HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

L'eleganza del riccio by Muriel Barbery
Loading...

L'eleganza del riccio (original 2006; edition 2007)

by Muriel Barbery

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations / Mentions
7,758492434 (3.8)2 / 816
L'eleganza del riccio è un libro apparentemente semplice che cela diversi livelli di lettura. Il primo, superficiale, ha portato alcuni a disprezzarlo e altri a fraintenderlo. Eppure non c'è snobismo o pedanteria, non c'è intenzione di sminuire il lettore e di ridurlo a spettatore ignaro e passivo.
Certamente lo studio della filosofia aiuta a comprendere alcni passaggi in maniera più completa, giacché la Barbery ha la tendenza di esporre le proprie istanze filosofiche per bocca delle sue protagoniste che a volte sembrano la personificazione dell'autrice più che il loro personaggio.
Il succo però è che la Barbery vuole sottolineare come la cultura sia alla portata di tutti, se si ha la volontà di perseguirla, e non solo appannaggio di accademici paludati. Non è quindi snobismo, tutt'altro. Anzi dietro alle persone più insospettabili può celarsi una persona colta.
Forte quindi è il tema della maschera assunta dalle due protagoniste. Una si cela sotto l'apparenza dello stereotipo più classico della portinaia, sciatta e ignorante, dedita alla televisione e non troppo sveglia. All'altra, una dodicenne assai precoce, il gioco riesce più difficile in quanto celare la propria intelligenza, ridurla a standard normali è impossibile.
Questo porta Paloma alla constatazione della mediocrità della propria famiglia e combattuta tra la sua maturità mentale e il classico disagio adolescenziale, decide di farla finita portando con sé le certezze materiali dei mediocri genitori.
A svelare entrambe non a casa sarà un ricco e colto giapponese. La maschera infatti è un tema dominante della società nipponica.
Saranno quest'ultimo e Reneè la portinaia a introdurre Paloma a un mondo diverso.
La narrazione è divisa tra le voci delle due donne, l'una in prima persona, l'altra sotto forma di diario. Il risultato è un romanzo ricco di significati e di delicate sensazioni che si legge d'un fiato. ( )
  Zeruhur | May 26, 2012 |
English (392)  French (26)  Spanish (26)  Italian (23)  German (10)  Finnish (7)  Swedish (5)  Dutch (4)  Catalan (4)  Norwegian (1)  All languages (498)
Showing 1-25 of 392 (next | show all)
loved it. will read it again. ( )
  annadanz | Jul 5, 2015 |
Two philosophical misanthropes are surprised by a caring new tenant. Slow start and surprise ending. Absorbing in the middle. ( )
  ted_newell | Jun 20, 2015 |
Drivel. It's the most irritating artifice in books to conflate the precocious with interesting and charming. Renee (a self-inflicted outcast) and Paloma (a self-inflicted angsty brat), you are smart but you are far from interesting or charming. ( )
  gendeg | Jun 2, 2015 |
just didn't do it for me - got about 1/3 thru and scanned to the end ( )
  Cheryl_in_CC_NV | Apr 14, 2015 |
I LOVED this book!! I listened to the audio version and immediately started over when I finished because I could not bare to leave these characters! I appreciated the foreshadowing and themes so much better the second time around. It is SUCH a lovely book and so well written. I just ADORE Renee Michelle! ( )
  DonnaB317 | Feb 27, 2015 |
This novel is narrated partly by Renee Michel, the concierge of an apartment building in Paris, and partly by Paloma Josse, a twelve year old girl who lives in one of the apartments. Renee is an autodidact, who has spent her adult life concealing her learning and intelligence and "acting" the pat of a typical concierge. Her early chapters contain lengthy musings on life, art and philosophy. Paloma despises her parents and sister and intends to set fire to her apartment and commit suicide on her birthday, because life is meaningless. During the course of the novel, a M. Ozu moves into one of the apartments, realizes that Renee is cultured and curious, and befriends her. Paloma is also drawn into this little club of intellectuals and decides that life is worth living after all, for the moments of beauty one comes across.

