HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

All Is Change: The Two-Thousand-Year Journey…
Loading...

All Is Change: The Two-Thousand-Year Journey of Buddhism to the West

by Lawrence Sutin

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
44None262,368 (2.9)None

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

No reviews
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (2)

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0316741566, Hardcover)

In the tradition of Karen Armstrong, Jack Miles, andThomas Cahill comes a magisterial history of the coming of Buddhism tothe West.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:14:45 -0400)

"How did Buddhism - long regarded as a nay-saying Eastern cult that rejected the notion of a transcendent God - come at last to have so pervasive an influence in the West? In an age when the Dalai Lama has become a prominent figure on the bestseller lists, the impact on the West of key Buddhistic ideas such as karma and rebirth, the healing power of compassion, and the fundamental interconnectedness of all life cannot be overstated. The modern-day creation of a distinctly Western Buddhism is arguably the most significant spiritual development of our time - but as Lawrence Sutin demonstrates in All Is Change, the West's embrace of Buddhism happened not overnight, but over more than two millennia."--BOOK JACKET.… (more)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
2 wanted

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (2.9)
0.5
1
1.5
2 2
2.5
3 1
3.5 1
4 1
4.5
5

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

You are using the new servers! | About | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 117,142,376 books! | Top bar: Always visible