He's exactly the kind of teacher I try not to be. He's not much for explaining things, but he sure is arrogant. Let's just hope that the second book in the series is better than Taken 2. ( )
  ladonna37 | Mar 4, 2015 |
~~~~~~~~~~~~~3.5~~~~~~~~~~~

This book had well developed characters and was very descriptive. Tug was awesome but I couldn't really get into the mindset of the main character Will. It was most definitely something on my end because as I said, the characters were well developed on the writers' end. The story was very predictable at times and the meat and bones of the book has definitely been done before, maybe too often. I am looking forward to reading the next book hoping that the rest of the series will win me over.

* I feel compelled to share that I read this book with my husband and he enjoyed it so much that he would have given it 5 stars. ( )
  BethYacoub | Dec 30, 2014 |
I wouldn't recommend this book to a friend. They just took ideas off video games. 4Q3P The cover art is awesome and I'd recommend this book to middle school students. I chose to read this book because it was highly recommend to my by friends. MitchellB
  edspicer | Dec 30, 2014 |
When fifteen-year-old Will is rejected by battleschool, he becomes the reluctant apprentice to the mysterious Ranger Halt, and winds up protecting the kingdom from danger. ( )
  ShellyPYA | Sep 10, 2014 |
This book is exactly like the video games you can play! It's really awesome, especially if you're into magic. 4Q4P The cover art is awesome and I'd recommend this book to middle school and high school students. I chose to read this book because I've read the other books in the series. ConnorK
  edspicer | Aug 25, 2014 |
I can see why it’s so popular. Fun to read, appealing.
  EuronerdLibrarian | Jun 4, 2014 |
This was a very enjoyable book, and recommend that you go to your nearest bookstore to get it. The adventure continues in book 2 which I will be starting on sometime this week. ( )
  wickedshizuku | May 12, 2014 |
Love it! Good old fantasy adventure, young protagonists, wise mentors, evil foes-the usual, but so well done! ( )
  LoftyIslanders | Apr 5, 2014 |
This was recommended by my ten year old son. I took his advice, read it and really enjoyed this book. My son is in the fourth grade and the book is more than appropriate for this age, although there are a couple of scary fight scenes that might frighten sensitive readers. ( )
  jsamaha | Mar 14, 2014 |
Exciting book. thrilling all the way through. the book is an adventure type series to me it starts with a young man named will who trains to become one of the something rangers they are a band of archers who are perfect with the bow and there saxe knife over all i highly recommened it. have fun with the series :D ( )
  JacksonG-C | Mar 5, 2014 |
This first book in the series was recommended to me by one of my middle school students. I had difficulty putting it down. Lots of compelling action, definitely a good "boy book" and should appeal to reluctant readers as well. Fans of Harry Potter and Lord of the Rings will not be disappointed in this book. On now to the next one! ( )
  LadyoftheLodge | Feb 22, 2014 |
Besides creating enjoyable characters, a believable fantasy world, and a fast-paced plot, Flanagan does an excellent job incorporating humor effectively and writing suspenseful scenes. With that being said, some of the sections in the plot lack originality. However, overall, this book is a great, quick read that is sure to keep its readers’ interest. ( )
  ThePageturners | Feb 17, 2014 |
Capsule review: Will, who dreams of being a knight, is instead chosen as an apprentice by the Ranger, Halt. Fun enough, but not really original, and the conflicts resolve too easily. Decent YA fantasy. ( )
  Sopoforic | Feb 6, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 135 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
11 avail.
129 wanted
6 pay7 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.14)
0.5
1 8
1.5 3
2 13
2.5 8
3 126
3.5 49
4 283
4.5 61
5 309

Audible.com

3 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Recorded Books

An edition of this book was published by Recorded Books.

» Publisher information page

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 105,255,475 books! | Top bar: Always visible