There is humour in this novel, as Mme. Michel is patronized by the apartment owners and as Paloma critiques her family, and there are clever parallels that arise in the thinking of Renee and Paloma. But... it took me a couple of goes to get into this book. There is a bit too much philosophy and either something has been lost in translation or some of it is a bit impenetrable. I was not very impressed with the translation (e.g. Why was "lavaliere" not translated? "...cushions covered with crocheted cases" had me puzzling over what these cases might be before I realized she just meant crocheted cushion covers. There were many, many instances where the language was unidiomatic and at least one wrongly conjugated verb, which really matters in a book where poor grammar is criticized consistently.)

The ending was sad, but not as sad as it might have been had I really engaged with the characters. Both Renee and, to a lesser extent, Paloma, come across as supercilious and unkind, and, while their observations amused me, I didn't identify with them. ( )
  pgchuis | Feb 8, 2015 |
Non saprei. Ci sono pagine che sembrano copiate da altri recenti libri inneggianti alla filosofia (Platone è meglio del Prozac, Manuale dell'Ateismo...). Poi ci sono capitoli surreali, dove la portinaia e/o la dodicenne hanno pensieri che rasentano il grottesco - per il peso specifico delle parole, che sembrano prese interamente da enciclopedie dell'Arte o da breviari del pensiero laico. Poi in altre sezioni ci sono informazioni interessanti sul go, e sui film di Ozu. E sulle porte scorrevoli. Ogni tanto, qualche frase saggia - di una saggezza che non sembra tuttavia appartenere all'autrice. Un libro denso di riferimenti 'intellettual-chic', che diventa ben presto borioso. Più che una 'raffinata commedia francese', un fantasy per intellettuali frustrati. ( )
  bobparr | Dec 14, 2014 |
Renée Michel is a concierge for an upscale apartment building that is inhabited by bourgeois families. Renée is an intelligent autodidact that hides herself from the residents of this elegant apartment, trying to confirm every stereotype they might have towards a concierge. However a precocious girl named Paloma suspects there is something more about Renée. When a wealthy Japanese business man moves into the building, he sees right through the concierge’s façade and tries to befriend her for some intellectual conversations.

The Elegance of the Hedgehog is a highly successful novel by Muriel Barbery who obtained her agrégation in philosophy before becoming a professor for the Université de Bourgogne. The publication I read was a Europia edition that was translated by novelist and Literary translator Alison Anderson. L’Élégance du hérisson was translated into more than forty languages and has also been adapted into the 2009 movie The Hedgehog (Le hérisson) staring Josiane Balasko, Garance Le Guillermic and Togo Igawa.

This novel is full of allusions towards works of literature, music, films, and paintings, which is one of the reasons I loved this book. While it might come across as pretentious and somewhat cynical The Elegance of the Hedgehog plays a lot with the ideas of stereotypes, class-consciousness and acceptance. A philosophical novel that explores ideas of how we present ourselves to the world and if we should pretend to be someone different, if that is what others expect from you.

There are plenty of philosophical ideas running through this novel that presents different ideologies, Muriel Barbery has stated that literature is an effective way to explore philosophy. Having sat through plenty of long and boring philosophy classes she wanted a way to explore the ideas in a more effective and interesting way. I suspect people can get lost in the pretentious nature of this book but also the ending; however I think it was a fitting ending for the novel.

I found The Elegance of the Hedgehog to be a beautiful, if not recherché little novel and I enjoyed every moment of it. I wanted to turn back to page one and start again; I think there is plenty within this book to offer its readers. If you pay close attention to the book you might also notice that most of the book was told in a first person, present day nature that makes for a fresh look at the story that I didn’t notice till near the end. I know I should have paid more attention but this is one of the main reasons I wanted to re-read the book.

