HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Windfall: A Novel by Diksha Basu
Loading...

The Windfall: A Novel (edition 2017)

by Diksha Basu (Author)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
2204177,247 (3.78)20
Member:Jaylia3
Title:The Windfall: A Novel
Authors:Diksha Basu (Author)
Info:Crown (2017), 304 pages
Collections:Your library
Rating:****
Tags:India, New Delhi, novel

Work details

The Windfall by Diksha Basu

  1. 00
    Ghachar Ghochar: A Novel by Vivek Shanbhag (Cariola)
    Cariola: Similar story about a family who makes it big selling spices. Lots of adjustments, plus there's a connection to the mob.
  2. 00
    The Case of the Missing Servant by Tarquin Hall (chazzard)
None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 20 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 45 (next | show all)
There is a growing market in India for stories of “new wealth” in the modern age and this story really fits into that specific world of fiction. The story, as discussed above, centers on Mr. and Mrs. Jha and also their son. Rupak. Much of the book centers on them leaving a neighborhood that they have lived in for most of their lives. This part of the book dragged on for me. I wanted to meet the new neighbors that they were going to be interacting with a bit earlier than what was done here, but while it dragged I felt that this did not make the book undesirable to read. Some books are just harder to get through, but still enjoyable to read through dry or dragging parts. This is one of those books for me.

read more of my review of "The Windfall" on cassiewinters.com ( )
  CassieWinters | Oct 30, 2018 |
Oregonian rec, what to read after CRA, a comedy of manners in Delhi.

I wanted to like this. I finished it because it was pretty short anyway and I wanted to compare it to Crazy Rich Asians.

A middle class Delhi family becomes very rich and struggles with the adjustment. The father is very class conscious and obsessed with appearance. The mother is more down to earth and more reluctant to move to a nicer neighborhood and acquire things. The son is just a screwup who can’t tell his parents anything.

Mrs Ray is a widow from the old neighborhood, who becomes involved with the brother of the neighbor in the new neighborhood. Their relationship is a contrast to their first arranged marriage, and the marriages of their contemporaries.

In the end, the wife begins to appreciate the good things about the new house,and the husband leaves off trying to impress the neighbors. There’s lots of interesting thinking by the characters in the story (though the son is rather flat and uninteresting) but not enough story to keep it moving well. ( )
  BeckiMarsh | Oct 29, 2018 |
India is filled with such a diverse landscape in both geography and people. When the sale of a tech product makes a couple into millionaires, the husband is determined to move to a better neighborhood, but the wife proves correct as they find out keeping up with the Jones’s isn’t all that fun. Add to the problem a son going to college in the US and flunking out. I enjoyed reading this story about finding the right spot for you in the world. ( )
  brangwinn | Sep 27, 2018 |
Interesting, but abrupt ending ( )
  midwestms | Aug 19, 2018 |
A funny, satirical novel of life in Delhi when one couple gets rich and what this does to those that make the money and those that are left behind.
When Mr Jha sells his business for millions, he soon starts spending a lot of money - and buys an expensive new property, much to the jealousy of his old neighbours. His wife isn't sure she wants to move at all, but Mr Jha is determined to show off his wealth, and soon starts competing with new neighbour Mr Chopra.
Meanwhile the Jha's son is in New York and can;t tell his parents he is failing uni and dating ahite girl. To please them he befriends a girl from Delhi but this is doomed - and at the end he decides to tell his parents that he is in love with a white girl, which he accepts.
At the very end, Mr Jha has a breakdwon -the pressure of competing with his neighbours had pushed him too far into madness. This was really well done but was then brushed aside a bit - although I did love how the Chopras were so kind to him after his breakdown despite their competitive natures.
Easy to read and I loved the descriptions of the contrasting lives in Delhi. ( )
  AHouseOfBooks | Aug 3, 2018 |
Showing 1-5 of 45 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Information from the Russian Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Epigraph
Dedication
To my parents and their parents
First words
Mr. Jha had worked hard, and now he was ready to live well.
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0451498917, Hardcover)

A heartfelt comedy of manners for readers of Seating Arrangements and Crazy Rich Asians, Diksha Basu’s debut novel unfolds the story of a family discovering what it means to be nouveau riche in modern India. Hilarious and wise, The Windfall illuminates with warmth and charm the precariousness of social status, the fragility of pride, and, above all, the human drive to build and share a home. Even the rich, it turns out, need to belong somewhere.

(retrieved from Amazon Mon, 06 Feb 2017 19:47:08 -0500)

"For the past thirty years, Mr. and Mrs. Jha's lives have been defined by cramped spaces, cut corners, gossipy neighbors, and the small dramas of stolen yoga pants and stale marriages. They thought they'd settled comfortably into their golden years, pleased with their son's acceptance into an American business school. But then Mr. Jha comes into an enormous and unexpected sum of money, and moves his wife from their housing complex in East Delhi to the super-rich side of town, where he becomes eager to fit in as a man of status: skinny ties, hired guards, shoe-polishing machines, and all. The move sets off a chain of events that rock their neighbors, their marriage, and their son, who is struggling to keep a lid on his romantic dilemmas and slipping grades, and brings unintended consequences, ultimately forcing the Jha family to reckon with what really matters" -- provided by publisher.… (more)

(summary from another edition)

» see all 2 descriptions

LibraryThing Early Reviewers Alum

Diksha Basu's book The Windfall was available from LibraryThing Early Reviewers.

Sign up to get a pre-publication copy in exchange for a review.

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.78)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2
2.5
3 19
3.5 8
4 35
4.5 5
5 7

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 131,654,374 books! | Top bar: Always visible