HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Just Fine with Caroline by Annie England…
Loading...

Just Fine with Caroline

by Annie England Noblin

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
3015367,255 (3.36)2

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 2 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 15 (next | show all)
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
enjoyed this very much ( )
  djts5420 | Feb 25, 2017 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
Definitely an enjoyable book and a good read. I liked reading about Caroline and her life in the Ozarks. There was good mystery and romance and all around it would be a great vacation read. I would look forward to reading more from this author. ( )
  chutzpanit | Dec 21, 2016 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
Author Annie England Noblin begins her "Cold River Series" with "Just Fine with Caroline". Set in a quirky small town in the Ozark Mountains of Missouri, this is a contemporary romance that will please lovers of the engaging characters and humor and closeness of such communities. Even the animals themselves are characters. When Caroline O'Connor returns to Cold River to help care for her ailing mother, she finds that some things never change, but Fate always has the upper hand. Many surprises await Caroline, including an unexpected romance. She just may have to rethink her outlook on life in her hometown and let her heart help her with the thinking. What she tried so hard to leave behind may turn out to be "Just Fine with Caroline".

Review Copy Gratis Library Thing ( )
  gincam | Oct 30, 2016 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
This book wasn't what I expected, from the description, and not the type of book I usually read, so my review should not influence your decision to read it, if you like romances. I also think it might be more suited to a younger adult audience, rather than a crusty old lady like me. The romance is what the book centers on and the story-line is predictable. Don't let the publisher's description and the cover fool you into thinking that the dog and/or pig play a major part in the story. There were errors and character mix-ups, which hopefully will be corrected in the final version.

The main character's efforts to cope with her mother's Alzheimer's seemed the most authentic part of the book to me and the poignancy of that will endear the book to a reader who enjoys this genre. ( )
  EllsieFind | Oct 27, 2016 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
When the weather starts cooling off, I find that I look forward to curling up with lighter books. Maybe it counteracts the visual evidence that another year is heading to a close. It slows the dying of the season somehow. Perfect for this mood, are books set in small towns with quirky characters. Annie England Noblin's newest book, Just Fine with Caroline, is the first in the Cold River novel series and it has just the right heartwarming small town romantic feel that counters the sadness of the falling leaves so very well.

Caroline gave up getting a college degree and a teaching certificate to go back home to Cold River, a small town tucked in the Missouri Ozarks, when her mother was diagnosed with Alzheimer's. She has been mostly happy living in the town she grew up in, running her family's bait shack business, hanging out with her best friend Court, and helping her father, the local doctor, look after her mom. As the title suggests, she's doing just fine. When Noah Cranwell, the youngest member of the rather notorious local Cranwell family, comes back to town to start up a business across from Caroline's bait shack, Caroline is intrigued by the very sexy man. Noah's mother took him away to New Jersey when he was just five so he's a bit of an enigma in this small town where everyone knows everyone else's life story. But as Caroline and Noah learn, there are still secrets here, hurtful secrets that challenge how Caroline's coping with everything.

The major plot line is that of Caroline and Noah's growing relationship but there are several other secondary threads that deal with Caroline's kooky cousin Ava Dawn, who is trying to finally escape from her abusive marriage, with Caroline's best friend Court and the source of his sadness, with the sorrow of Alzheimer's and what it does to a family, and with loss of many different sorts. Despite these heavy topics, the characters populating the pages are quirky and rather endearing. None of the secrets they are hiding (nor the one that Caroline eventually uncovers) is terribly surprising but they could just be the seeds for future books in the series where they'll receive more in-depth treatment. The immediate attraction between Caroline and Noah was believable but they were all over each other much sooner than the character development would have suggested. As a whole though, this was an easy, light read and I reckon it was sweet story (a reference lost on you if you haven't read the book). ( )
  whitreidtan | Oct 24, 2016 |
Showing 1-5 of 15 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0062465627, Paperback)

From the author of Sit! Stay! Speak! comes a tender, terrific novel complete with long-buried secrets, a three-legged pot belly pig, and an irresistible dog—an unforgettable story about love, friendship, and community. Perfect for fans of Mary Kay Andrews and Mary Alice Monroe.

Caroline O’Connor never dreamed she’d be back home in Cold River, Missouri, the Ozark Mountain town where everyone is ‘up your business.’…they mean well as they drive you crazy. She thought she’d left town for good, but now she’s back, helping to care for her New York born mother—struck with Alzheimer’s, and prone to saying and doing anything—and her father, the beloved local doctor frustrated he can’t cure his own wife.

As for Caroline, she’s doing ‘just fine’ coping with her parents, her brazen cousin Ava Dawn’s marital disasters, her mostly-deaf dog…and with Noah Cranwell, far-flung relative of a local family mostly infamous for running moonshine, an ex-veteran who’s come to Cold River with troubles of his own.

Caroline believes she knows everything about Cold River and the people who live in its hills and hollers … but sometimes life’s greatest surprises happen closest to home.

 

(retrieved from Amazon Tue, 05 Jul 2016 19:33:56 -0400)

Returning to her small, intrusive Ozark Mountain community, Caroline O'Conner cares for her Alzheimer's patient mother while navigating the challenges of her doctor father's frustrations, her brazen cousin's marital disasters, her deaf dog, a moonshining relative and a troubled ex-veteran.… (more)

LibraryThing Early Reviewers Alum

Annie England Noblin's book Just Fine with Caroline was available from LibraryThing Early Reviewers.

Sign up to get a pre-publication copy in exchange for a review.

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
1 wanted

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.36)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2
2.5 2
3 3
3.5 2
4 5
4.5
5 1

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 119,693,071 books! | Top bar: Always visible