Lovers of philosophy and literature would love this book but also anyone interested in Marxism. I know I didn’t talk much about the class struggle within the book but that is because I have much to learn in this area. The Elegance of the Hedgehog is an intelligent novel, full of references to literature, witty and smart humour with a satirical nature. The way this French novel translates into an elegant English novel is a testimony to Alison Anderson’s ability but she had a great piece of literature to work with. I would highly recommend this novel to everyone but maybe that isn’t a good idea, I think you have to be in the right frame of mind or mood to truly enjoy this book.

This review originally appeared on my blog: http://literary-exploration.com/2014/12/02/the-elegance-of-the-hedgehog-by-murie... ( )
1 vote knowledge_lost | Dec 3, 2014 |
The characters are awfully pretentious, but I think it fit them and in the end, I loved the book. Though it got a bit too much at times, but I just skipped some paragraphs until the author/character got her head screwed back on correctly.
  inkyphalangies | Nov 28, 2014 |
The pacing of the book worked well, and I found the author's portrayal of cats charming.

However, for a supposed social critique, this book conformed too much and was frequently constructed on shoddy premises. A few things that annoyed me:

1. I could not buy into why it was so important that Mme Michel emulate “how a concierge must act” to the extent of cooking food she doesn't like.

2. If we are actually meant to believe that approximately 60% of the cast of characters have no real thoughts in their heads, the author might have done better to describe their actions more and focus less on what the viewpoint characters thought about them. Paloma especially does not feel like a trustworthy narrator.

3. No one in this book is as “deep” as they think they are. I spent half the story assuming this was deliberate, but if it is, something gets lost in translation (I read the English translation).

4. The ending is not just a cheap shortcut; it undermines a considerable amount of what was supposedly the author’s point.
( )
  eaterofwords | Nov 16, 2014 |
I found this book unspeakably pretentious and nasty. ( )
  lucypick | Sep 23, 2014 |
Lesson learned...the beauty of now.
The first few "chapters" irritated the hound out of me...too philosophical. But then Mr. Ozu was introduced. What a BEAUTIFUL character!
Of course, Renee and Paloma were both beautiful characters too...and Manuela. But I LOVE Mr. Ozu.
The beauty of now. ( )
  Mariesreads | Jul 10, 2014 |
I loved this book and was quite surprised to read so many negative comments about it. I found the story sweet and captivating and the characters very engaging. What I loved most were the writer's use of language and the way she seemed to really understand the mind of the young girl. ( )
  rosiezbanks | Jul 1, 2014 |
I am sidelining this book for now. I cannot go any further. Beings it's on my 2013 challenge as "read"(don't know how to remove status), I will get back to this. I just can't finish it at this time. I have too many other books to read and I know one of those books has more to offer than this. If I had to rate this book now I would give it 1 star. Perhaps I am too anxious to move on to one of my new books but even so, shouldn't a great book hold one's attention until the end? ( )
  MaryEvelynLS | Jun 1, 2014 |
I enjoyed this lovely, meditative novel. It's not a good choice for anyone who enjoys a can't-put-it-down plot, but if you enjoy the beauty of language, art, and philosophy, and you like quirky characters, then I highly recommend it. ( )
  NTPawelski | May 29, 2014 |
3 stars because I enjoyed reading the novel in French, although 1 or 2 stars would better reflect my estimation of its literary worth. Sort of a latter-day Bridges of Madison County(much better written, however, than that one-of-the-worst-yet-most-popular-novels-of-all-time). What irritated me most about the two main characters (the alternating "voices") in the novel, Renée (54 year old concierge of an upscale Parisian apartment building)and Paloma (12 year old "genius" daughter of left-liberal bourgeois parents who live in the building), was their snobbish contempt for almost all of the people around them, characterized en masse as "les riches." R & P claim to be hiding out, hiding their little light under a bushel, so to speak, because they are misunderstood and constrained by social expectations. Almost everyone else is superficial and pretentious, from their point of view. However, R & P struck me as just as mired in prejudice as those they despise. Their "special" sensitivity and intelligence make their "profound thoughts" (Paloma) and aesthetics somehow superior to everyone else's. Oh woe to anything more contemporary than 19th century Russian novels or 18th century French language (Barbery dishes all things "postmodern" with an exception made for a few movies such as Blade Runner, which perhaps she would be surprised to learn is considered the quintessential postmodern film). Japanese culture and style as understood by Barbery(exemplified by the idealized Kakuro Ozu) are incongruously fetishized by both protagonists. 2/3 of the way through, the novel shifts gears and switches from whining, intellectual pretension (discourses on Beauty, Art and Meaning) and faux philosophy to a pretty straight forward Cinderella story. I must say I enjoyed the "dime store novel" plot better than the treatises that preceded it. Killing Renée off at the end, just after she's come out of her shell and transmogrified from an ugly duckling into a beautiful swan under the gaze of Kakuro and Paloma, who see her as she "really" is, is a plot device worthy of any number of cheap romance flicks and novels. Of course, it brought tears to my eyes (oh why couldn't there have been a happy ending? why couldn't she and Kakuro have lived together happily ever after?) which in and of itself, put me on my guard and made me suspicious. Here we go again! My tear-jerk meter was going crazy which means that my emotions were being manipulated. And I HATE to be manipulated. ( )
  Paulagraph | May 25, 2014 |
I love when a book has such love and hate towards it! I must admit, this was definitely not a typical read for me. Despite how "odd" the book was, I continued on. The last 100 pages or so was better than the beginning. However, one of my favorite "profound thoughts" was early on about two dogs and their owners ;-) ( )
  patsaintsfan | May 23, 2014 |
This was really three books in one. The first was a dull and dry exploration of why the two main characters (an older concierge and a young girl in her building) are smarter than everyone else and why they need to hide that fact. This section of the book got lost staring at its own navel. Luckily, a new man moves into the building and brings with him a spark of life. He's smart and refined but feels no need to either hide it or flaunt it. He brings the two female characters out of their shells and the book turns into a beautiful love story. This was by far the best part of the book. The last part of the book is a sudden tragedy that happens in the last 5 or 10 pages. It really comes out of nowhere and ends the love story cold. The young girl finds a new path that won't (hopefully) lead to her destruction, but the abruptness really caught me off guard and soured my taste for the book. ( )
  sbloom42 | May 21, 2014 |
2.5 stars

