HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Check out the Valentine’s Day Heart Hunt!
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Secret Diary of Lydia Bennet by Natasha…
Loading...

The Secret Diary of Lydia Bennet (2016)

by Natasha Farrant

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
391424,110 (4)1

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 1 mention

This book will transport you into the mind of Lydia Bennet, a 16 year old with a desire to leave boring behind. Discover what it feels like to be the youngest of five sisters in a time when respectability and status mean everything in 1811's society. The story is a diary and reads from Lydia's viewpoint throughout. Descriptions of Brighton and bathing (swimming) are interesting and vivid. Knowing her fate from Jane Austen, I was still rooting for another ending for Miss Lydia. Highly recommend this book as a companion read to Pride and Prejudice. ( )
  standhenry | Oct 23, 2016 |
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0545940311, Hardcover)

In the tradition of Longbourn, Mr. Darcy's Diary, and Prom and Prejudice...

Lydia is the youngest of the five Bennet girls. She's stubborn, never listens, and can't seem to keep her mouth shut--not that she would want to anyway. She's bored with her country life and wishes her older sisters would pay her attention . . . for once!

Luckily, the handsome Wickham arrives at Longbourn to sweep her off her feet. Lydia's not going to let him know THAT, of course, especially since he only seems to be interested in friendship. But when they both decide to summer in the fasionable seaside town of Brighton, their paths become entangled again.

At the seaside, Lydia also finds exciting new ways of life and a pair of friends who offer her a future she never dreamed of. Lydia finally understands what she really wants. But can she get it?

A fresh, funny, and spirited reimagining of Jane Austen's beloved Pride and Prejudice, The Secret Diary of Lydia Bennet brings the voice of the wildest Bennet sister alive and center stage like never before.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 May 2016 22:59:39 -0400)

Jane Austen's story of the Bennet sisters, as told from the perspective of Lydia, the wild child, who pursues the handsome, but irresponsible Lieutenant George Wickham, and finally catches him.

» see all 2 descriptions

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 1
3.5
4 2
4.5
5 1

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 132,481,797 books! | Top bar: Always visible