Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Panda Bear, Panda Bear, What Do You See? by…

Panda Bear, Panda Bear, What Do You See?

by Bill Martin, Jr.

Other authors: Eric Carle (Illustrator)

Series: Brown Bear and Friends (book 3)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
1,591484,577 (4.02)2



Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 2 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 48 (next | show all)
I liked this book because I think it is a good way to teach students about endangered animals. This books is about kids in a classroom learning about different animals that are dying out. Similar to Brown Bear, Brown Bear, this is a good way to teach phonics and sight words to students who are learning how to read. Brown Bear uses unrealistic colors with animals such as a purple cat, whereas Panda Bear focuses more on unique animals such as a water buffalo and a spider monkey. In addition, I liked this book because the illustrations are very unique. For example, the grass is greens and yellows with different types of patterns that you would not see in any other book. The main message of this story is for new students to recognize patterns and animals. This would be a great book to use in a lower-level classroom. ( )
  klane10 | Oct 3, 2016 |
This beautifully illustrated book is full of endangered species. It starts with a panda bear who sees another animal and that animal sees another endangered specie. It goes until it reaches a "dreaming child".
  OliviaJacobson | Sep 10, 2016 |
A great book for kids learning to read ( )
  Shadow494 | Jun 20, 2016 |
I enjoy how Bill Martin's books keep with the rhyming theme and the repetition. The stories are uncomplicated and easy for the children to learn. It also teaches the children about two senses. ( )
  Paigealyssa | Apr 12, 2016 |
I enjoy Bill Martin's rhythmic books with the repetition and uncomplicated story it makes a great preschool book or beginner reader story. Curricular connection are sequencing, reflection, learning more about each animal, and 2 of the 5 senses. ( )
  KatBarbie | Feb 24, 2016 |
Showing 1-5 of 48 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review

» Add other authors (4 possible)

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
Jr., Bill Martin,primary authorall editionsconfirmed
Carle, EricIllustratorsecondary authorall editionsconfirmed
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
First words
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Translation = ?Panda, Panda, what you see there? ?
Publisher's editors
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (1)

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Amazon.com Review (ISBN 0805017585, Hardcover)

Fans of Bill Martin Jr. and Eric Carle's Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See? and Polar Bear, Polar Bear, What Do You Hear? will be delighted to see another title in this lilting call and response series. Much like their earlier picture books, Panda Bear features a string of fine feathered (and furry and scaly) friends watching over each other. In this book, however, all the animals are endangered, from a swinging spider monkey to a strutting macaroni penguin (kids will get a kick out of that name!) to a splashing sea lion. Carle’s trademark tissue paper collages will be as familiar--and welcome--as the text ("Whooping Crane, Whooping Crane, what do you see?" "I see a black panther strolling by me."); young readers will quickly get the hang of the rhythm and join right in. The book concludes on a hopeful note, with a dreaming child seeing the ten f! eatured animals "all wild and free--/ that’s what I see!" Martin includes a note on endangered species that may spark concern and interest in older readers--our hope for these disappearing creatures. (Ages 3 to 8) --Emilie Coulter

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:06:08 -0400)

(see all 8 descriptions)

Illustrations and rhyming text present ten different endangered animals.

» see all 7 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
53 wanted1 pay2 pay

Popular covers


Average: (4.02)
1.5 1
2 4
2.5 2
3 36
3.5 7
4 56
4.5 9
5 52


An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

Penguin Australia

An edition of this book was published by Penguin Australia.

» Publisher information page

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.


You are using the new servers! | About | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 109,763,712 books! | Top bar: Always visible