Renee is 54 years old, a widow and a concierge. She has one friend, Manuela. Paloma is 12 years old and lives in one of the apartments in Renee's building. Renee is much smarter than she wants people to know. Paloma is just really smart.

I wasn't a fan. Paloma is not the least bit likable, and though I initially thought that about Renee, as well, Renee grew on me some. There was a lot of boring philosophy in the book, which I'm not interested in in the least. Paloma was ridiculously snobby. The book got slightly better in the second half, but overall, philosophy is not my thing, the characters were mostly unlikable and “pretty” prose doesn't impress me (in fact, it usually bores me, and did again this time). ( )
  LibraryCin | May 16, 2014 |
Do not get bogged down or hung up on the philosophy or vocabulary in this book, (one reader suggests having a dictionary close at hand)because beneath all of that is a heatwarming, brilliant, witty, bittersweet story.

I will read this again!

"Madame Michel has the elegance of the hedgehog: on the outside she is covered in quills, a real fortress, but my gut feeling is that on the inside, she has the same simple refinement as the hedgehog: a deceptively indolent little creature, fiercely solitary--and terrible elegant. "
— Muriel Barbery (The Elegance of the Hedgehog)
( )
  FAR2MANYBOOKS | Apr 5, 2014 |
Do not get bogged down or hung up on the philosophy or vocabulary in this book, (one reader suggests having a dictionary close at hand)because beneath all of that is a heatwarming, brilliant, witty, bittersweet story.

I will read this again!

