HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Witchfinder's Sister by Beth Underdown
Loading...

The Witchfinder's Sister

by Beth Underdown

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
9819123,235 (3.46)7

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 7 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 19 (next | show all)
I wasn't really sure what to expect from this book, but I couldn't help but be impressed by the author's handling of 17th-century England and its social fears of witchcraft. The result is a story that is plausible but also in turns dark, compelling, and hopeful - and quite appropriate for October. If you're looking for historical fiction about an actual witch hunt with the horror but no actual magic, this is the book for you. ( )
  wagner.sarah35 | Oct 17, 2017 |
Perhaps it is a coincidence simply due to my reading choices lately or a heightened awareness of the topic in general, but there is an abundance of books lately discussing women’s roles past and present, how intelligent and independent women were viewed and in some regards continue to be viewed by general society. Whatever it is, I am thoroughly enjoying the chance to learn more and adding fuel to my renewed feminism. While The Witchfinder’s Sister does not have such a woman as the main character, it does detail how the real-life Witchfinder went about terrorizing women for a few years in the mid-seventeenth century. Even though no one is hunting down modern “witches” to torture them into confessing their sins, the hatred towards women exhibited by the men in the novel is something to which all women today can relate.

Ms. Underdown admits in her Author’s Note that there was a lot of license she had to take with the details because there is not much known about Matthew Hopkins. This could be problematic for the story, but she does a tremendous job of incorporating painstaking research into her novel and credibly blending fact with fiction. She also recognizes those areas she added in her notes so that readers understand exactly what she added and her reasons for doing so. When fact is stranger than fiction like in this scenario, knowing such delineations is useful and interesting.

While Matthew Hopkins’ reasons for hunting and killing witches are only a supposition, Ms. Underdown provides a great example of how hatred and disgust at the female body, as well as fear, cowardice, and a lust for power, contributed to witch hunts. In fact, it takes no great stretch of the imagination to view Matthew as a symbol for all of the hunters throughout history. His disgust with the female reproductive system and female lust is every man’s discomfort at menstruation and sexually forward women. His lust for power is the glass ceiling and ongoing misogyny that continue to view women as inferior and limit them in their roles. The witch hunts of today may not involving watching and swimming, but they provide similar results in making women’s health a taboo subject and making it virtually impossible for a woman to become president under today’s conditions.

The Witchfinder’s Sister is an interesting story but not without its demerits. Alice is a surprisingly weak character, not in development but in personality. She is meek whereas the women who most influenced her life were strong. She is hesitant to offend and spends much of her time lamenting her inability to influence her brother for the better. There is no concern of her being mistaken for a witch because she spends a majority of her time hiding in her room rather than taking action. It is her frustrating lack of inaction and propensity for wishful thinking that strikes the reader as out of place in this novel where the hunting of strong, active women plays such a strong role.

In spite of its negatives, The Witchfinder’s Sister is enjoyable with its glimpse into a little-known part of history. The timing of the story’s release, as women face ever increasing concerns about reproductive health care access as well as an ongoing dialogue about feminism and women’s roles in society, may be a coincidence or else it is brilliant marketing by the publisher. Either way, readers can relate to Alice and to Matthew’s victims in a way they may not have done a year ago, and it is easy to recognize in Matthew the sanctimony of today’s current American administration. It may be dismaying to realize that women have been persecuted for the same reasons for hundreds of years, but there is comfort in the fact that we continue to survive and thrive in spite of such persecution. We might have a long way to go to stamp out such witch hunts, but being aware of the various forms they take, past and present, is one weapon in our arsenal to continue to battle against them.
  jmchshannon | Jul 11, 2017 |
The Witchfinder's Sister, the debut novel by Beth Underdown, is the story of historical figure and witch hunter Matthew Hopkins told through the perspective of his fictional sister Alice. Because of the slow pace and the narrator of the story, the book does not give the broader historical picture and feels like a sideline view of the main plot. The atmospheric writing is my favorite part of the book and makes me look forward to seeing what Beth Underdown writes next.

