HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Little French Bistro: A Novel by Nina…
Loading...

The Little French Bistro: A Novel

by Nina George

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
205515,329 (4.25)2

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 2 mentions

Showing 4 of 4
Life has worn Marianne down. She is unhappy in her marriage and the only way out seems to be suicide. But when she jumps into the Seine River, instead of drowning, she is rescued by a bi-stander. When her husband visits her in the hospital, she realizes nothing has changed: she still wants out. But this time fate takes a hand in Marianne’s life. She finds herself drawn to the town of Kerdruc after seeing it on a map in her doctor’s office. And slowly, as she undertakes a trip to the Brittany coast, she finds herself re-awaking. Opening herself up to new friends and new experiences is only the beginning. Soon the idea of death is replaced by life…a life filled with joy and passion. As Marianne sheds her old life she is finally able to fully embrace the new, vibrant, carefree woman that is emerging. But can she withstand the urge to retreat to her old self when confronted by the past?
This story touches so many emotions, from sadness and desperation to joy and a passion for living, the reader will accompany Marianne as she struggles to find herself and break free from the prison that her old life had become. I am especially drawn to the older heroine, who finds the strength to embrace a new life with arms wide open. ( )
1 vote RLJM | Mar 22, 2017 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
Thanks to Librarything for this ARC.

The narrator of this book was about to commit suicide in a river in Paris, and when she finds a painted tile ends up in the place where the artist paints them. She becomes a sous chef in a French restaurant, hence the title of the book, and meets all kinds of people, including, surprise the artist of the tile and falls in love with him and the town and its people. When she is exposed as not being who she really is (married) and not sure what she wants to do with her life and her husband, she leaves with her husband back to Germany (he comes to find her), and ends up back where she really wants to be -- in the small town back in France. She was only 60 years old but called herself an old woman?
  sweetbabyjane58 | Mar 21, 2017 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
While The Little French Bistro didn't grip me as quickly as The Little Paris Bookshop did, I eventually found myself drawn into Marianne's story. The supporting cast of characters that Marianne befriends were an interesting and quirky bunch, adding to this charming novel. Recommended for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and Francophiles. ( )
  MsNick | Mar 19, 2017 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
I really enjoyed The Little Paris Book Shop and The Little French Bistro did not disappoint. Marianne is in Paris with her husband and after years of enduring a loveless marriage that has left her feeling repressed she decides to kill her self. After she is saved and wakes up in a hospital she flees with the mission of completing her goal. Instead she finds a new life and everything she had been missing out on. This book had many lovely characters and was a quick and heartwarming read. ( )
  reb922 | Mar 15, 2017 |
Showing 4 of 4
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0451495586, Hardcover)

From the New York Times and internationally bestselling author of The Little Paris Bookshop, an extraordinary novel about self-discovery and new beginnings
 
Marianne is stuck in a loveless, unhappy marriage.  After forty-one years, she has reached her limit, and one evening in Paris she decides to take action. Following a dramatic moment on the banks of the Seine, Marianne leaves her life behind and sets out for the coast of Brittany, also known as “the end of the world.” 
 
Here she meets a cast of colorful and unforgettable locals who surprise her with their warm welcome, and the natural ease they all seem to have, taking pleasure in life’s small moments. And, as the parts of herself she had long forgotten return to her in this new world, Marianne learns it’s never too late to begin the search for what life should have been all along.
 
With all the buoyant charm that made The Little Paris Bookshop a beloved bestseller, The Little Breton Bistro is a tale of second chances and a delightful embrace of the joys of life in France.

(retrieved from Amazon Fri, 09 Dec 2016 07:30:00 -0500)

No library descriptions found.

LibraryThing Early Reviewers

The Little French Bistro by Nina George is available from LibraryThing Early Reviewers. Sign up to possibly get a pre-publication copy in exchange for a review.

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
1 pay1 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.25)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3
3.5
4 4
4.5 1
5 1

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

You are using the new servers! | About | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 113,277,404 books! | Top bar: Always visible