HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

My Mother's Daughter by Judith Henry Wall
Loading...

My Mother's Daughter

by Judith Henry Wall

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
25None428,870 (2.9)None

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

No reviews
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
this book is dedicated to my brother-in-law, and my hero, Russ Burson
First words
My brother Buddy never stopped wondering about our birth parents.
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
The Amazon.com Product Description (for ISBN 0684837668, Hardcover) below has nothing to do with this book.
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0684837668, Hardcover)

In the tradition of Barbara Delinsky and Patricia Gaffney comes a wry and moving look at the friendships of four women who have reached middle age as a terrible secret threatens to destroy the bond they have built over a lifetime.

On the eve of Mary Sue Prescott's forty-fifth birthday, four childhood friends -- The Girlfriends' Club -- gather at a lakeside cabin. It's a bittersweet celebration as Mary Sue is scheduled for a mastectomy in the morning. When Mary Sue's boyfriend finally shows up, she has already gone to bed. Drunk and angry, he trips, breaks his neck, and dies. Horrified, the three other women put him in his car and send it careening into the lake.

How these women deal with their awful secret parallels their lives and relationships to this point. Pamela is at the beck and call of her rich and boorish husband. Gretchen gave up a promising career to marry an adulterous man who eventually left her for his secretary. Dixie -- also divorced -- is involved in an extended long-distance affair with a handsome but married vineyard owner; as she plays the role of the dreaded "other woman, " even her closest friends can't know. And Mary Sue, the ebullient cheerleader, had lived an idyllic married life until she found her husband carrying on with a sexy widow. Shattered, she convinced herself to fall in love with a contentious and truculent drunk.

In addition to keeping their terrible secret, the women must continually deal with their ever-complicated lives and relationships. And it is these trials, and the struggle to find one's place in a world where everyone is younger and prettier that is at the heart of this moving and ultimately triumphant novel.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:17:43 -0400)

No library descriptions found.

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
2 avail.
3 wanted

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (2.9)
0.5 1
1
1.5
2 1
2.5
3
3.5
4 3
4.5
5

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 119,445,749 books! | Top bar: Always visible