"Madame Michel has the elegance of the hedgehog: on the outside she is covered in quills, a real fortress, but my gut feeling is that on the inside, she has the same simple refinement as the hedgehog: a deceptively indolent little creature, fiercely solitary--and terrible elegant. "
— Muriel Barbery (The Elegance of the Hedgehog)
( )
  FAR2MANYBOOKS | Apr 5, 2014 |
I absolutely loved this book. The trio of unique characters -- all wise, authentic and sharing a passion for literature, philosophy and art -- blended unexpectedly together. The writing is beautiful as was the story. ( )
  AmyKite | Apr 2, 2014 |
Elegance is a matter of taste, of preference, rather than an absolute.

Renee and Paloma are fish out of water. Renee is the building concierge in a fashionable apartment building in Paris and, to the shallow observer, Renee is anything but fashionable. She is from a modest, working-class family and unappealing to those who would look only on the surface. Paloma is the precocious, youngest daughter of a wealthy family in the building. She refuses any attempt at inclusion in the privileged world of her family. What courses beneath the surface for both of these women is a rich, complex internal life. Though she never finished a formal education, Renee has schooled herself in literature and philosophy and art. And Paloma, though merely eccentric appearing, has calculated the meaninglessness of life and is planning a grand suicide on the date of her thirteenth birthday party.

There is an elegance to Barbery’s novel, though it is diluted by a careless narrative, a lack of good editing, and a saccharine ending. Renee and Paloma are exquisite characters with a depth and complexity that is rare in literature. The irony of their lives would be a joke if they were any less authentic. But Barbey was enchanted by her own characters to the point of distraction and the narrative suffers for it. There could be nothing better for these two characters than for them to meet. But they don’t even admit to noticing each other until over halfway through the novel, and then only after a mutual acquaintance forces the issue.

So what happens in the first half of the book? That’s where a good editor could have been helpful. Up until the point that Renee and Paloma become aware of each other, they indulge their internal lives. Though the intrigue in their characters is a result of listening to their thoughts, Barbery allowed the exercise to go on a little too long. Renee’s biting insights on her employers are charming and witty at first, but then tiring. And Paloma’s philosophical musings on life are exposed as too smart for even the most precocious twelve year olds as they drag on. Barbery could have accomplished the same complexity without allowing the narrative to get lost.

Finally, the ending here is too neat, too shocking by miles. I won’t spoil it for anyone who reads the book, but the vehicle Barbery uses to bring a change in the lives of her characters is abrupt and ultimately trite.

If it sounds like I didn’t like [The Elegance of the Hegdehog], that’s not quite right. I enjoyed a great deal of the book, especially the two principal characters. But I think the overall experience was clouded by what I saw as wasted potential. I began to write my own narrative for Renee and Paloma, imagining what I thought their meeting and lives would be like together. So, I’d recommend the book but with a caution that you might have some disappointment along the way.

Bottom Line: Complex and intriguing characters in a narrative that gets a little lost and a novel that needs a little more editing.

4 bones!!!!! ( )
1 vote blackdogbooks | Mar 30, 2014 |
This was an enjoyable read! Originally in French, but recently translated into English, it's about a concierge and a 12-year-old girl who live in the same building. They're both intellectual, but they try to hide it from everyone (how very French). The book is all about their relationships with other people who live in that building, and their relationship with each other. I really didn't like the ending (also very French...), but the rest of the book was cute and quite funny! ( )
  goet0095 | Mar 27, 2014 |
This is one of those books that you're not sure you like or understand it while you're reading it but when you look at it as a whole after you're finished you realize it is a great work of literature. So my advice to the reader is to read it all the way through before coming to any conclusions. ( )
  rxtheresa | Mar 26, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 392 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
90 avail.
523 wanted
4 pay15 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.8)
0.5 15
1 94
1.5 16
2 160
2.5 63
3 413
3.5 186
4 804
4.5 165
5 699

Audible.com

3 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

HighBridge

An edition of this book was published by HighBridge.

» Publisher information page

LibraryThing Early Reviewers Alumn

The Elegance of the Hedgehog [Audio Edition] by Muriel Barbery was made available through LibraryThing Early Reviewers. Sign up to possibly get pre-publication copies of books.

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 97,930,780 books! | Top bar: Always visible