Read my complete review at http://www.memoriesfrombooks.com/2017/07/the-witchfinders-sister.html

Reviewed for NetGalley ( )
  njmom3 | Jul 6, 2017 |
I have always had an interest in the Salem witch trials. As is stated the historical information about Matthew Hopkins is limited to fragments of surviving records, so this is mostly a creative historical fiction which is very well written weaving in the known facts into a story. I was captivated from the first chapter and experienced the tragic story as it unfolded from his sister's perspective. I also like how the author tried to explain reasoning behind Matthew's actions as well as also leave some mysterious events that could not be explained leaving some questions. While there may have been some logical explanation, given the time period, would have caused suspicions and fear. ( )
  marysneedle | Jun 8, 2017 |
This book starts off slow as Beth Underdown is gradually introducing you to her book but it becomes a very compelling bit of historical fiction with a beguiling conclusion that more than made up for the beginning. Despite the subject matter this is not a fantasy novel about wicked witches but rather a captivating examination of the oppression of women and how they were treated as second class citizens during the 17the century.

It’s a beautifully written, well researched and entertaining story even if the subject matter isn’t something that will give you the warm fuzzies. There are plenty of twists that will keep you glued to the pages particularly since her characters are complex, full of depth and interesting thanks to Underdown’s well-rounded character development. She created a strong female protagonist encased in a world that is decidedly anti-female which made me very glad I live in the 21st century.

Thanks to Underdown’s descriptive writing I felt as if I was actually there and could picture what everything looked like during this time period. Her research proved itself in the writing making you move up and down the emotional spectrum from intrigued to horrified at what her characters were put through.

I found it to be engaging and a fresh approach to a shameful part of human history. If you’re into historical novels then this deserves a chance.
( )
  ttsheehan | Jun 5, 2017 |
Showing 1-5 of 19 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0399179143, Hardcover)

A thrilling debut novel, a literary historical thriller based on the devastating witch hunts in 1640s England conducted by “Witchfinder General” Matthew Hopkins—for readers of Sarah Waters and Katherine Howe.
 
Before Salem, there was Manningtree. . . .
 
“This summer, my brother Matthew set himself to killing women, but without ever once breaking the law.”
 
Essex, England, 1645. With a heavy heart, Alice Hopkins returns to the small town she grew up in. Widowed, with child, and without prospects, she is forced to find refuge at the house of her younger brother, Matthew. In the five years she has been gone, the boy she knew has become a man of influence and wealth—but more has changed than merely his fortunes. Alice fears that even as the cruel burns of a childhood accident still mark his face, something terrible has scarred Matthew’s soul.
           
There is a new darkness in the town, too—frightened whispers are stirring in the streets, and Alice’s blood runs cold with dread when she discovers that Matthew is a ruthless hunter of suspected witches. Torn between devotion to her brother and horror at what he’s become, Alice is desperate to intervene—and deathly afraid of the consequences. But as Matthew’s reign of terror spreads, Alice must choose between her safety and her soul.
           
Alone and surrounded by suspicious eyes, Alice seeks out the fuel firing her brother’s brutal mission—and is drawn into the Hopkins family’s past. There she finds secrets nested within secrets: and at their heart, the poisonous truth. Only by putting her own life and liberty in peril can she defeat this darkest of evils—before more innocent women are forced to the gallows.
 
Inspired by the real-life story of notorious “Witchfinder General” Matthew Hopkins, Beth Underdown’s thrilling debut novel blends spellbinding history with harrowing storytelling for a truly haunting reading experience.

(retrieved from Amazon Wed, 23 Nov 2016 23:26:24 -0500)

No library descriptions found.

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.46)
0.5
1 2
1.5
2 1
2.5 2
3 5
3.5 3
4 10
4.5 2
5 2

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

You are using the new servers! | About | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 118,655,595 books! | Top bar: Always visible