HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Journey's End by Rachel Hawkins
Loading...

Journey's End

by Rachel Hawkins

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
281389,858 (4)None

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

An enjoyable novel, perfect for middle school readers grade 4 and up. This story had a lot more suspense than I expected. Nolie heads to Scotland to spend the summer with her dad who is there studying the strange fog that surrounds the entire outskirts of the town. There are stories of boats and people disappearing. Nolie quickly meets a girl her age, Bel who is a local. But Nolie also discovers a strange young boy along the beach shore, Albert. The only thing is Albert disappeared into the fog back in 1914.

What follows is a suspenseful, well written tale of a group of friends who set out to solve the mystery of the fog. I received a complimentary e-book from the publisher in exchange for a review. ( )
  melaniehope | Nov 8, 2016 |
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0399169601, Hardcover)

New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins brings us a riveting middle grade fantasy-adventure, perfect for fans of Lisa Graff.
 
The town of Journey's End may not literally be at the end of the world, but it sure feels like it to Nolie Stanhope. Spending the summer with her scientist father in the tiny Scottish village isn't exactly Nolie's idea of a good time, but she soon finds a friend: native Journey's Ender Bel McKissick. 

While Nolie's father came to Journey's End to study the Boundary--a mysterious fog bank offshore--Bel's family  can’t afford to consider it a threat.  The McKissick’s livelihood depends on the tourists drawn by legends of a curse. Still, whether you believe in magic or science, going into the Boundary means you'll never come back. 

…Unless you do. Albert Etheridge, a boy who disappeared into the Boundary in 1914, suddenly returns--without having aged a day and with no memory of the past hundred years. Then the Boundary starts creeping closer to the town, threatening to consume everyone within.

While Nolie's father wants to have the village evacuated, Bel's parents lead the charge to stay in Journey's End. Meanwhile, Albert and the girls look for ways to stop the encroaching boundary, coming across an ancient Scottish spell that requires magic, a quest, and a sacrifice.

(retrieved from Amazon Sun, 07 Aug 2016 08:21:03 -0400)

Faced with a mysterious, deadly fog bank in a seaside Scottish village, new friends Nolie and Bel look for ways to stop it--coming across an ancient spell that requires magic, a quest, and a sacrifice.

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3
3.5
4 3
4.5
5

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 119,994,604 books! | Top bar: Always visible