HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Threads of Silk by Amanda Roberts
Loading...

Threads of Silk

by Amanda Roberts

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
3None2,001,085 (4)None

No tags.

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

No reviews
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 099777293X, Paperback)

When I was a child, I thought my destiny was to live and die on the banks of the Xiangjiang River as my family had done for generations. I never imagined that my life would lead me to the Forbidden City and the court of China’s last Empress.

Born in the middle of nowhere, Yaqian, a little embroidery girl from Hunan Province, finds her way to the imperial court, a place of intrigue, desire, and treachery. From the bed of an Emperor, the heart of a Prince, and the right side of an Empress, Yaqian weaves her way through the most turbulent decades of China’s history and witnesses the fall of the Qing Dynasty.

Fans of Amy Tan, Lisa See, Anchee Min, and Pearl S. Buck are sure to love this debut novel by Amanda Roberts. This richly descriptive and painstakingly researched novel brings the opulence of the Qing Court to life as Yaqian and Empress Cixi's lives intertwine over six decades.

AMANDA ROBERTS is a writer, editor, and teacher who has been living in China since 2010. Amanda has an MA in English from the University of Central Missouri. While in college she also studied Chinese language and history. She has been published in magazines, newspapers, and anthologies around the world and she regularly contributes to numerous blogs. She is the author of the Crazy Dumplings series of cookbooks and is a well-known blogger in China. Amanda can be found all over the Internet, but her home is TwoAmericansinChina.com.

RED EMPRESS PUBLISHING is a full-service publisher offering traditional and new services for their authors to help them succeed and stand out in an ever-changing market. Red Empress Publishing is actively seeking submissions by women and people of color as part of the company's philosophy of diversity and inclusion. They are currently seeking submissions in all genres of fiction but especially romance, mystery, fantasy, and historical fiction. Authors can submit their books and request more information on Red Empress Publishing's official website http://redempresspublishing.com. Be sure to also follow Red Empress Publishing on Facebook and Twitter for all their latest news and releases.

(retrieved from Amazon Tue, 07 Mar 2017 12:39:37 -0500)

No library descriptions found.

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3
3.5
4 1
4.5
5

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

You are using the new servers! | About | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 117,104,488 books! | Top bar: Always visible